Confirmation of Insulin Measurement Conversion, Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kay&Kiara

Member Since 2019
Hi y'all,

Just wanted to make sure I have this conversion right.
'
Little Background:
The last few days, my cat has been dropping lower on 1.5u-2u from upper 200s/low 300s PS BG down into the 50s-60s just before or at nadir. (Not sure about 1u, but seeing how much she dropped at 1.5u, probably at 1u too.) Which would suggest lowering her insulin, which brings me to the issue that my u-40 insulins are only in 1u measurements. So if I buy u-100 syringes, and I'm following the conversion page (and bear with my slow mind, I just woke up, lol) http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

.25u on a u-40 is just over the .5u measurement on the u-100 syringe, correct?
.5u is just around ~1.25u?
.75u is just over ~1.75u?

Then again, in the off-chance I need to start lowering, would I just stick with the .2u (u-40) difference given in the conversion page, instead of the .5u decease my vet recommended with the higher units? I.e. My vet told me to lower the dosage .5u (on the u-40) if her BG are lower, or I notice they're drop lower than usual, (2u-1.5u-1u-.5u), and then adjust as needed until I find a better dose. OR would I drop it down slower at the .2u (u-40) to follow the conversion easier once it needs to be lowered below 1u? I.e (1u-.8u-.6u-.4u-.2u)?

(I'm sorry if that makes no sense.)

I don't know if I'll ever need to use such low of dosages, but I'd rather have unnecessary information and not need it, than stress at a moment where she needs a much lower dose than I have the ability to give.

And with that, I am going back to bed.

Thanks everyone.

Kay&Kiara
 
on the u-100 syringe, correct?
The table is correct, I've doing that forever. To use a U40 insulin on a U100 syringe multiply by 2.5.

.25u on a u-40 is just over the .5u measurement on the u-100 syringe, correct? Correct to .625 or 5/8th
.5u is just around ~1.25u? Exactly
.75u is just over ~1.75u? Correct to 1.875 or 1 and 7/8th
 
Do me a favor and stay logged in for a bit. It sounds and is simple but twice in my life I've either typed too fast or misread what I just typed. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top