Chuck - back from the falls???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
After 4 years and 9 months, it looks like Chuck will be returning to Lantus land from the falls -- is there a condo available??

Starting in December 2012, his BG's just wouldn't come down to what we expected. The vet thought he needed a dental (he did, badly), but wanted to get his BG's down below 300, and below 250 would have been better, before doing it. Chuck also has a UTI that just seems to hang on -- we're on the 4th antibiotic for it.

His BG's are hanging in the mid-300's; I'm doing a blood curve on Saturday and we'll decide from there if he goes back on insulin or not (I work full-time now, so can't do a curve sooner, or I would). We've briefly discussed insulin, and I've expressed my desire to go back to Lantus, but at a much lower than normal starting dose.

For those of you who weren't here 4 years ago, Chuck suffered a vet-induced hypo event. Had I known then what I know now, I never would have given the vet his insulin that morning -- they tested him at 170 (at the vet's!) but still gave a full unit of Lantus. 12 hours later, we were at the emergency clinic with seizures and BG's VERY low. It took nearly 6 hours of IV glucose to stabilize his BG levels, and, as a result, he developed insulin sensitivity.

So, if Jill or Jojo are still here, and, of course, not really knowing what his BG's look like over a consecutive period of time, what do you think his starting dose should be? I'm thinking no more than 1/2 unit and adjusting upward, if necessary, after the shed fills. (Do you still talk about filling the shed?)

I think his Google Docs spreadsheet is attached, if not, let me know and I'll see if I can reattach it. His last BG was on 2/1, about 12 hours after eating, and it was 367.

I will say that everything I learned here while Chuck was on insulin has been very impressive to the vet here in Texas -- he's never seen anyone chart BG's or keep a notebook of everything that has happened.
 
You will find Jill over in the TR Lantus group. But of course you are also welcome to post here as well, however, we are a pretty small group and sometimes answers don't come quickly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Well you are more than welcome here...personally my girl is a levemir cat but my other one was a Lantus boy so I try to help out here when I can. I think if you do start Chuck back on Lantus .5u would be a good starting point..you can always adjust up if you need to. Of course going over the basics...no other health problems or infections that you know of that could have gotten him out of remission? He didn't sneak any high carb forbidden foodies etc? Oh wait I see that he has a UTI that is being stubborn to fix, I'm wondering if that is what has him so high right now. It will be interesting to see what his curve is going to look like that might give you a clearer picture of if and how much insulin he needs to be started on. He will probably need some at least until the UTI clears.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm just a newbee, so have nothing to add, except I'm sorry to hear Chuck was having to come back from the Falls. :sad:

My Lucian as only been on Lantus for a month, so nowhere close to regulating, but I keep dreaming about it! :-D

Wishing you all the best and hope Chuck is back to feeling like his old self again real soon! cat_pet_icon
 
Chuck and Susan said:
After 4 years and 9 months, it looks like Chuck will be returning to Lantus land from the falls -- is there a condo available??

Starting in December 2012, his BG's just wouldn't come down to what we expected. The vet thought he needed a dental (he did, badly), but wanted to get his BG's down below 300, and below 250 would have been better, before doing it. Chuck also has a UTI that just seems to hang on -- we're on the 4th antibiotic for it.

His BG's are hanging in the mid-300's; I'm doing a blood curve on Saturday and we'll decide from there if he goes back on insulin or not (I work full-time now, so can't do a curve sooner, or I would). We've briefly discussed insulin, and I've expressed my desire to go back to Lantus, but at a much lower than normal starting dose.

For those of you who weren't here 4 years ago, Chuck suffered a vet-induced hypo event. Had I known then what I know now, I never would have given the vet his insulin that morning -- they tested him at 170 (at the vet's!) but still gave a full unit of Lantus. 12 hours later, we were at the emergency clinic with seizures and BG's VERY low. It took nearly 6 hours of IV glucose to stabilize his BG levels, and, as a result, he developed insulin sensitivity.

So, if Jill or Jojo are still here, and, of course, not really knowing what his BG's look like over a consecutive period of time, what do you think his starting dose should be? I'm thinking no more than 1/2 unit and adjusting upward, if necessary, after the shed fills. (Do you still talk about filling the shed?)

I think his Google Docs spreadsheet is attached, if not, let me know and I'll see if I can reattach it. His last BG was on 2/1, about 12 hours after eating, and it was 367.

I will say that everything I learned here while Chuck was on insulin has been very impressive to the vet here in Texas -- he's never seen anyone chart BG's or keep a notebook of everything that has happened.

Well, I guess my first question is how did the dental go? I seriously do not understand vets who think the BG have to be regulated or down to a certain level before they can do a dental.... if it's the teeth that are causing the high BG, where's the logic in waiting?? I am pretty sure that if you had an abscessed tooth and you were diabetic, the dentist would not ask you how your BG were doing.

My Shadoe's numbers were not exactly regulated and we had not found her 'good dose' but she needed a dental to be done, her first. Her dose went from 14u BID down to 2.75u BID after one tooth extraction. The dental helped her.

Anyway, I hope the dental went well for Chuck, but if not done, tell the vet you want it done.

Going back on insulin - you can start as low as you like.... even start at a .25u dose if you like.
Keep in mind that you will need to build up the shed again, so you don't really have to worry about hypo with Lantus and BG numbers in the 300s.

Now, because the high BG may be due to a combo of teeth and also the UTI, it would be a good idea to start low and stay low until you can get the health issues resolved. Only then will you see where Chuck's numbers really stand.

This forum is good for those who have odd schedules, feed dry food, and can do very little or no testing. I think in your case, you know what you are doing from the past, and the group in the Lantus TR are willing to accept posts from all... too often, people have been led to believe that they must stick strictly to frequent testing and an exact way of feeding to be able to post in the Lantus TR, but that's not true at all. Many people work all week and can't do lots of testing on work days, so their numbers are before shots, then a couple in the evenings, with any curves having to wait for days off.
If you feel you want to post in the Lantus TR, then go right ahead. You know the routine, and there is more 'traffic' in that forum.

Hopefully, Chuck is just on a short visit here and once his teeth and UTI are addressed, he'll be off to the falls again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top