Cinco AMPS 305 +3 115 +5.5 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
1/3 Recap:
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 269
AM+3.5: 215
AM+6: 189
PMPS: 285
PM+3: 207
PM+6: 184

This morning makes it 6 cycles on the dosecrease, and it seems as though things are going the wrong way. Don't know what was up with the cliff dive this am. confused_cat I was still upset about seeing pink when he dropped way down to blue. He's still there, 5.5 hours post shot. Love blue, but that was a big drop.

So here's my question: My DH does almost all the shooting. He's been shooting in more or less the same spot all this time. Last night we discussed it and I told him a lot of people alternate sides and maybe we should try that. So this am he shot on the other side. Does anyone think the BG drop had anything to do with switching sides, or is it just a coincidence? We were getting concerned with his numbers trending up, so I don't want to grasp at straws, but could the problem possibly have been caused by shooting in the same place? I welcome any and all opinions.

Sending healing vines to all who need them, especially Jupiter, and big hugs to Janet on the loss of her beautiful Izzy. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Tricia! Sorry about the amps, but that is a nice surfing number :-D :-D I've read the neck scruff isn't as good although I use it sometimes when alternating sides and places...and I've seen other people say where they shoot changes the adsorption rate of insulin in their cat, but I've never noticed in Chyna at all (that ECID stuff again :lol: ). Others will most likely be able to tell you where and hows :-D Hopefully Cinco will stay in blues for you, and I hope you are having a great Caturday :razz:
 
I was told that shooting in the scruff can be a slower absorption rate due to the fat layers by one of the vets that I had.

My next vet said that although rate of absorption could be different the end product is probably about the same.


With the Lantus depot, it is hard to say if the where you shoot that day made the difference. There was a thread on this site where someone noticed a difference after keeping records. I will see if I can find it and send it to you.
 
Thank you, Rachel and Catherine.

We shoot in the shoulder. We've been shooting in the left shoulder, but this morning shot in the right. That's where the vet showed us how to shoot, and I've seen other vets give vaccines there. Where do others shoot? For comfort's sake alone, perhaps we should be varying the location. I'd never really thought about it until now.
 
Thanks, Rachel! I showed it to my DH. He said he is NOT shaving a patch of Cinco's side, although now that I think of it, there is a patch that was shaved last month for the cyst removal. Gee, we could have been shooting there! Anyway, this will help us choose alternate spots. I appreciate it!
 
Haha, I'm not shaving my cat either :lol: It's nice to have different places to shoot, though, good luck :-D I did notice some places are more sensitive than others for my girl and she would go :shock: . Others tell me their cat doesn't even notice :lol:
 
The advantage to moving the shot site is that if you always shoot in the same location, some scar tissue could develop which will effect absorption or lipomas (fatty deposits) may develop. FWIW, I've always shot in the general area of the scruff/shoulder blades and I alternate sides.
 
I know, Chyna is not fond of the ear pricks either, but does eagerly eat the treats after...if it's just a few a day she is ok, but when we have to do a whole bunch she gets squirmy grumpy_cat
 
we moved around in an area probably 6"x3" around the scruff and shoulder, just trying to not hit the exact same spot all the time. i figured if it was a slower absorption rate around the scruff and we always did it there, what difference would it make? i mean, punkin's cycles were pretty predictable and i never thought it mattered where we shot him. at least with him i couldn't tell a difference.

you could make notes on your ss and see if you can repeat the results with Cinco another time. or see if there's any correlation between where you shoot and his numbers.
 
Thanks, Everyone! I will make a note on the SS, Julie. Great idea. We shot on the left again tonight, just because we've been shooting so long on the right. We will start alternating and try not to hit the same area too often. We were out for several hours this evening, and when I tested at +6, Cinco was higher than he was pre-shot (although the PS was better than this morning's!). I don't know if we got a fur shot, he bounced, or he had gone down already and was on the way back up. Tomorrow I"ll be able to test more often, so we'll see what he does.

We almost didn't go out, because after we fed everyone, Minka was acting strangely, crying and running from one LB to another, straining with no result. grumpy_cat She had been fine all day. We debated a while, then I gave her some hairball medicine and we went out, but came home earlier than usual. When we got home, we found someone (we strongly suspect Minka) had pooped on the floor of the bathroom :o , and someone else (suspect: Harvey) had thrown up on the living room carpet :? . Cinco was sleeping peacefully in his hidey hole. Everyone presented for a snack and all ate well, so we think things are back to "normal", whatever that is. In the immortal words of Roseanne Roseannadanna, "it's always something"! :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top