Cliff Notes: Week of 11/21

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
hello! Starting a new thread for Cliff this week, and hoping to update today or tomorrow.

11/22 Notes:
  • #s are in SS. Up to 2 units now. Going to try to test BG more, now that I'm on break from work. Vet asked me to do a curve at home this coming weekend and send to her.
  • Food: feel like I need a second job to pay for cat food! FF was giving them upset stomachs, and they turned on the Purina pro plan chicken & liver. Got a bunch of different brands/foods last Friday. They seem to like the Wellness brand/varieties, for now. And litter box has improved.
  • Got an automatic feeder, the petsafe2. Arrived today. Would like to test that out this week.
  • Another goal for this week is to get hubby testing on his own.
That's all I can think of for now. Have a great week!
 
Today was, interesting. :) Cliff got very "bitey" after the 2nd poke. Poor guy-definitely didn't understand all the extra attention.

Here are today's results that I emailed to the vet:
4AM = 415 (before feeding) and then gave 2 units after he ate
+2/6AM = 425
+4/8AM = 371
+6/10AM = 353
+8/12PM = 414
+10/2PM = tested three times because 1st test errored out (e1 on alphatracker); 2nd test was 588 (which he's never been that high before), so I did a 3rd test and got 530 (still very high for him, but I think today was a bit stressful)

I know we will be increasing his dose. Just hoping his #s start to come down!
 
And, we did a fur shot. :( he bucked while I was trying to give him the shot. (I think because he's so mad/distrustful of me today.) :( I'm so disappointed. I should have waited until he was more calm, but I just wanted to get the dose in him, since the last test was so high. PMPS was 537.

I can on,y hope that some went in and hope tomorrow morning comes quick.
 
Today was, interesting. :) Cliff got very "bitey" after the 2nd poke. Poor guy-definitely didn't understand all the extra attention.

Here are today's results that I emailed to the vet:
4AM = 415 (before feeding) and then gave 2 units after he ate
+2/6AM = 425
+4/8AM = 371
+6/10AM = 353
+8/12PM = 414
+10/2PM = tested three times because 1st test errored out (e1 on alphatracker); 2nd test was 588 (which he's never been that high before), so I did a 3rd test and got 530 (still very high for him, but I think today was a bit stressful)

I know we will be increasing his dose. Just hoping his #s start to come down!
Hurray for getting through your first curve at home, Michele! You'll get much faster and more efficient at testing as time goes on. Cliff will also get more used to it. Apply treats freely. :)

It's still early in the game. Yes, Cliff will need a dose increase. Your vet might suggest going up to 3 units but we favour smaller increases so you don't zoom past what might be a good dose. I'd try 2.25 u next if I was the one deciding.
 
Amps=379

He ate, & then vanished when I had my back turned. Which was odd... He usually stays on the first floor with me. I could hear him doing his business downstairs, so I let him go and shot him when he came back up to first floor.

He bucked again, and I nearly cried. But I think the needle was in and depressed and insulin delivered. His fur was not wet, and I didn't smell the insulin. Fingers crossed. I think I'm just exhausted. I will ask husband to help shoot tonight.

Went downstairs to check on things and saw fresh pee on top if some papers my husband leaves out next to the one box (for overflow/accidents.) grabbed my ketones stix since there was a puddle and dipped one in. Since this is my first ketones test, wasn't sure whether this would work/what would happen. Dipped a second stick and both came back negative looking. That makes me happy!
 
Congrats on y0ur first at-home curve and your first negative ketone test!

To help make testing less stressful for my little girl I give her a few freeze-dried treats after every ear-poke while I'm waiting for the meter to do it's thing. She's crazy for the Catmandoo chicken littles and now she comes running when I rattle the lancet box! I also give her insulin while she's eating her meals, gently rubbing the skin before I lift it up to stick the needle in helps desensitize the area too.

It can be stressful caring for our extra-sweet kitties, but everyone here is super helpful and supportive :bighug:
 
Great job on the curve and thinking of doing a ketone test when the opportunity presented itself. :) BTW - the zero and trace ketone colours can look very similar, at least on the Bayer KetoDiastix that I use. The type of harried and stressful incident you described will happen occasionally. I can certainly vouch for that from +++ personal experience! You'll be less stressed by them as time goes on.
 
Great job on the curve and thinking of doing a ketone test when the opportunity presented itself. :) BTW - the zero and trace ketone colours can look very similar, at least on the Bayer KetoDiastix that I use. The type of harried and stressful incident you described will happen occasionally. I can certainly vouch for that from +++ personal experience! You'll be less stressed by them as time goes on.

Thanks! I did remember your comment from before abt zero and trace looking the same. I think that's why I dipped two sticks... I wasn't even sure the first stick had gotten soaked/changed at all. :)
 
Time for a deep breath -some of the best advice I got early in this dance was to remember to breathe, deeply and often. And then give yourself a pat on the back. You got a curve and a ketone test - huge steps! It will continue to get easier, honest. And feel free to come here and air your frustrations. Everyone understands.
 
Sounds like you deserve a nap! I know how stressful and exhausting this can be. Remember to take time for yourself...have a glass of wine, go out for a walk or to see a movie, get some rest when you can! This will all get easier over time, I promise!
 
Sounds like you deserve a nap! I know how stressful and exhausting this can be. Remember to take time for yourself...have a glass of wine, go out for a walk or to see a movie, get some rest when you can! This will all get easier over time, I promise!
I do need a nap! But acupuncture, some kombucha and new/freshly washed flannel sheets help! :) thx!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top