Chuck and Susan
Member Since 2010
We took Chuck off Lantus in May because it didn't seem to be stabilizing his BG. He's been on ProZinc since the end of May and I really don't think his numbers are any better. The vet mentioned that the insulin doesn't seem to be lasting long enough, since he's usually high at pre-shots, but usually below renal threshold during the rest of the cycle.
So, a couple of questions:
1. I still have a good amount of the vial of Lantus. It's been refrigerated the entire time, in the "snack" drawer of the fridge, so it's a pretty constant temperature. I just checked it and it's not cloudy, doesn't have any "floaties", and the expiration date is September of 2014. Is it still good?
2. If you think the Lantus is still good, what dosage should I start with? I've been away long enough, and we've been doing 2xdaily, 3xdaily, a drop when he's high during the day, etc., that I'm out of Lantus practice. I do know that the depot will have to fill, and that it needs to be a consistent 12 hour schedule, no shooting 2 or 3 hours early, or late.
His last fructosamine was 434, which the vet said is considered regulated. I'm not the least happy with seeing a 540 amps followed by a 122 at +3, then a 323 at +7 -- I think it's too much of a drop. And the drops on the same dose can go from 485 at pre-shot to 90 at +4, so increasing his dosage might be a bad idea.
Thanks for any advice you can send our way!
So, a couple of questions:
1. I still have a good amount of the vial of Lantus. It's been refrigerated the entire time, in the "snack" drawer of the fridge, so it's a pretty constant temperature. I just checked it and it's not cloudy, doesn't have any "floaties", and the expiration date is September of 2014. Is it still good?
2. If you think the Lantus is still good, what dosage should I start with? I've been away long enough, and we've been doing 2xdaily, 3xdaily, a drop when he's high during the day, etc., that I'm out of Lantus practice. I do know that the depot will have to fill, and that it needs to be a consistent 12 hour schedule, no shooting 2 or 3 hours early, or late.
His last fructosamine was 434, which the vet said is considered regulated. I'm not the least happy with seeing a 540 amps followed by a 122 at +3, then a 323 at +7 -- I think it's too much of a drop. And the drops on the same dose can go from 485 at pre-shot to 90 at +4, so increasing his dosage might be a bad idea.
Thanks for any advice you can send our way!