Sara & Cats
Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/recently-diagnosed-and-uncontrolled.192277/#post-2146575
Hello Everyone,
As I sit here looking at Thomas's mainly pink and red spreadsheet, I start thinking about what I can do to change it. Wonder what I'm missing.
When he was diagnosed, February 5, he was excessively eating and drinking until we started feeding all wet low carb food on March 8. In the past week he has become ravenous again, constantly begging for food. He hasn't been drinking excessively but I've always been adding extra water to his food. He seems just as hungry as he was right before he was diagnosed.
I have been testing his urine for ketones whenever possible and it has thankfully been negative. He's shy when it comes to the litter box, so I sneak a test in whenever possible.
He has mostly been tired and lethargic but we get glimpses of him playing with toys and wanting to cuddle, for a few mins. In the past week we've been seeing these glimpses and thinking his blood sugar would be good but when we take it, it's near 360. When his blood sugars are below 300, he acts like a kitten again. Before diagnoses, he would spend the whole day, every day, with his humans.
When we were initially upping the dose from 3 units to 4 units, February 24, our vet entertained the idea of insulin resistance. We treated for a possible UTI at this time. The next day Thomas started having diarrhea. A return visit to the vet on February 28 for the diarrhea, lots of bloating a gas had them offering another antibiotic, metronidazole. We left with fortiflora and I picked up some florastor instead. He poops became formed but still very soft and smelly. They continue to be the same consistency. Could this be due to the blood sugar being so high? I was using florastor and the ultimate multi probiotic topped with fortiflora for a month, there were a few days of normal poops but most were soft. I'm now trying pumpkin, slippery elm and florastor. I'm thinking about visiting the vet to get the metronidazole. I don't like antibiotics but I do want to see his numbers go down. With the blood sugar being elevated, he is more likely to get a UTI, I'm considering starting D-mannose prophylaxis. Went to pick some up today but they're sold out at all locations in the city so I'll be ordering it online.
I will be doing a curve tomorrow to see how he is responding to 4 units. I have been increasing by .25 and I know we like this to avoid missing the correct dose but with the nadirs being above 300, following tight regulation, can I increase by .5 units based on the curve results tomorrow? There is still a part of me that wonders if 3.0 units was the right dose because of seeing the numbers that we blue and all the numbers I've seen since are terrible.
Initial blood work confirmed that he was not hyperthyroid. At what dose should I start to think about testing for high dose conditions? He is 8-9lbs. When we reach that dose would it make sense to try a different insulin to see how he responds to it before doing the testing?
That covers my thoughts for the moment. I welcome any advice or experience you can offer.
Hello Everyone,
As I sit here looking at Thomas's mainly pink and red spreadsheet, I start thinking about what I can do to change it. Wonder what I'm missing.
When he was diagnosed, February 5, he was excessively eating and drinking until we started feeding all wet low carb food on March 8. In the past week he has become ravenous again, constantly begging for food. He hasn't been drinking excessively but I've always been adding extra water to his food. He seems just as hungry as he was right before he was diagnosed.
I have been testing his urine for ketones whenever possible and it has thankfully been negative. He's shy when it comes to the litter box, so I sneak a test in whenever possible.
He has mostly been tired and lethargic but we get glimpses of him playing with toys and wanting to cuddle, for a few mins. In the past week we've been seeing these glimpses and thinking his blood sugar would be good but when we take it, it's near 360. When his blood sugars are below 300, he acts like a kitten again. Before diagnoses, he would spend the whole day, every day, with his humans.
When we were initially upping the dose from 3 units to 4 units, February 24, our vet entertained the idea of insulin resistance. We treated for a possible UTI at this time. The next day Thomas started having diarrhea. A return visit to the vet on February 28 for the diarrhea, lots of bloating a gas had them offering another antibiotic, metronidazole. We left with fortiflora and I picked up some florastor instead. He poops became formed but still very soft and smelly. They continue to be the same consistency. Could this be due to the blood sugar being so high? I was using florastor and the ultimate multi probiotic topped with fortiflora for a month, there were a few days of normal poops but most were soft. I'm now trying pumpkin, slippery elm and florastor. I'm thinking about visiting the vet to get the metronidazole. I don't like antibiotics but I do want to see his numbers go down. With the blood sugar being elevated, he is more likely to get a UTI, I'm considering starting D-mannose prophylaxis. Went to pick some up today but they're sold out at all locations in the city so I'll be ordering it online.
I will be doing a curve tomorrow to see how he is responding to 4 units. I have been increasing by .25 and I know we like this to avoid missing the correct dose but with the nadirs being above 300, following tight regulation, can I increase by .5 units based on the curve results tomorrow? There is still a part of me that wonders if 3.0 units was the right dose because of seeing the numbers that we blue and all the numbers I've seen since are terrible.
Initial blood work confirmed that he was not hyperthyroid. At what dose should I start to think about testing for high dose conditions? He is 8-9lbs. When we reach that dose would it make sense to try a different insulin to see how he responds to it before doing the testing?
That covers my thoughts for the moment. I welcome any advice or experience you can offer.