? Consistently low PS numbers?

AmyB

Active Member
Is there someone familiar with ProZinc that can help me understand what I'm seeing? I'm pretty much ignoring what the vet told me to dose at this point bc Salem's pre-shot numbers are continually dropping. The vet wanted me at 2.5 Units, which I did for like 2 days bc it was giving me low pre-shots and then lowered it to 2. Now I've lowered it again to 1.75U and I'm still getting low numbers? I haven't had as much of a chance to check him mid-cycle (last night around nadir it was 282 on AT2 but then it's dropped for PS?) but I just genuinely don't know what's going on with him bc he's not following the "cycle" pattern. He does drop around +6 to his lowest point but then just sits there. I just have no idea what dosage I should be giving him or what to even ask the vet about bc the numbers are so weird.
 
Bump

@MrWorfMen's Mom @Djamila

Sorry for such a late reply, I've been away on vacation and haven't been checking in on the forum as much. Alright, let's see...I know those "low" numbers can be intimidating when you're first starting out, but really Salem was showing great numbers on the night of 8/1 even though he read 90 PMPS and you still gave him 2 units of insulin (however) I would not advise shooting on a green number just yet, that definitely would have been one of the times to skip the dose.

You actually want Salem to give you lower numbers and keep consistent lower numbers. Its all a delicate balancing act in trying to get him to read those blues and dark greens without him dropping to the lime greens while not climbing into the yellow and pink ranges. If Salem drops into the lime greens, THAT is when you look to reduce your shots.

You also want to look to be consistent with your dosing for at least 3 cycles. Going from 2 to 1.75 is the proper way to decrease, but Salem was doing just fine at 2 units also. On the night of 8/5 he was no where near getting low enough for hypo and he read dark green all night. All good numbers to be at.

But then the trouble started once you started reducing past that even though there was no indication that he needed his dose reduced and thats why you're starting to see yellow and pinks in the middle of his cycle. He's not getting enough insulin. Going from 1.75 to 2 units and then NS to 1.75 to 1u and then back up to 1.5u within 3 days, thats all too sudden of a change for his body to get use to. His numbers aren't going to make sense to you because of that.

It honestly looks like hes one of those kitties who can take shooting on lower numbers. Heres what I think we should do. I think we should change his "no shoot" number down to 150 from 200. Stick with the 1.75u dose for at least 3 cycles. Get in at least 2 mid day test @ +5 and +6. If he reads lower than 150 for PS then you can skip the shot if you're not going to be around to monitor giving him the 1.75u (like if you have work or something), but his body doesn't seem to like skipping doses...my cat was the same way.

Lets see how he does on a consistent 1.75u dose for a little while and then we will go from there!

It hard to get tone across through text, so I hope I worded everything correctly. Feline diabetes has a steep learning curb when you're learning how to do home testing and trying to figure out the dosing at the same time. I know how nerve wrecking it can be to see change when you're just starting to feel like you've gotten the hang of something, but trust the process and *fingers crossed* it will go more smoothly for you!
 
Oh Lauren. This was an oversight on my part. :facepalm::blackeye:Amy posted in Health too and I responded there so we have been addressing this issue and are working on it. I should have put a note here with a link to the other post. HERE is other post. :)
 
Back
Top