Chuck and Susan
Member Since 2010
After 4 years and 9 months, it looks like Chuck will be returning to Lantus land from the falls -- is there a condo available??
Starting in December 2012, his BG's just wouldn't come down to what we expected. The vet thought he needed a dental (he did, badly), but wanted to get his BG's down below 300, and below 250 would have been better, before doing it. Chuck also has a UTI that just seems to hang on -- we're on the 4th antibiotic for it.
His BG's are hanging in the mid-300's; I'm doing a blood curve on Saturday and we'll decide from there if he goes back on insulin or not (I work full-time now, so can't do a curve sooner, or I would). We've briefly discussed insulin, and I've expressed my desire to go back to Lantus, but at a much lower than normal starting dose.
For those of you who weren't here 4 years ago, Chuck suffered a vet-induced hypo event. Had I known then what I know now, I never would have given the vet his insulin that morning -- they tested him at 170 (at the vet's!) but still gave a full unit of Lantus. 12 hours later, we were at the emergency clinic with seizures and BG's VERY low. It took nearly 6 hours of IV glucose to stabilize his BG levels, and, as a result, he developed insulin sensitivity.
So, if Jill or Jojo are still here, and, of course, not really knowing what his BG's look like over a consecutive period of time, what do you think his starting dose should be? I'm thinking no more than 1/2 unit and adjusting upward, if necessary, after the shed fills. (Do you still talk about filling the shed?)
I think his Google Docs spreadsheet is attached, if not, let me know and I'll see if I can reattach it. His last BG was on 2/1, about 12 hours after eating, and it was 367.
I will say that everything I learned here while Chuck was on insulin has been very impressive to the vet here in Texas -- he's never seen anyone chart BG's or keep a notebook of everything that has happened.
Starting in December 2012, his BG's just wouldn't come down to what we expected. The vet thought he needed a dental (he did, badly), but wanted to get his BG's down below 300, and below 250 would have been better, before doing it. Chuck also has a UTI that just seems to hang on -- we're on the 4th antibiotic for it.
His BG's are hanging in the mid-300's; I'm doing a blood curve on Saturday and we'll decide from there if he goes back on insulin or not (I work full-time now, so can't do a curve sooner, or I would). We've briefly discussed insulin, and I've expressed my desire to go back to Lantus, but at a much lower than normal starting dose.
For those of you who weren't here 4 years ago, Chuck suffered a vet-induced hypo event. Had I known then what I know now, I never would have given the vet his insulin that morning -- they tested him at 170 (at the vet's!) but still gave a full unit of Lantus. 12 hours later, we were at the emergency clinic with seizures and BG's VERY low. It took nearly 6 hours of IV glucose to stabilize his BG levels, and, as a result, he developed insulin sensitivity.
So, if Jill or Jojo are still here, and, of course, not really knowing what his BG's look like over a consecutive period of time, what do you think his starting dose should be? I'm thinking no more than 1/2 unit and adjusting upward, if necessary, after the shed fills. (Do you still talk about filling the shed?)
I think his Google Docs spreadsheet is attached, if not, let me know and I'll see if I can reattach it. His last BG was on 2/1, about 12 hours after eating, and it was 367.
I will say that everything I learned here while Chuck was on insulin has been very impressive to the vet here in Texas -- he's never seen anyone chart BG's or keep a notebook of everything that has happened.