Confused 80 amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris S

Member Since 2020
Ok -add on from the other day where Harley seemed to drop mid cycle without warning and recovered fine (no hypoglycemic emergency other than the low reading at +6; fed a little high carb wet and she rebounded to over 50+). That night, she was still under 150 so we skipped the shot.

The next day the am was 300 or so so somewhat higher than she has been in am so we gave a new reduced dose since the day before was so low.

the evening was lower but not super low so we gave another what I would call new regular dose (2.5)

The am she was lower again so I gave her a token dose of 1.

the day stayed level/flat. I felt it was in line to a typical cycle.

evening was 236 so we went to 2. At +2 she was lower but since the pm shot is after dinner, she only eats a little snack so I don’t typically see higher numbers.


This am: 80! So we skipped dose, fed breakfast. Will test again soon to see when the numbers rise.

As noted I have to update her chart w the last few weeks while being home but her average day has always been 200-300s w some high 100s here and there. Regulation was coming slow and we expected that since she was unregulated and it diagnosed for months.


My questions :

could she have spontaneously went from 3ubits to now needing only 1? I know I’ll need to monitor her more mid cycle for a bit to get better answer but....

Is that possible?
 
Hmmm.... it is rare, but anecdotally, it can happen for a severe hypo like Harley had to "wake up" the pancreas a little bit, so that she needs less insulin for a while.

May or may not be a permanent thing, hard to predict what she'll do next, so all you can do is keep monitoring her and follow her lead!
 
Hour later after her breakfast -92. I’ll keep watching. I skipped dose this am of course. If possible I would like to find a time to shoot for 1 and keep monitoring but soon we will run out of time before just skipping altogether ...
 
With the lantus insulin "depot", there is still some insulin that is being released even if you skip the shot for one cycle.
Let's see how Harley does on the 1U, and see if she does better on that lower dose for now.
You want to find a dose that you can give the same dose for both the AM and PM cycles.

Insulin likes consistency, especially a "depot" type insulin like Lantus.

If Harley drops <90 mg/dL again, you'll need to reduce the dose by 0.25U immediately.
 
So I monitored thru the afternoon and at 630 we got to 195. So I started from there. 1u tonight and dinner at 630. Been monitoring her since and she’s seemingly following her usual cycle with numbers staying close (20% of Ps). I will have to get up early for the 630 am check but whatever it takes .... hope to find a new happy medium for her whatever that will be. She got me for a loop ! :)

aaah test test test is all I can do to hopefully tell a story.
 
That BG 0f 51 at +5 today 5/10/20 is an automatic dose reduction. I did see that the shot this AM was 0. BUT the depot is still in action.
Even though those low numbers you got today were the insulin "depot" doing the work, you still need to reduce the dose. No more than 0.75U for Harley.

It's easy to go back up in dose if you need to. Much harder to keep a cat in low numbers from having a symptomatic hypo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top