Continued Thread For Brady

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks for doing this new thread Pat. Helps to keep the database behind the scenes more efficient.

Now that I've replied to your new post, I'll get alerts when there is another reply. :)
 
Thanks for doing this new thread Pat. Helps to keep the database behind the scenes more efficient.

Now that I've replied to your new post, I'll get alerts when there is another reply. :)


Thank you Deb....

Well im going for it, lets hope its all good, he was 187 at PMPS...Im really hoping this new food schedule works....They are both bugging early but we are sticking to our plan and only two times a day for feeding. Lets keep our fingers crossed and hope this goes well.
 
All paws crossed here for success with this feeding plan.

When Brady and Emma beg for food, try to redirect their attention. With play time, with brushing or petting, with something else besides food to engage them.

We so often teach our cats, that if we are in the kitchen, they will get food. So we need to retrain ourselves and our cats that something else will happen. It's called "conditional training" or "behavior modification" and is more often used with dogs than cats, but it works for cats too.
 
All paws crossed here for success with this feeding plan.

When Brady and Emma beg for food, try to redirect their attention. With play time, with brushing or petting, with something else besides food to engage them.

We so often teach our cats, that if we are in the kitchen, they will get food. So we need to retrain ourselves and our cats that something else will happen. It's called "conditional training" or "behavior modification" and is more often used with dogs than cats, but it works for cats too.


That's funny, we had to be in the kitchen prior to his PMS because we went out for a few things at the store, cat food being one of them, lol....So I told my wife, out of the kitchen lets amuse them some other way...didn't work well but I think we will get the hang of it....I have a bird feeder by the window but the darn birds and we have lots aren't finding it for some reason, never had that happen before.
 
try to redirect their attention. With play time, with brushing or petting, with something else besides food to engage them.
we had to do this with kit today during “the final hour”
taking her far from the kitchen and putting her in one of her window seats solved it for about 45min. after that she insisted on being in the kitchen, so we made her sous chef even though her knife skills aren’t really that great. she is, however, 10/10 on cross counter jumping.
 
Good afternoon everyone...Well I had to give in because I got really worried since it was at night..Since I changed Brady and Emma's eating cycle to just two times a day, 12 hour feeding times, Im wondering if I could get input on a dose I should use. As you can see by the SS Brady is doing good on the 2U in the AMPS and AM cycle. Last night I shot the low number PMPS and it started out ok, his numbers went up but just like that at +2 he started to lower and continued to lower in the next coming hours. I had to feed him because I got very worried, he was at 172 at +4. With the way the AM cycle goes I was worried he was going to drop considerably more in the next couple hours so I decided to give him an additional 1/4 of food to try and level him off and keeping him from going so low.

Do you guys think I should drop his dosage to say 1.5U and see what that does so I can keep consistent with the AM and PM shot or do you think I can give him 2U in the AM and 1U in the PM? I really want his feedings to stay consistent and be 12 hours apart, I know this is a big change and Im sure that's why his numbers are doing what they are doing but I guess I should be consistent with his dosage as well. Let me know your thoughts, please. My other thing is his nadir seems to be in that +12 hour on the AM cycle, its been consistently the lowest for the last few days at his PMPS number. Not going to lie, shooting that low number scared me, but that's when his numbers are the lowest right at his PMPS. I wish this 2U worked the same for the AM and PM because his numbers are looking the best they have been so far......
 
Good afternoon everyone...Well I had to give in because I got really worried since it was at night..Since I changed Brady and Emma's eating cycle to just two times a day, 12 hour feeding times, Im wondering if I could get input on a dose I should use. As you can see by the SS Brady is doing good on the 2U in the AMPS and AM cycle. Last night I shot the low number PMPS and it started out ok, his numbers went up but just like that at +2 he started to lower and continued to lower in the next coming hours. I had to feed him because I got very worried, he was at 172 at +4. With the way the AM cycle goes I was worried he was going to drop considerably more in the next couple hours so I decided to give him an additional 1/4 of food to try and level him off and keeping him from going so low.

Do you guys think I should drop his dosage to say 1.5U and see what that does so I can keep consistent with the AM and PM shot or do you think I can give him 2U in the AM and 1U in the PM? I really want his feedings to stay consistent and be 12 hours apart, I know this is a big change and Im sure that's why his numbers are doing what they are doing but I guess I should be consistent with his dosage as well. Let me know your thoughts, please. My other thing is his nadir seems to be in that +12 hour on the AM cycle, its been consistently the lowest for the last few days at his PMPS number. Not going to lie, shooting that low number scared me, but that's when his numbers are the lowest right at his PMPS. I wish this 2U worked the same for the AM and PM because his numbers are looking the best they have been so far......


Also as you can see today that 2U's is following the same pattern in the AM cycle as the past few days....Wish I could get it to that every cycle everyday.
 
I cannot give dosing advice but wanted to say congratulations! You ARE getting it! Kudos to you for being just the right person for Brady. I'll leave the technical questions fr the experts.
WELL DONE!


Thank you so much, but I wish I felt like I was getting it....And trust me I know this doesn't happen over night....But we are giving it our all on this and hope it some point we can get him under control....If that's even the right thing to say, lol...I guess his numbers could be a lot worst, I just wish this was easier, it sure takes a toll on my wife and I.
 
Yes, I understand that giving Brady insulin on that high blue (high being >150 <199) number was scary for you Pat. But it is what Brady needs to happen.

In fact, you want Brady to drop into those blues (100-199), down farther to the low blues (100-150) and then into the greens (<99 mg/dL).

Insulins like consistency. You don't want to give different doses in the AM and the PM. You want a dose you can give the same, each 12 hour cycle.
 
Thank you so much, but I wish I felt like I was getting it....And trust me I know this doesn't happen over night....But we are giving it our all on this and hope it some point we can get him under control....If that's even the right thing to say, lol...I guess his numbers could be a lot worst, I just wish this was easier, it sure takes a toll on my wife and I.
I remember saying the same thing. But it DOES get easier. Trust me if I can do it, you can! ;)
 
Yes, I understand that giving Brady insulin on that high blue (high being >150 <199) number was scary for you Pat. But it is what Brady needs to happen.

In fact, you want Brady to drop into those blues (100-199), down farther to the low blues (100-150) and then into the greens (<99 mg/dL).

Insulins like consistency. You don't want to give different doses in the AM and the PM. You want a dose you can give the same, each 12 hour cycle.


Ok so you think last night when he was down to 172 at +4, at which time I gave him that 1/4 can, he would have been ok thru the night, without giving him food at the +4?????
 
There are no certainties in life Pat. We can never know for sure if Brady would have been ok without food last night. Many cats will naturally seek out food, when their BG levels are going low. It's one big drawback, to only feeding Brady and Emma every 12 hours, after the pre-shot test times.

I know you fed Brady last PMPS cycle, against your original plan to only feed at 12 hour intervals. But that food at +4 meant you were able to get to sleep. Hopefully, a good night's sleep. Some people set an alarm clock, to wake them up at night for later tests. I did that with Wink, but it was really tough on the insomnia and getting back to sleep.

So, you had a change in plans last night. Not the end of the world. Not something that caused Brady's BG levels to shoot sky high, into the >300, over 400 range. So it was a good change.
My biggest fear right now is he goes hypo during the middle of the night while we are sleeping, there will be no way for us to know..... :(
So what can you do to lessen that fear? What do you think would work for you?
Would your wife be willing to learn to home test?
Could you test 1 hour before the pre-shot test, to see how steep a rise Brady gets from +11 to +12 (PS, pre-shot) test times?

There are low numbers, without any hypoglycemic symptoms. There are low numbers, with mild to moderate symptoms.
Brady has never had symptoms of hypo I don't think. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

BG numbers below 50 are a concern. That is the point where you definitely want to feed some food. Maybe only 1 teaspoon or so. Then test again and feed another teaspoon of his low carb food.

Numbers in the 40's or 30's would mean you would want to stay up and test. Brady has never been that low. He has dropped below 90 a couple of times. But not very often.

I'm scared to leave my home and go grocery shopping right now. I'm scared to go pick up my prescription at the pharmacy once a month. But I have to conquer my fears, brave the world and do what needs to be done.
 
There are no certainties in life Pat. We can never know for sure if Brady would have been ok without food last night. Many cats will naturally seek out food, when their BG levels are going low. It's one big drawback, to only feeding Brady and Emma every 12 hours, after the pre-shot test times.

I know you fed Brady last PMPS cycle, against your original plan to only feed at 12 hour intervals. But that food at +4 meant you were able to get to sleep. Hopefully, a good night's sleep. Some people set an alarm clock, to wake them up at night for later tests. I did that with Wink, but it was really tough on the insomnia and getting back to sleep.

So, you had a change in plans last night. Not the end of the world. Not something that caused Brady's BG levels to shoot sky high, into the >300, over 400 range. So it was a good change.

So what can you do to lessen that fear? What do you think would work for you?
Would your wife be willing to learn to home test?
Could you test 1 hour before the pre-shot test, to see how steep a rise Brady gets from +11 to +12 (PS, pre-shot) test times?

There are low numbers, without any hypoglycemic symptoms. There are low numbers, with mild to moderate symptoms.
Brady has never had symptoms of hypo I don't think. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

BG numbers below 50 are a concern. That is the point where you definitely want to feed some food. Maybe only 1 teaspoon or so. Then test again and feed another teaspoon of his low carb food.

Numbers in the 40's or 30's would mean you would want to stay up and test. Brady has never been that low. He has dropped below 90 a couple of times. But not very often.

I'm scared to leave my home and go grocery shopping right now. I'm scared to go pick up my prescription at the pharmacy once a month. But I have to conquer my fears, brave the world and do what needs to be done.


Ok, thank you for responding.....our schedule is 6AM and 6PM for shots, I can try to get the +10 and +11 numbers to see what happens....I wish I knew what I could do to get rid of the fears. Yes, my wife does take his sugar from time to time but honestly he doesn't always play nice when she tries, I think he knows he can get over on her. But she does do it from time to time. She is going to have to I go away for a few days in the beginning of May.

Brady has never had any symptoms as far as I know of hypo...the only thing that other night when I shot at 187 (4-17) PMPS in about an hour or 2 he was really looking for food and bugging, not sure what that was all about, when I put that little 1/4 of a can down he devoured it, usually he is a ssssllllllooooowww eater. He did eat his entire meal that night too, his PS meal.

I guess my fear is again, understanding what is happening to him....Im not understanding why his nadir is happening at the end of the cycle, the +12 time frame. So my fear the other night shooting him at the low number was...he started out at 187, and dropped to 172 at +4...If he dropped from AMPS 409 to 187 PMPS (4-17 date) that's 220 some points would he drop to a very low number towards the end of the cycle again, 187 to some very low number? I know my questions don't make sense sometimes but im trying to word them the best I can.

I look at a lot of peoples SS sheets that use Prozinc, I see a lot of people giving one dose on the AM cycle then a different dose on the PM cycle. back and forth repeatedly. Its so hard to understand. I have looked up blood glucose curves and see that the best curve is, AMPS number high, going down to a good number half way or so thru the cycle then it starts increasing to higher number again for the PMPS. Of course Brady isn't working that way, he likes to go to the lowest at the very end of his cycle.

I read and re read the modified dose method, a lot to consume and figure out...but even in there they say to adjust dose by the PS numbers if the cats numbers are below a certain number. Also stall, also the Fat and Skinny doses.....this is a very complicated disease, im hoping we are doing ok with what we are doing so far.....

I really do appreciate everyones input and hope everyone can hang with me on this.....I really do need you guys!!!
 
I am no expert so wait for more replies. If you shot at 187 he could have gone low. That would explain him bugging you for and gobbling up food. They can sense they need food. I cant say for certain if this is the case. So please wait for more replies.
You are BTW doing a good job. It just gets very unnerving not knowing. Sending positives and prayers . This will get easier.;)
 
Really getting to wits end, im not getting this at all, I need the prayers, along with Brady....At +10 today he is 496....None of this is making sense to me and I am seriously struggling...just when it seems Brady is doing good his numbers shoot up at again in the AM cycle.....I don't know if its time to raise his insulin again or not....im sorry but I need to vent a little...with everything going on in the world and everything going on with Brady, I admit, im struggling...…..sorry guys
 
No apologies necessary Pat. Been there done that myself. Its been a very long time but I remember those dark days. I'm TERRIBLE with math, needle phobic, and worked at a very demanding job. Then Trouble got diabetes. Our world turned upside down. I get it.
Now I cant give dosing advice but I can give moral support.
Please hold on for the advice you are seeking, and know I am thinking and praying for you. One of these days you will be helping someone standing in your shoes. We ALL have been there. Take care and please give your precious Brady some chin scritches from me and Troubles spirit. Its going to be ok. :bighug:
 
.the only thing that other night when I shot at 187 (4-17) PMPS in about an hour or 2 he was really looking for food and bugging, not sure what that was all about, when I put that little 1/4 of a can down he devoured it,
Onset of Prozinc is often around the +2 to +3 time. So he may have felt that his blood glucose was getting lower than he is used to. Plus, you changed the feeding schedule, so he's only getting fed every 12 hours. Either one of those could be the reason for his begging for food and then gobbling it down really quickly.

p.s. Hang on Pat. More to come, but I have to go do something. Back with more responses in a bit.
 
No apologies necessary Pat. Been there done that myself. Its been a very long time but I remember those dark days. I'm TERRIBLE with math, needle phobic, and worked at a very demanding job. Then Trouble got diabetes. Our world turned upside down. I get it.
Now I cant give dosing advice but I can give moral support.
Please hold on for the advice you are seeking, and know I am thinking and praying for you. One of these days you will be helping someone standing in your shoes. We ALL have been there. Take care and please give your precious Brady some chin scritches from me and Troubles spirit. Its going to be ok. :bighug:


Thank you so much.....You are a great moral support to me....You webpage is very nice too by the way...I am grateful to you and all your wonderful comments.....I guess im one of those people that likes to be able to research and conquer something, this is by no means a conquerable situation, in terms of the disease itself. I wish I could give advice and maybe someday I will be able to do that, but right now if I don't know what is going on, I sure couldn't help anyone....I see all these other people struggling, yet their cats numbers seem pretty good.....I just worry WAY TO MUCH, its who I am.....not a good thing with this disease...…..but again, thank you
 
I look at a lot of peoples SS sheets that use Prozinc, I see a lot of people giving one dose on the AM cycle then a different dose on the PM cycle. back and forth repeatedly.
Not anyone that is following our dosing protocols. We do have several new Prozinc users that are still getting into the swing of things. New members are often here after not getting much help from their vets, and they've been told by their vets to "give this amount of insulin, if the BG number is in this range. Give this amount of insulin if the number is below this reading."

Plus, if a cat has hit a reduction point, the person may be giving a different amount from the point when the reduction occurs. By that I mean, cat dropped <90 mg/dL in the PM cycle, so the next AM cycle, they need to reduce the dose.

We have found that giving a different dose AM and PM rarely works.

Pat, Would you point me to a couple of people where you are looking at spreadsheets? Like to take a look myself, so I can see what you are saying.
 
My 2 cents. If you follow the protocol and listen to Deb and the other pros, you will eventually see progress. Believe me, we wanted results ASAP but Kit and diabetes had something to say about that. It is slow going and the more you try to get an immediate result, the worse things will go. The guidance here is golden. Joji
 
I guess my fear is again, understanding what is happening to him....Im not understanding why his nadir is happening at the end of the cycle, the +12 time frame. So my fear the other night shooting him at the low number was...he started out at 187, and dropped to 172 at +4...If he dropped from AMPS 409 to 187 PMPS (4-17 date) that's 220 some points would he drop to a very low number towards the end of the cycle again, 187 to some very low number? I know my questions don't make sense sometimes but im trying to word them the best I can.
Pat, you had one time where the low was at PMPS, low enough that you cut the dose in half, to 1U on 4/16/20.

That low could have been a bad test, not enough blood or too much and you flooded the strip. Could have been a bad test strip. That does happen. Could have been a change in how much or what Brady ate or when he ate. Or how active/inactive he was. We don't have control over all the variables.

So Brady dropped 15 basis points, from 187 to 172 in 4 hours. That's an 8% drop in BG levels.
He dropped 55%, from 409 to 187 in 12 hours.
If he dropped 55% from 187 later in the cycle, he still would have been at 102. Still a safe number.
But BG levels are not that predictable yet with Brady. He's still bouncing all over the place. Not sure why.

.im sorry but I need to vent a little...with everything going on in the world and everything going on with Brady, I admit, im struggling...…..sorry guys
No apologies needed here Pat. Ever. We understand the frustration and the worry, all too well.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know, it's so frustrating! Pat and Brady, you will get there! You've only been at this a month, and what a month it has been with everything that has gone down in this world. Everything is compounded. What a moment to be dealing with this! Between your love for Brady and the great support here, things will get better. :) Joji
 
@Deb & Wink

Ok to answer some of your questions.....First off I don't remember which SS's I was looking at where I saw the number of U being changed....It was just an observation I noticed and you are probably right with your explanations you gave. Actually my vet did say the same thing, if his numbers are this, shoot this much if his numbers are that shoot this much....I haven't been doing that and trying to follow along with what advice is being given here. I don't know, maybe in Bradys situation that would work...UGGGHHHHH

Here is the thing..everything and I mean everything I read is saying consistency, I read a bunch of articles yesterday, cant name them but I read a bunch...actually in the last couple days....That's one reason why I went to the two feedings, that is really what I have been reading to help get a cat under control, along with giving the same amount of insulin, is consistency, consistency, consistency.


But BG levels are not that predictable yet with Brady. He's still bouncing all over the place. Not sure why.

Replying to this above answer you gave me....I know, he is all over the place and I wish I knew why as well.....this is the confusing part, all the blood glucose curves I see are high number PS both AM and PM and good numbers in the middle....he just isnt following along with that philosophy.

ONE VERY IMPORTANT QUESTION.....If Brady doesnt eat his entire meal prior to his shot, im giving him a can of friskies in the AM and PM and say he only eats half of the that or a little more 3/4, is it ok to keep his food down for a little bit, say like up until 7AM or 7PM after his insulin? His feedings start at 530 AM and 530 PM so we can give his shot at 6 AM and PM. There are mornings he doesnt always like to finish his meals.

What do you think about the amount of insulin at this point??? Any advice???
 
ONE VERY IMPORTANT QUESTION.....If Brady doesnt eat his entire meal prior to his shot, im giving him a can of friskies in the AM and PM and say he only eats half of the that or a little more 3/4, is it ok to keep his food down for a little bit, say like up until 7AM or 7PM after his insulin? His feedings start at 530 AM and 530 PM so we can give his shot at 6 AM and PM. There are mornings he doesnt always like to finish his meals.
Yes, it's fine to leave the food down, so Brady can finish his meal. Especially with the pancreatitis, I could understand that he may not be feeling well every meal.

It's only the 2 hours before you do the pre-shot tests, where you don't want him to eat. It takes food a while to be digested and get into a cat's system. A food influenced pre-shot test, makes the decision of shooting on a lower BG reading much more difficult. As long as you do the pre-shot test for Brady, before you start to feed him at that 5:30 am and 5:30 pm meal, it's fine.

We EXPECT all other BG tests, outside of the pre-shot tests, to have some food influence.

Many cats do better on several small meals each 12 hour cycle. Less taxing on the pancreas, which besides producing insulin, produces digestive enzymes.

What do you think about the amount of insulin at this point??? Any advice???
He needs an increase in dose. The 2U is not helping him enough. I'd suggest going up to 2.25U, on a cycle that you can monitor better. Like the AM cycle.

On 4/18/20, Brady was bouncing from the lows the night before on 4/17/20 PM cycle. Cats usually take up to 6 cycles, to clear a bounce. But I think that Brady cleared the bounce this morning, 4/20/20 because you got that yellow (200-299 mg/dL) pre-shot test. So he cleared the bounce in 4 cycles.
.Im wondering if the insulin isn't working, he is rising again today when he should be dropping.
No idea why the BG level is going up this morning. But here are some ideas and things to check.

Missed shot? Partial shot? Air bubbles in the syringe? Insulin mixed really well each time? To get the particles back into suspension.

Where are you giving him the insulin? What part of his body? Could you shave an area, say 2" by 2", and give the insulin shot there? Or at least trim the fur really close?

Want to make sure you aren't giving "fur shots". It's why I'm suggesting trimming the fur back. Easier to feel if the fur is wet, after the shot.
 
Yes, it's fine to leave the food down, so Brady can finish his meal. Especially with the pancreatitis, I could understand that he may not be feeling well every meal.

It's only the 2 hours before you do the pre-shot tests, where you don't want him to eat. It takes food a while to be digested and get into a cat's system. A food influenced pre-shot test, makes the decision of shooting on a lower BG reading much more difficult. As long as you do the pre-shot test for Brady, before you start to feed him at that 5:30 am and 5:30 pm meal, it's fine.

We EXPECT all other BG tests, outside of the pre-shot tests, to have some food influence.

Many cats do better on several small meals each 12 hour cycle. Less taxing on the pancreas, which besides producing insulin, produces digestive enzymes.


He needs an increase in dose. The 2U is not helping him enough. I'd suggest going up to 2.25U, on a cycle that you can monitor better. Like the AM cycle.

On 4/18/20, Brady was bouncing from the lows the night before on 4/17/20 PM cycle. Cats usually take up to 6 cycles, to clear a bounce. But I think that Brady cleared the bounce this morning, 4/20/20 because you got that yellow (200-299 mg/dL) pre-shot test. So he cleared the bounce in 4 cycles.

No idea why the BG level is going up this morning. But here are some ideas and things to check.

Missed shot? Partial shot? Air bubbles in the syringe? Insulin mixed really well each time? To get the particles back into suspension.

Where are you giving him the insulin? What part of his body? Could you shave an area, say 2" by 2", and give the insulin shot there? Or at least trim the fur really close?

Want to make sure you aren't giving "fur shots". It's why I'm suggesting trimming the fur back. Easier to feel if the fur is wet, after the shot.


I will start the increase tomorrow morning, but I agree with you, a little raise for sure at this point....

Deb, I feel if we are doing anything right out of all of this is giving him is shot, mixing the insulin, and checking for bubbles....you could say im like a doctor when it comes to that lol. I know I read a lot about the fur shots, we make sure that needle is in. We are primarily giving his shot between the shoulder blades but have on occasion moved it to the shoulder just to change the spot. That's not often but we have moved locations. Last several cycles are between the shoulder blades.

Ketones are checked regularly when I catch him going pee....caught him today and all is good.....Checked yesterday because of those high numbers as well..all was good.....It figures my cat is responding to insulin like this....but we are hanging in there.
 
Look at Breanna H.s most recent thread, Dosing update and open Tigger's SS.

Look JOJI and Kit's most recent thread, kit dosing plan for today PM go up 0.25U to 1.5U and open Kit's SS.

Look at Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man's most recent thread, ? Tiger's Ride: Is he still BOUNCING? See SS and look at Tiger's wild swings.


Yes I do watch there SS's and sometimes its like I know what they are going thru but I really think Brady is jumping a lot more then their kitties......

I saw that you answered my feeding question as well..thank you......His 4.4 results on his panc test make me wonder if he even has pancreatitis at this stage, im no vet....but I ready a lot of studies and the one page in particular pretty much indicates that number of his is in such a grey area as being positive for Panc…..but like I said im not a vet.
 
We are primarily giving his shot between the shoulder blades but have on occasion moved it to the shoulder just to change the spot. That's not often but we have moved locations. Last several cycles are between the shoulder blades.

There have been anecdotal reports of cats not absorbing insulin as well from between the shoulder blades, the scruff area. No scientific study that I'm aware of. But you might try along the flanks or sides or shoulder for a bit, and see if it makes a difference. Other people say it does not make a bit of difference with their cat.

Maybe note the location of the shot, on the SS in the Remarks column? To see if it made a difference with Brady. Try that shot location change for a week or so, and see how it goes.

You can shoot the scruff, side of chest, side of belly, side of flank....wherever your kitty is comfortable and you have the least chance of doing a fur shot.

12715861-6481-417b-b0e4-ee494d3426b2-jpeg.48121


Site rotation is a good idea. This info from Marje and Gracie's Testing and Shooting Tips talks about that.

"It's actually a great idea to rotate sites in order to prevent development of a lipoma or scar tissue. A lipoma is just a thickened area of fatty cells right under the skin. If you shoot in the same place repeatedly and your kitty develops one, they often will go away on their own if you switch to another site. However, if you change injection sites every day (if possible), there is a much decreased chance in developing either a lipoma or scar tissue. Both of these can affect absorption negatively. If your cat prefers scruff shots only, you can shoot one side in the morning and the other side at night; you can also move the scruff site so the first day, you shoot at the inner scruff on one side, the next day, the middle scruff, and the third day, the outer part of the scruff. Or, if kitty is tolerant of any injection sites, you can shoot one side in the mornings and shoot the scruff the first day, the chest the next, the flank the third day. In the evenings, you can shoot the other side of the kitty but in the same order.
  • Absorption Rates
Theoretically, shots absorb slower when given in the scruff area as opposed to the chest, belly, or flank. This does not mean the BG numbers will be different. It just affects the absorption rate....faster or slower. But, ECID and you can keep track of where you shoot and see if the absorption rates vary for your kitty depending on shot site."

Pancreatitis can be acute or chronic. So it's possible that the pancreatitis could flare again in the future.

I'm not a vet either, or a vet tech or any kind of animal professional. Simply a person that had a diabetic cat, and is trying to help other people through this "sugardance."
 
There have been anecdotal reports of cats not absorbing insulin as well from between the shoulder blades, the scruff area. No scientific study that I'm aware of. But you might try along the flanks or sides or shoulder for a bit, and see if it makes a difference. Other people say it does not make a bit of difference with their cat.

Maybe note the location of the shot, on the SS in the Remarks column? To see if it made a difference with Brady. Try that shot location change for a week or so, and see how it goes.

You can shoot the scruff, side of chest, side of belly, side of flank....wherever your kitty is comfortable and you have the least chance of doing a fur shot.

12715861-6481-417b-b0e4-ee494d3426b2-jpeg.48121


Site rotation is a good idea. This info from Marje and Gracie's Testing and Shooting Tips talks about that.

"It's actually a great idea to rotate sites in order to prevent development of a lipoma or scar tissue. A lipoma is just a thickened area of fatty cells right under the skin. If you shoot in the same place repeatedly and your kitty develops one, they often will go away on their own if you switch to another site. However, if you change injection sites every day (if possible), there is a much decreased chance in developing either a lipoma or scar tissue. Both of these can affect absorption negatively. If your cat prefers scruff shots only, you can shoot one side in the morning and the other side at night; you can also move the scruff site so the first day, you shoot at the inner scruff on one side, the next day, the middle scruff, and the third day, the outer part of the scruff. Or, if kitty is tolerant of any injection sites, you can shoot one side in the mornings and shoot the scruff the first day, the chest the next, the flank the third day. In the evenings, you can shoot the other side of the kitty but in the same order.
  • Absorption Rates
Theoretically, shots absorb slower when given in the scruff area as opposed to the chest, belly, or flank. This does not mean the BG numbers will be different. It just affects the absorption rate....faster or slower. But, ECID and you can keep track of where you shoot and see if the absorption rates vary for your kitty depending on shot site."

Pancreatitis can be acute or chronic. So it's possible that the pancreatitis could flare again in the future.

I'm not a vet either, or a vet tech or any kind of animal professional. Simply a person that had a diabetic cat, and is trying to help other people through this "sugardance."


I wasn't implying any thing about the vet comment....im just indicating the vet is the one that says he has panc, but the research I did and his number on his panc test being just above the high number is making me wonder....but that's another disease and a whole other topic, lol.....

I will try moving the shot around, thank you
 
For Pancreatitis, we have A Primer On Pancreatitis
There is even a different version, for the UK.

I wasn't implying any thing about the vet comment..
Didn't think you were saying anything negative Pat, with the vet comment.

@Alessandra Franco said this in another thread.
I’ll also say I’ve had my share of bad vets who gave me bad advice like the shots don’t need to be 12 hours apart or you don’t need to test or do a curve on Lantus, and on and on. I don’t think they mean harm they just don’t know enough about feline diabetes. I trust the folks here way more than any vet because they’re doing it everyday and they’ve seen what works and what doesn’t work on their cats and others. It’s like they have a self taught PHD in it!
And I told her, we're trying to get everyone else that joins here, at least a Bachelor's Degree in treating and managing feline diabetes. ;)

Plus, we read and peruse many vet and scientific websites, to learn more about feline diabetes all the time.
 
For Pancreatitis, we have A Primer On Pancreatitis
There is even a different version, for the UK.


Didn't think you were saying anything negative Pat, with the vet comment.

@Alessandra Franco said this in another thread.
And I told her, we're trying to get everyone else that joins here, at least a Bachelor's Degree in treating and managing feline diabetes. ;)

Plus, we read and peruse many vet and scientific websites, to learn more about feline diabetes all the time.


I don't know if you ever verbally talk to someone, but I wouldn't mind that someday, just to bend an ear
 
Here we go again, upped his dosage to 2.25U, started out high at 410, slowly came down thru the cycle to 208 at +9.5, cant wait for the very low number at PMPS and then its decision time again on what to do, guess I have to wait to see what it will be in an hour and half. Seems this guy likes to get his nadir at the complete end of the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top