? Confused!! Shiloh -PMPS - 373. Retest 30 seconds later 361

Status
Not open for further replies.
How long is it between the 117 and the 373 readings? She might be bouncing from getting into green for the first time - that can make them rise quickly.
 
In that case, it probably is a bounce. They really can go back up quickly when they're bouncing. She'll come back down but it might take anything up to 3 days for her numbers to settle completely so try not to worry if she doesn't drop much after her next shot.
 
If you look at her SS, I was freaking out yesterday because of the high numbers during the day. Then I didn't check before her shot this morning. Which made me feel horrible when I checked her sugar later. So, what do I do with a bounce? Just keep testing and keep dosing?
 
In looking at her SS, it really does seem like a bounce. Her body is not used to those lower numbers, so it is trying to "protect" itself from what it thinks is a hypo, thus the bounce into higher numbers.

Yep, with a bounce you just pretty much have to ride it out until it clears. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. You really don't want to increase her dose during this time, because if the bounce suddenly clears and the dose is higher, she could REALLY drop fast.

Are you able to consistently get tests before you shoot insulin? Of all the tests you get, those preshot tests are probably the most important. While we base increases and decreases on nadirs more than preshot values, we do use preshot values to determine whether it is actually safe to shoot.
 
I can get tests before I shoot. This morning was a bad morning for me. Normally, not an issue. Have a house guest this weekend, and many house guests yesterday, and over-indulged a little last night. :_
 
Good deal...we all have those mornings, but you definitely want to be sure Shiloh is in safe numbers before administering the juice! Have a great evening, Rhonda!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top