Wonder if protocol is different for acro cats?Protocol for Prozinc is to up it by .25 of a unit, wait 3 cycles, then reevaluate. Otherwise, you might skip right over her optimum dose.
Yes, it is odd why she dropped it down. Probably to be safe. I read up on Prozinc- said it's designed only for cats and that it, too, is long acting. Lantus is for humans.I have no experience with acro cats but from piddling around on the forum it seems the majority of high dose cats switch to Levemir. Initially because high doses of insulin can sting, and Levemir is less acidic, but I'm not sure if there's more to Levemir than just that. @Wendy&Neko had an acro cat, she would probably know. Most cats go from Prozinc to Lev/Lantus, not the other way around. Every cat is different though. 9u to 2u is an odd switch too, I believe when switching from depot to in-and-out insulin you're to keep the same dose.
Nope. Nadirs above 200 you can increase by 0.5 units in the modified Prozinc method and I think that's applicable here too. This has nothing to do with whether they have acromegaly, just high numbers. Cleo's starting Prozinc starting dose in all likelihood was too low. But it sounds like this vet has very little experience with high dose cats, and Chris is following her guidance. So far his vet hasn't been following any particular protocol we are familiar with. All the Lantus increases were by 1 unit when they should have been 0.5 units. I hope the low start doesn't set her back too much. When I switched to Lantus from Caninsulin and a lower dose, it set me back 3 months.Wonder if protocol is different for acro cats?
With Lantus it's ECID. Most around 5 ish units they will see some sting but I've also seen it in 1-2 units. And I've also seen cats do fine on 25 units of Lantus. Levemir for many cats also has better duration.At what number is it considered high dose to the point of stinging? 5? 10?
There was someone saying just the other day they had to make fake spreadsheets to give the vet to keep them happy.She wasn't happy I upped by 1U on my own on Sunday and told me about it Monday afternoon. I don't want her to kick me off, so I'll have to do what she says. I'm sure this forum can be the bane to many vets, most who are trying to save face that they don't have much hands-on experience except what they learned in school and other vets. But that can be another discussion.......
It'll take at least a few cycles to see anything..at least I hope you see results. I didn't, which is why we switched to Vetsulin..faster acting "in and out". Unfortunately in Tiger..it wouldn't stay past in his body longer that 8hrs, but it looks like and Doc and other members here think that it might have "kick started" his response to the insulin. Then we made the switch back to Prozinc and he is looking real good now. Just took a reading 135 +4Tiger had some really high #'s but looks like he's coming down. Today is 1st day on Prozinc after 8 months on Lantus. Her am # is highest I've ever seen. Hope we're not going opposite direction.