Confusing low BG 10 hours post insulin??

Status
Not open for further replies.

staleytjp

Member Since 2014
New to this site and wish to introduce myself and my cat Bo(diabetic since Sept2014). He is and was being treated for IBD, on steroids and antibiotic prior to diabetes. Pancreatitis per blood test and is now on Cyclosporine. Low carb food. Home testing BID. Dosing with Lantus(.5U) using Alphatrak. Have wanted to try tight regulation as feel diabetes could have been diet and steroid induced. He has done well and BG numbers consistently 90-120(occasionally a little lower or higher). Confusing and scary BG 2 hours prior to insulin of 53 two days ago.
Fed, skipped dose and rechecked 4 hours later and was up to 143. 12 hours after the reading of 53 he was back down to 132 without insulin. Fed and gave him his normal .5 unit and checked 2 hours after and had come down to 86. Tested every 3 hours and slowly came back up to 116. Fed him and gave .5units.
Checked BG 2 1/2 hours after insulin and food and BG was 59.
Am wondering about dosing at this point??? Unpredicatable nadir. What are the options?? He was at 115 this a.m. I fed and gave .25 and he has slowly gone up to 122 so far. Do I skip dose and try 24 hours and see?? Try .25 unit again for evening?? what if he goes hypo?? How do I begin transition to see if possible remission??
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Teri
 
When in doubt, don't shoot, especially if he is in normal numbers of 40-130 mg/dL on a human glucometer, 68-158ish on an AlphaTrak.

You may be right that the steroids were a precipitator of the diabetes.

He earned a dose reduction of 0.25 units per Tight Regulation or Start Low, Go Slow protocols. You'll have to eyeball that small a dose if he actually gets up over 150 mg/dL on a human glucometer or about 178 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak. I wouldn't shoot unless he climps up that high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top