Cinco AMPS 125 AM+4 41. Dose Advice, Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Cinco has been at .1 units for only three cycles now and I've already got a number in the low 40s! I gave him HC and after 20 minutes he was only up to 47 - first time I've ever had to give him HC twice to get him up out of the 40s! (Still monitoring) The highest number he has shown in the past week was 198, and that was while he was at the vet's. What do we do now? Here's the kicker: we are going out of town for the weekend, and he will be at the vet's from tonight until Sunday afternoon. What do I tell them to do about shooting? We found his BG goes up slightly when he's there, but there were no yellow numbers at all last time, which was last weekend. Please help! Thanks.
 
I think I would go without insulin for the weekend while he is being boarded......especially if there will be no one there to monitor him overnight. Just my thoughts.....
 
it's been said a cat will not experience a symptomatic hypo on 0.1u of insulin.
however, i don't know if i'd be willing to test that theory when my cat is being boarded. many kitties don't eat normally when boarded or while in the care of a pet sitter. if it were me, i'd skip the shots. cinco is doing so well. you'll get him back on track quickly when you return (it's only for a couple of days).

just a suggestion if his numbers show he needs insulin when you get back...
those AM preshot numbers appear to be the only thing holding him back from going OTJ. try feeding a small mini-meal or snack around PM+8 or +9. it may go a long way towards bringing those AM preshot numbers down... and going OTJ!

Have fun this weekend!


to those reading: feeding late in the cycle is a technique reserved for kitties who are close to going OTJ. the purpose is to stimulate the pancreas into making it's own insulin which in turn will bring the preshot numbers down. if your cat is not at the stage where cinco is today, feeding late in the cycle will only serve to stop whatever action is left on the insulin.
 
I currently feed Cinco about every 6 hours, with little tiny snacks during the day when he gets his BG tested (only way he'll stand still for it). So if I understand you correctly, Jill, I should set up a feeder to give him some of his regular food around PM +8 or +9, which would be 2:30 or 3:30 am. I am occasionally up that late, so I could do it myself when I am, but I also have an automatic feeder I could use the rest of the time. Thanks, I'll try that when I get back - I know he'll be in favor of it! In the meantime, unless someone else has a better suggestion, I'll tell the people at the vet hospital to not shoot unless he has a really high preshot time number (say in the yellow) - and then only a few drops. Would that be a good idea, or no insulin regardless (assuming they'll buy into that)?
 
So if I understand you correctly, Jill, I should set up a feeder to give him some of his regular food around PM +8 or +9, which would be 2:30 or 3:30 am.
correct. we've seen great success in bringing down preshot numbers (especially those AM ps numbers) while using this method when a kitty is so close to going OTJ.

something to keep in mind... there's a possibility this weekend may be the start of cinco's OTJ trial. :mrgreen:
you'll have to see what he's doing when you get back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top