Confused about how insulin works? Frodo's BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
Okay so Frodo got his first increase (.7) yesterday evening with his PMPS, which was 276. I checked it when I came home from work at +7 and he was 137 (nice nbr). This morning with his AMPS he was 304, gave .7, rechecked at +2 - 368, +4 - 277.

So I guess my question is or what I am trying to get to sink in my little brain is - he is starting off at 300 and dips down but then comes back up to 300. How or when do the preshot numbers start lowering like the mid-cycle number? Does it look like this because Prozinc works like it does? Trying to understand how this is going to or suppose to work. Am I expecting too much?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to understand this better.
 
As I understand it, ProZinc is intended to be a 10-14 hr insulin, but it doesn't generally work that long. Anyway, since when it's gone, it's gone - the numbers will go back up. I'm still trying to understand it all, too, and wish I had a magic answer to give you. Hershey can have really nice mid-cycle numbers, then rise again. I know it's discouraging, but it's early in the dance for both of us and I try to remind myself that at least he had "X"number of hours in lower numbers...celebrating every little victory...

Hope you have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
It is hard to understand. ProZinc has a smile shaped curve normally. Preshot number, lower nadir, back up to number at same level of am preshot. It lasts only 12 hours in most cats, so by pmps, it's gone and he needs another dose. The hope is that by raising the dose a little and monitoring, his numbers overall will start to come down - preshots and nadir.

The thing that complicates this is that in some cats, they bounce from lower numbers. So if his body saw that lovely nadir yesterday as lower than usual and released some extra glucose, his cycle could be generally higher today.

So he is doing fine. Nice nadir yesterday. Maybe another nice one today. After being on this dose a few more cycles (because it takes a while for some cats to "settle" into a dose) if his numbers are still in this range, you increase a little.

Not Carl's scientific explanation. He'll probably be along with that later. :lol:
 
Thanks Sue & Libby,

I will be patient, and was so thankful to see that low nadir last night. I new it was lower when I got home and tested him because he wasn't "hollering" at me the minute I walked in the door. He was laid back and content, just being a happy little purr bucket.

Funny thing I gave him some FF Turkery and he ate that like there was no tomorrow, cleaned his bowl. I put it in his auto feeder and put the Merrick B4 grain in his bowl, he went over to the auto feeder and set down at it sniffing and looking at me like why can't I have what is in there. It was so funny. He did go back to the Merrick and eat, but I could see he was going to be waiting on that feeder to open... :lol:

I will post my numbers to the spreadsheet as I get them, will have his PM at 4 and then another around 11 tonight when I get home from my 2nd job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top