Confused

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good luck with the home testing. I hope it clears up the picture for you.

On the temptation treats. Sometimes if he is dropping too quick or in a low number I will give a half of one or a whole one depending on the numbers. And I use them for a test if he isn't feeling well. I know if he won't eat one he is very ill and a trip to the vet is in order.
 
Yeah, I know I need to stop giving them to him for a variety of reasons. I'm going to stop or only give 1 if it is needed.
 
Ok. Did my first at home test! The lancet with the Alpha Trak2 is not very good. Oh well, I can work with it. Took 5 tries to get blood. Rufus was not too caring. Numbers were not good at all. 534. But...the vet tech said number could be high because of possible uti. He also has been sneezing and yellow & green eye boogers so maybe another upper resp infection? I'll try again in a couple hours.
 
Question again. Hopefully this make sense. I tested him the am before for and insulin 11.75 hours after last shot, and his number was 610. He is on 4u am and 4u pm. Obviously this means he is not getting enough dose right? It can't be that his doses are too much. I'm a little confused over the "missing perfect dose" by upping doses bu 1 unit instead of .25 or .5
 
Question again. Hopefully this make sense. I tested him the am before for and insulin 11.75 hours after last shot, and his number was 610. He is on 4u am and 4u pm. Obviously this means he is not getting enough dose right? It can't be that his doses are too much. I'm a little confused over the "missing perfect dose" by upping doses bu 1 unit instead of .25 or .5
Too much insulin can look same as too little. Missing perfect dose: suppose he’s on 4u and he’s got high numbers. Then you up to 5u and still high numbers. At 4.25u that could be where you get good numbers. So eg 4u not enough - 5u too much - both look same. Skipped over the good dose of 4.25u. Make sense?

Not advising the dosing as I don’t know your history. Others can chime in on that.

Fyi best to start a new thread (called condo here) every day rather than continuing same over several days. People may skip past your post thinking they’ve seen it. Most do date/name of cat then recent number. Eg 1/18 Silver AMPS 248.
 
Ok. thank you. I just thought i'd go on this one cuz it has all the original numbers and how we got to 4 & 4 doses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top