Confused -- Jayne is only at 186 after no shot last p.m.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne and Jayne

Member Since 2011
Good morning, folks. I am so confused about Jayne's BG levels. Last night she was only at 157, so we skipped her shot. Naturally, I expected her level to be way up this morning, but she's only at 186. Last week she had been over 300 in the morning sometimes. I don't know if they're lower because we've been phasing out the Hill's w/d in favor of Fancy Feast Classic (we're at 60/40 now, mostly the Fancy Feast) or what, but I'm concerned about having her go without insulin for 24 hours.

Any thoughts on this? Many thanks for any input.

(Here's my post from last night for reference:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=37827)
 
Don't know your insulin well enough to make a suggestion there, but I wanted to come on and say this maybe a really good sign that once you get her competely switched over to a low carb/high protein diet your going to have a kitty in remission.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks for getting back with me and for the encouraging words, Mel.
I'm holding off for now but have put a call in to Jayne's vet.
 
That is just about the same numbers Max started giving me on Lantus when he was getting ready to go OTJ. So we will cross our fingers, toes and paws that very soon we will get to do an OTJ dance for Jayne. =)

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
FYI, I heard back from the vet and she said to skip Jayne's dose now and give her one half unit if her BG is over 200 tonight. They also said she may be "resolving," most likely due to the new lower-carb food. Very encouraging!

Thanks again.
 
I'm the Holly Sue mentions from the PZI forum and my cat Max recently went OTJ (off insulin). I was confused too. Max was testing in the 450's on the old diet, but, once I made the diet change, his need for insulin kept going down. Anyway, don't want to jinx but it sounds like that may be happening with Jayne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top