Claudio AMPS 54 stalling, Now 40

Status
Not open for further replies.
From the Lantus stickies:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
 
So, 40 is pretty low, and you gave him 20 minutes. I'd definitely feed him a bit right now, and test again in 20mins to see if he's starting to come up.

You can't shoot until he's at least in the 50's, but you might be able to shoot this morning if he makes his turnaround quickly. If he doesn't, then you're skipping today (but still monitoring-- 40 is too low to turn your back on, for sure!).
 
Yes I have read that.
I will keep testing.
But I am wondering is when his numbers start to rise, what is an acceptable number to shoot ?
I don't want to shoot until his number gets out of the danger zone.
 
I think you can shoot, but it's what you're comfortable doing. You will of course have to monitor closely, especially in the next couple of hours, and have HC at the ready. He should be going up for real soon, but we just don't know when he'll make a serious move, and 5U is still a pretty hefty dose.
 
61 now.
When I went to post this, a database error occurred. Hence the slow response.
Gonna retest in another 15 to make sure he's okay to shoot.
Is shooting in the 70's okay ?
And do I reduce down to 5U from 5.25U ?
Hi Susan, Off topic, but I've found that around this time in the morning is when the database "refreshes" itself. So that error occurs regularly ;) I get the frustration when you're trying to post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top