Concerned about numbers since dose increase

My vet has advised a dose increase from 1.5 to 2 units. I started the 2 units yesterday evening. His numbers today, 8/6 are AMPS 198, +2 159, +2.5 115. This concerns me since he has been in the high 300s for the past 3 days.
At what glucose level should I be concerned about hypoglycemia?
 
Hi @Jarlo welcome to LLB . We link our previous post so that way people helping can quickly see what happened the last time you posted. Here is yours https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3198311/

Have you picked one of the dosing methods we use here? The options are SLGS and TR. Here is link to the dosing methods. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ Either method, we strongly encourage a minimum of 4 tests a day; AMPS, one more throughout the cycle, PMPS and a before bed test. Do you think you can get a couple of tests in the PM cycle? Sometimes, our kitties like to go lower at night :rolleyes:. It helps to fill in the puzzle pieces. :) We make dosing decisions based on nadirs (the lowest point in the cycle).

Are the readings on your Spreadsheet ("SS") from the Libre or the Alpha Trak? On a human meter, which is what the two dosing methods are based on, the "take action" number is under 50. That is when we generally recommend feeding high carb food. If you're following TR and the kitty is newly diagnosed (less than 1 year), a reduction is earned and if following SLGS, a drop under 90 is a dose reduction. We adjust dose in increments of 0.25 units. Do you have syringes with the half unit markings? Those help with fine dosing. If using a pet meter, then the "take action" number is 68.
 
Would someone please advise if I should feed Hobo now. His dose was increased from 1.5 units twice a day to 2 units yesterday evening.
 
Yes, please give him a tsp of his regular low carb food and test again in an hour. That 83 is a safe number in a human meter ie Libre.

Are you feeding any dry food?
 
You can feed him LC food to help steer the curve flat green. I would test at least every 30 min to see if he is staying flat in the green zone. I will let others weigh in here but wanted to give you that until they do. Have you tested with a meter to confirm the BG number?

do you have your Hypo kit ready in case he does go low?
 
Hi @Jarlo welcome to LLB . We link our previous post so that way people helping can quickly see what happened the last time you posted. Here is yours https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3198311/

Have you picked one of the dosing methods we use here? The options are SLGS and TR. Here is link to the dosing methods. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ Either method, we strongly encourage a minimum of 4 tests a day; AMPS, one more throughout the cycle, PMPS and a before bed test. Do you think you can get a couple of tests in the PM cycle? Sometimes, our kitties like to go lower at night :rolleyes:. It helps to fill in the puzzle pieces. :) We make dosing decisions based on nadirs (the lowest point in the cycle).

Are the readings on your Spreadsheet ("SS") from the Libre or the Alpha Trak? On a human meter, which is what the two dosing methods are based on, the "take action" number is under 50. That is when we generally recommend feeding high carb food. If you're following TR and the kitty is newly diagnosed (less than 1 year), a reduction is earned and if following SLGS, a drop under 90 is a dose reduction. We adjust dose in increments of 0.25 units. Do you have syringes with the half unit markings? Those help with fine dosing. If using a pet meter, then the "take action" number is 68.
 
Would you explain the process to link a previous post? I'm not familiar with how to do that. Thank you
Hi Jarlo! To link a previous post:
Copy the link from your browser, then click on the "attach link" button on top of your post, I am pointing a red arrow to it on the screen capture. Then you paste your link and it will appear in your post.
You can edit your first message to add it.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2024-08-06 at 9.12.05 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2024-08-06 at 9.12.05 AM.png
    25.1 KB · Views: 53
60 is a safe number and you could have fed low carb food (if you decide TR is your dosing method ). It's ok that you fed HC. Can you please scan the libre again an hour after you last fed?

Also, please update your SS with these numbers when you can. :)
 
Hello and welcome to this forum. It's a busy forum and we want to make sure new members here get the attention they need. To that end, there are a few things you can do. First and foremost, make sure your spreadsheet is up to date with the latest blood glucose testsd. Some of us will be watching your spreadsheet closely to make sure there isn't something to be concerned about.

Second, we have a convention for what we put in our subject line and keep it updated so that people who are scanning the subject lines in the forum can see if a person needs help. Details on what that looks like are in this post.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
At +5 his reading on the libre was 53. I called the vet and she said to feed him and reduce his dose back to 1.5. The libre sensor ended today after I got this last reading. I will now attempt to use the Alpha Track to get a reading. I've tried unsuccessfully in the past, however, I know today it's important to get a reading on him before PMPS. I'm reading through on the dosing methods and decided on SLGS.
 
With SLGS, your new dose would be 1.25 units. Could you put SLGS in your signature and spreadsheet header?

Good luck with using the hand held meter. 53 is a safe number on the Libre.

I read back your first post and I beg to differ with your vet on using syringes with the pens. A majority of people here use them successfully. You don't need to have a vial to use syringes. You do withdraw insulin slightly differently from pens vs syringes, and video in the last half of this Sticky Note shows you how:
Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
 
Even though 53 is safe, you don't want him going any lower. Did you feed him after that last test?
 
With SLGS, your new dose would be 1.25 units. Could you put SLGS in your signature and spreadsheet header?

Good luck with using the hand held meter. 53 is a safe number on the Libre.

I read back your first post and I beg to differ with your vet on using syringes with the pens. A majority of people here use them successfully. You don't need to have a vial to use syringes. You do withdraw insulin slightly differently from pens vs syringes, and video in the last half of this Sticky Note shows you how:
Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
Thank you, thats' good to know. I keep hearing different information. Now the Lantus vial according to the insert only lasts 28 days, although I have read different opinions on this site, I'm going to get a new one after one month. A different vet suggested the Lantus pens and they just demonstrated using the syringe without inserting air into the pen. I will use the vial for now, but may go back to the pens if necessary.
 
You can feed him LC food to help steer the curve flat green. I would test at least every 30 min to see if he is staying flat in the green zone. I will let others weigh in here but wanted to give you that until they do. Have you tested with a meter to confirm the BG number?

do you have your Hypo kit ready in case he does go low?
 
I have a small squirt bottle of maple syrup and I will purchase some fancy feast with gravy in the future. Is that all I need for the hypo kit?
 
With SLGS, your new dose would be 1.25 units. Could you put SLGS in your signature and spreadsheet header?

Good luck with using the hand held meter. 53 is a safe number on the Libre.

I read back your first post and I beg to differ with your vet on using syringes with the pens. A majority of people here use them successfully. You don't need to have a vial to use syringes. You do withdraw insulin slightly differently from pens vs syringes, and video in the last half of this Sticky Note shows you how:
Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
 
Now the Lantus vial according to the insert only lasts 28 days, although I have read different opinions on this site, I'm going to get a new one after one month.
Don't get a new one. Keep it in the fridge and it'll last 5-6 months. I've used pen refills (available in Canada) to the last drop after 90 days. With 5 pens (or pen refills) in a package, that gets me over a year of insulin at that smaller dose. Humans keep their insulin out of the fridge, so that's why it only lasts 28 days for them.
 
Thank you, thats' good to know. I keep hearing different information. Now the Lantus vial according to the insert only lasts 28 days, although I have read different opinions on this site, I'm going to get a new one after one month. A different vet suggested the Lantus pens and they just demonstrated using the syringe without inserting air into the pen. I will use the vial for now, but may go back to the pens if necessary.
That 28 day is for humans , one pen should last you at least 6 months kept in the middle shelf of the fridge. I used each pen to the last drop

Lantus/glargine is an insulin that was only tested on humans and humans use a considerably larger dose than cats. The manufacturer's tests lasted only 28 days since that's how long they assumed humans would need a prescription for.


We also adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time , not by 0.5 units
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
@Jarlo
 
Last edited:
Would you explain the process to link a previous post? I'm not familiar with how to do that. Thank you
Your previous post would be all the way up top, ignore where it says insert cancel .you will go to the top and copy your previous days post and then when you start your new post just paste it
Your previous days post is all the way up top above that pic of the cat on the right hand side. It starts with https://www.felinediabetes.com
Do you see it
@Janice and Hobo




When you start your new post tomorrow you will put the Date, Hobo and his AMPS and any additional tests after that, then continue with PMPS and additional tests.
To add the tests look to the right ,you will see the word Thread Tools, tap in that then tap in Edit Title add your additional tests then tap save
 
Last edited:
@Jarlo
I see you wanted to change your avator name
Go to the top of the page ,tap on your name at the top of the page, then click on personal details then look at the left and you will see change user name tap on that and change
 
That 28 day is for humans , one pen should last you at least 6 months kept in the middle shelf of the fridge. I used each pen to the last drop

Lantus/glargine is an insulin that was only tested on humans and humans use a considerably larger dose than cats. The manufacturer's tests lasted only 28 days since that's how long they assumed humans would need a prescription for.


We also adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time , not by 0.5 units
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
@Jarlo
Yes, my syringes have 1/2 unit markings. Yesterday, I gave him 1.25 units but not able to test for his PMPS so I have not updated his spreadsheet.
 
Thank you Diane. I was able to make the change!
You're welcome
@Janice and Hobo
Hi Janice, I was just wondering will you be using the Alpha Trak from now on ?
The only reason I'm asking is because on you're SS up top it says Meter Libre 8/2 - 8/6 then Alpha Trak
We're you able to test Hobo's AMPS this morning
(8-7)? or any tests during the day cycle?
 
Last edited:
You're welcome
@Janice and Hobo
Hi Janice, I was just wondering will you be using the Alpha Trak from now on ?
The only reason I'm asking is because on you're SS up top it says Meter Libre 8/2 - 8/6 then Alpha Trak
We're you able to test Hobo's AMPS this morning
(8-7)? or any tests during the day cycle?
Hi Diane, Sorry for the late response. I just posted in the "help with Spreadsheets area" to correct my spreadsheet. I did use the Alpha Trak Template, but since I'm using the Freestyle Libre for now, I should have used a different spreadsheet. I have asked someone to correct this for me. I may eventually just buy a human meter, so I'm assuming I can keep the spreadsheet the same once I get it corrected. Right now, he just had another Libre placed, so I can do a glucose curve to determine his insulin dose. I have been entering these numbers on the spreadsheet.
 
Yes once you get it corrected to reflect a human meter you can leave it like that when you get a human meter
On your SS some AMPS cells and PMPS cells are blank did you get a test ? And some of the doses you gave are blank
Can you get a few tests in after Hobo's PMPS shot
@Janice and Hobo
 
Last edited:
Back
Top