Consistently high overnight numbers

NyCatMom

Member
Does anyone have any insights on why a cats numbers might be consistently high overnight? He gets the same foods for dinner (sheba or FF pate) as breakfast. No afternoon snacks. He starts out high every morning, is starting to surf the 200s then around 3pm spikes up to 400 and stays there. I'm confused and not sure if that means an increase is in order.

PS He's off the steroids completely and so far no return of neurological symptoms but has pretty bad diabetic neuropathy ( plantigrade stance all four feet). We're giving Zobaline, but realize controlling his diabetes is best way to help with the neuropathy.
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...o-amps-315-1-288-6-226-8-176-pmps-178.296563/

The higher numbers you are seeing are him bouncing from lower numbers. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear. Sometimes cats go lower at night and bounce in the day.

His numbers have been trending higher and his nadirs are over 150, even after clearing any bounce from the greens he saw on 12/9. Today is Day 9 on this dose and with SLGS, you evaluate the dose after 7 days. He is good for an increase to 2.25U...but how long has it been since he got off steroids?
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...o-amps-315-1-288-6-226-8-176-pmps-178.296563/

The higher numbers you are seeing are him bouncing from lower numbers. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear. Sometimes cats go lower at night and bounce in the day.

His numbers have been trending higher and his nadirs are over 150, even after clearing any bounce from the greens he saw on 12/9. Today is Day 9 on this dose and with SLGS, you evaluate the dose after 7 days. He is good for an increase to 2.25U...but how long has it been since he got off steroids?

We stopped the steroids on 12/3. There was some concern that he has a brain tumor since he had serious balance issues last month. We treated for an inner ear infection for the month of November. Tapering steroid doses and high dose antibiotics. It seems to have worked but I was cautioned that we don't have enough time out from the steroids to say that conclusively. Fingers crossed

I gave him a "fat" 2 units this morning and will bump him up to 2.25 tonight. Thanks!
 
Does anyone have any insights on why a cats numbers might be consistently high overnight? He gets the same foods for dinner (sheba or FF pate) as breakfast. No afternoon snacks. He starts out high every morning, is starting to surf the 200s then around 3pm spikes up to 400 and stays there. I'm confused and not sure if that means an increase is in order.

PS He's off the steroids completely and so far no return of neurological symptoms but has pretty bad diabetic neuropathy ( plantigrade stance all four feet). We're giving Zobaline, but realize controlling his diabetes is best way to help with the neuropathy.

We stopped the steroids on 12/3. There was some concern that he has a brain tumor since he had serious balance issues last month. We treated for an inner ear infection for the month of November. Tapering steroid doses and high dose antibiotics. It seems to have worked but I was cautioned that we don't have enough time out from the steroids to say that conclusively. Fingers crossed

I gave him a "fat" 2 units this morning and will bump him up to 2.25 tonight. Thanks!

Good luck with the increase :bighug:
 
Well, he must still be bouncing. He hasn't left the 350-400 range all day. This is frustrating! Thanks for the supportive posts. :)
 
Well, Moochie is thinking about his next move. Will it be back to 400 or a drop? He's spent the day pretty much flat at 300 (297-322).
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...o-amps-315-1-288-6-226-8-176-pmps-178.296563/

The higher numbers you are seeing are him bouncing from lower numbers. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear. Sometimes cats go lower at night and bounce in the day.

His numbers have been trending higher and his nadirs are over 150, even after clearing any bounce from the greens he saw on 12/9. Today is Day 9 on this dose and with SLGS, you evaluate the dose after 7 days. He is good for an increase to 2.25U...but how long has it been since he got off steroids?
Hi Bandit's Mom

Moochie dropped to 140s overnight and I expected and saw a bounce today when i got home from work. Do bounces level out with time and dose changes or are bouncy cats just always bouncy?
 
Is Moochie on a low carb canned diet with no dry food? If yes, would you be OK to try TR? You can take dose increases faster than SLGS and get him to a good dose sooner. A good dose will help him spend more time in lower/normal numbers which in turn will help his body get used to them.
 
Is Moochie on a low carb canned diet with no dry food? If yes, would you be OK to try TR? You can take dose increases faster than SLGS and get him to a good dose sooner. A good dose will help him spend more time in lower/normal numbers which in turn will help his body get used to them.

Yes. He is on sheba ( 3 carb) and fancy feast pate (0-5 carbs). At one point he was eating Young Again zero carb dry but it didn't agree with his ibd. I'll read the sticky on TR tomorrow so I'm up to speed . His libre sensor has stayed on 12 days but it's starting to miss points of data. I'd wait until we put a new one on before I make the switch. We're having a good day though. He only briefly hit 400 and at last check is back down to 246. I'm feeling more hopeful. Thank you for the quick response. :)
 
Back
Top