Concerned about dropping BG

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
I'm almost out of my AT2 test strips so have had to switch to the human meter, saving a few of the AT2 strips for tomorrow. Problem is, I'm not at all familiar with the Relion's BG numbers and I know Olive's BG is still dropping. She was +3-281, then +5-97 on the AT2. I have been switching back and forth to the human meter since I don't have enough of the AT2 strips, just to follow along with how fast she's dropping and the human meter read 59 at +5.25, and +5.50 - 57. What is the number on the human meter that means I should begin feeding her NOW? She got 0.25 IU PM and I don't know when she's going to level out but I don't want to wait too long to take action either. Just tested her again +6 - 58. I'll continue checking to see if the numbers start holding steady, but it looks like it just might since her BG hasn't shown signs of dropping in the last half hour.
 
Last edited:
Hey, seems like there's not too many on the board right now. Below 50 on a human meter is when you feed the high carb food. Hope Olive holds.
 
I agree with Carla. A bit of low carb in the 50s or even the 60s can keep the surf going. It also depends on when in the cycle you're seeing lower numbers , how carb sensitive your cat is, etc. It's one of those ECID things.

I have to admit, I read your post and then looked at your spreadsheet and was thoroughly confused. I would not have switched meters in the middle of a cycle. If you needed to save strips, It would have been easier to understand if you started using the Relion this morning at AMPS. You will drive yourself crazy trying to figure out the difference between the meters even if they are both human or both pet meters let alone going between an AT and a human meter. If you are going to use the Relion for a few days, it would be helpful if you skipped a line on your spreadsheet and write in the blank line that you're using a Relion.
 
I wanted to save the few strips from AT2 so that I know for certain what her BG would be at the 3 curve Mark's today knowing my test strips will be here Tomorrow. I did NOT enter the human meter test number on the spreadsheet and reserved what correlating BG numbers I was getting with the human meter when I wrote last night to see what advice I could get on what to look for in the numbers on the human meter.This morning pre shot BG numbers are 144 using the AT2. I was told by vet not to give Olive her next 0.25 IU if her numbers were below 350. So I guess I'm going to have to skip the morning cycle shot. I don't know what else to do. If I give her more insulin now, at these numbers would'nt she then drop very low again?
 
She didn't tell us why, just not to do it under 350. My husband and I asked several times and she just repeated the same numbers so we're positive on that. We didn't understand enough about diabetes to ask why at the time.
 
Maybe because she saw4 how high Olive's BG was at time of shot and then how she'd bottom out 4 to 6 hours later. Maybe she thinks if her BG is already low that the insulin would make it drop to hypo. That's my guess anyways.
 
Doesn't quite work like that. It might be good idea if it's below 350 but still above 150 post here and ask for advice before skipping. Olive and you are still new at this.

My girl was named Olive, called her Ollie more.
 
So should I skip the morning cycle then? I've held her food off for an hour while I've waited for advice and she's soooooo hungry. I'm just really confused as to what to do.
 
I answered on your other thread suggesting a stall, but I see here that you have already delayed Olive's breakfast by an hour and she's hungry. That means that her numbers might be influenced by that, no matter what you do.

I think she's likely to go up from here and it would probably be safe to shoot, but you really don't have enough data to shoot comfortably.

If I give her more insulin now, at these numbers would'nt she then drop very low again?

Not necessarily. Lantus is actually very good at maintaining safe low numbers, less good at yanking them down. That said, for whatever reason, Olive seems to like to go low, and you've never shot anything close to this number, so I think you're probably skipping this morning (unless you test now and get a sky-high number or something).
 
We didn't understand enough about diabetes to ask why at the time.

It sounds as if your vet doesn't understand much about feline diabetes...I hope once things settle down for you, you'll have time to read up on the dosing methods and the safest lower numbers to shoot - and how to handle low numbers.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

I know it's a lot of information to absorb - but so so much better than the advice your vet is giving.

I agree with above posters - try the human meter for a few days - you might like it better and it'll save you $$ in the long run - I never understand why vets want everyone to use those AT2 meters anyway...:rolleyes:
 
Thanks for the link to all the info. I'll definitely read through it all. It's hard enough dealing with something we don't understand, but to know our vet doesn't understand either just makes the situation feel worse. I'll use the human meter the rest of the day and see how that goes. Then I'll skip a line on the spread sheet to enter the data. The vet told us the AT2 was more accurate than human meters, so that's why we got that one. I have 100 test strips to arrive tomorrow for the AT2. I guess I'll just have to see which one I like better. Well, if anything, I can take a nice long nap today knowing I don't have to worry about Olive's numbers going low. It also Gives hubby and I a chance to run out and get some shopping done. Just not getting any sleep as I'm up all night monitoring her. I'm such a nervous mom.
 
but to know our vet doesn't understand either just makes the situation feel worse.

I hear you loud and clear on that one! My vet was just as misinformed - and basically told us when Luci was diagnosed that it was hopeless and we should put her down. He said 'cats are too hard to regulate', she will pee all over your house, she is not going to cooperate with getting shots, etc. etc. He even gave me an example of a young couple that he'd sent home with insulin and they gave the poor thing insulin (never mentioned testing of course!!!) and they came home from work to find their cat had died...

So tell me who's fault is that?:mad: I was first in a state of disbelief that anyone (and he'd warned me about not depending on things I read on the internet!) could possibly know more than my esteemed professional vet...REALLY??? :eek::eek:

But after a while of reading about how many cats were still alive after being diagnosed with diabetes - how many in fact - had gone into remission!!! I thought to myself, perhaps THEY (the forum people) were right! Perhaps my vet was WRONG!!! Was it really true??? I tell you, I had a hard time with that one...but soon came to realize he was dead wrong...and they were right...and now my Luci has lived for nearly 3 years after being diagnosed and given the death sentence by that guy...needless to say I don't go to him anymore, not for anything!

So please, do as much reading as you can. The information - the life giving information - is all there. Take the time to read, read, read. Make notes and print stuff out...I had to do that - I'd print it and highlight it...and I just thought if anyone is going to save her life, it's got to be me...and by golly, that's just what I've done. And now DH has been helping too...we love our Miss Luci...and we want to see her thrive...and she's given us much joy (and almost as much grief) in the last three years as any member of the family!

Stay tuned...there's so much more for you here at FDMB!!! :bighug:
 
@OlivesMom - just here to say I switched from AT2 to Relion Premier on 8/23 - it was a little bit of a change getting a little more blood - took me personally about a week to get it down. The interesting part was I didn't change the setting on my lancet device (I like my lancet - which actually is from AlphaTrak) - I just had to warm his ear a little more or milk a little bit more blood. I think someone recommended this already - but get your Relion strip in your meter to where the meter doesn't turn on and then poke - when you have enough blood, push the strip the rest of the way in (my other hand is on his ear so he doesn't shake his head - that is the worst lol). I do miss how inserting the strip in AT2 gave us two minutes to get blood (ETA: I double-checked my Relion Premier and it allows two minutes from test strip to blood too! hurray!)

And yes the numbers will be different but if one accepts High is High and Low is Low and base treatment on relativity, the Relion (or other human meters) can save money and increase testing ability.

Of course, you need to do what works best for you and sweet Olive but just wanted to share my experience :)
 
Last edited:
gave us two minutes to get blood.

I use the OneDrop subscription based meter - I'll have to set a timer to find out how long it runs for after inserting the strip - we fool around a good bit before getting the test...so it could be a minute or 90 seconds...

I'll figure it out and let you know :)
 
I use the OneDrop subscription based meter - I'll have to set a timer to find out how long it runs for after inserting the strip - we fool around a good bit before getting the test...so it could be a minute or 90 seconds...

I'll figure it out and let you know :)
Interesting! So your comment made me double check my Relion Premier manual and imagine my surprise when it said two minutes lol. I went and tested and it is two minutes! Maybe I'll change my circus act for getting blood!
 
Back
Top