Cinco AMPS 134; +11 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Cinco is doing his best to stress me out. We shot 1.0 this morning, with his AMPS at 134. When I checked him at +4.5 he was down to 44! I gave him two teaspoons of HC food and rechecked in 25 minutes. He was up to 64. We just put him at 1.0 yesterday!! Is he already ready to go down to .75??? I'm inclined to hold at 1.0 for 6 cycles, but what about that 44? Does anyone have any suggestions for what testing pattern I should try next? I've done a curve and a mini curve this week. He is getting really grumpy when I try to stick his ears and I don't want to overstress him. Thanks.

- Tricia & Cinco
DX 6-23-11

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...gVSWwdEp4OWZpVXZCd05WV0taYmJRb1JmVXc&hl=en_US
 
Re: Cinco AMPS 134; +4.5 44; +5 64 Stick with Dose?

I think you may want to take the reduction. There's a possibility that the 44 is due to the shed being overfilled and things will level out the next cycle. However, that may not be the case. I think it may make sense to take the reduction and if it looks like it's not working, bring the dose back up quickly.

I'd suggest starting to get a +2. It will give you some info on how the cycle is going and it can help you decide when to test next.
 
Re: Cinco AMPS 134; +4.5 44; +5 64 Stick with Dose?

she's saying to drop to .75 tonight. based upon yesterday morning's rise at the amps, though, i'm wondering if you have to give it at least 2 shots to decide if you think it's possible the reduction has failed.

when you're decreasing there's no "wait 6 cycles to see what's going on" like you do when you're increasing the dose.

here's the part of the protocol http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 you're doing right now:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

just seems like cinco is on the fast track here! a little crazy and nerve wracking for you, but really it's a good thing.
 
Re: Cinco AMPS 134; +4.5 44; +5 64 Stick with Dose?

I agree with reducing to 0.75 tonight. It still looks to me like 1 unit is a bit too much insulin. If not, you can always increase after a few cycles. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top