Considering increase

Hi Maria!! I hope you are well! It does look like Corky has been trending upward, but only very recently. Today he just made it into green, which is not typical as he usually does better. I would hold off on an increase for a day or so. Let’s see if it gets better or not. I tell you what. If Corky has a cycle tomorrow that is similar to today’s, how about increasing to 1.75 units on Saturday? Would that be okay?
 
Hi Maria!! I hope you are well! It does look like Corky has been trending upward, but only very recently. Today he just made it into green, which is not typical as he usually does better. I would hold off on an increase for a day or so. Let’s see if it gets better or not. I tell you what. If Corky has a cycle tomorrow that is similar to today’s, how about increasing to 1.75 units on Saturday? Would that be okay?
Thank you I’m with you we’ll wait till then I will be posting if needed on this ProZinc forum if I need assistance with dosing, you taught me everything I know so far but for dosing I will alway need you for it thank you have a great weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:! Glad to hear from you:cat::cat:
 
Thank you I’m with you we’ll wait till then I will be posting if needed on this ProZinc forum if I need assistance with dosing, you taught me everything I know so far but for dosing I will alway need you for it thank you have a great weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:! Glad to hear from you:cat::cat:
Morning AMPS 143 I increased dose 0.25 yesterday only two high greens, nothing has changed in his daily habits, again I was hoping for decreases not increases:arghh::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Morning AMPS 143 I increased dose 0.25 yesterday only two high greens, nothing has changed in his daily habits, again I was hoping for decreases not increases:arghh::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

Good Morning!:coffee::coffee: I increased Corky's dose yesterday's AMPS, the persistence of high's had me disconcerted, however, I see no change what's so ever???!!!, I was so pleased with low greens, now I have no mind for these mid blues and high greens, but then again it's Suzanne's fault for giving me the Trophy of "BALLS OF STEEL" :D:D:D:joyful::joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Corky is having a GREAT DAY IN GREEN! Wow! I love it. Just keep the normal snacks coming at their normal times. If you feel the need to give a snack at +6 (low carb, of course) based on numbers it probably will not hijack the cycle. Go Corky go! Surfing in Green!! :D:D:D:D:D:D
 
upload_2025-1-24_10-25-17.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-24_10-25-17.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-24_10-25-17.jpeg
    46.2 KB · Views: 75
Corky is having a GREAT DAY IN GREEN! Wow! I love it. Just keep the normal snacks coming at their normal times. If you feel the need to give a snack at +6 (low carb, of course) based on numbers it probably will not hijack the cycle. Go Corky go! Surfing in Green!! :D:D:D:D:D:D
Great indeed I got a bit concerned in the 50s BG’s but his back, he is doing great I’m hoping there will be no more increases but reductions, that’s what I truly want for him!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Corky is having a lot of beautiful green!! What was his AMPS this morning? It’s blank right now.
Yesterday @ +5 he got 55, but PMPS @ +3 he hit 47, I followed the test feed test feed procedure and he was ok, a not known member by me said to reduce, I thought about what would you tell me, and made my decision, AMPS was 158 so of course I kept the same dose, Did I do ok?:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Anyway, since Corky is a long-term diabetic (over one year diabetic) and he has only just gone below 50, we do not reduce the dose at this point. Keep a close eye on him. If he drops below 40 that would be an automatic reduction, of course. I feel like it would be better for Corky to hold this dose. He will let us know if he really needs the reduction.
 
Here are the guidelines for a long-term diabetic and reductions. I am putting them on both of your threads here you asked about if you should reduce based on the 47. I need to make sure that anyone who os reading this thread will be able to read it as well. A lot of people read threads to try to learn on their own and they don’t post their own threads to get help. So here goes…
  • If your cat is between six months to a year of diagnosis, look at the overall picture of your data to determine if a 0.25u reduction is warranted on a single number below 50.
    • Prozinc can be a little volatile at times, and there will be the occasional random drop. If you have a consistent body of mid-cycle tests that indicate the low number is unusual, you may consider holding the dose and continuing to monitor or you may choose to just shave a little off the dose.
    • If the low number appears to indicate a general downward trend of numbers, then it may indicate that you should indeed lower the dose.
    • If your cat is more than a year since diagnosis, a single number between 40-50 should not mean a full 0.25u reduction. You may shave a little off the next dose, or just hold the dose and continue to monitor.
    • Additional numbers between 40-50 in the days following would indicate the dose should be reduced.
    • Any cat, regardless of time since diagnosis should receive a reduction if there is a number below 40.
 
Back
Top