Chuck -- So long, farewell Lantus Land, we'll miss you!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Heard back from the vet today regarding the TLI and other bloodwork for Chuck. His white count is normal, his red count is normal, his hemoglobin is on the low end of normal, so the vet is thinking possibly mild anemia.

His BUN is a little high, but his creatinine is normal, so no kidney failure at this time. His BG at the draw was 431, not surprising with vet stress and the way he's been roller-coastering for the last 3 months.

His liver enzymes are normal; his T4 is low but normal, no ketones. No sign of infection or bacteria -- he had a UTI in December that took about 4 antibiotics to clear up, so they wanted to be sure he was still clear. His TLI came back at 77.5, which is in the normal range (12-82).

No pancreatitis (chronic or acute) or pancreas issues, no liver issues, no kidney issues -- it must be the insulin. He recommended either ProZinc or Vetsulin -- I'm leaning towards ProZinc. He doesn't think we need to clear out the Lantus depot, but doesn't want me to start him on the PZ and then go to work -- I should be around to monitor the first couple of days. So, we're going camping this weekend, and my plans were to sew a bunch of projects. Chuck has to go along, and I'll start him on the PZ Sunday morning. I have to work Saturday until 5, then we're headed to the campground; I don't want to feed him, give him a new insulin, and then put him in the truck for a 45 minute drive. My plan is to get to the camper, feed and give one last dose of Lantus Saturday night and start the PZ Sunday morning, depending on BG.

We're off on a new "adventure" to PZ-land! We'll miss all of you, and hope many, many more kittehs head to the falls!!
 
Good luck with the new insulin. We'll miss you, too. Please visit once in a while to let us know how it's going :) :YMHUG:
 
we'll miss you too! I'm really anxious to see how Chuck does on ProZinc, though. For a cat like him, it might not be bad to use an insulin that doesn't have an insulin depot to worry about. I hope it is just what he needs.

Come back and visit!
 
. My plan is to get to the camper, feed and give one last dose of Lantus Saturday night and start the PZ Sunday morning, depending on BG
.

I recall reading somewhere than when switching from a depot insulin to prozinc, it is advised that you skip a shot in between. Might have been here, or the DCC board, or even on the prozinc website....

Does anyone here know for sure?
 
Good luck with the new insulin. And hugs to Chuck. :mrgreen:

P.S. Your post title scared me a little... :shock: Glad it was just a change of insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top