@ChrismazB
Welcome Chris and Bam Bam love the names of your kitties
Can you add note information to your signature please
- Add info we need to help you:
- Caregiver & kitty's name
- DX: Date
- Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
- Name of your meter
- Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
- Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
- DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
- Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
- Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
- Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
- Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
Take a look at mine
Just happened to look at your spreadsheet you have a BG of 90 for the date 8-3-2024? AMPS ?
Did you mean to put that for today's date 8-31-2024?
I see Bam Bam is on Lantus
Have you read all the yellow sticky's yet about Lantus
There is 2 dosing methods to chose from , TR or SLGS, they will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
Please try and always get an AMPS and PMPS test and at least a mid cycle test for each cycle. If not you will never know how low Bam Bam is dropping. The more tests the better.
We adjust the dose by how low a cat is dropping ,called the nadir, we don't adjust the doses by the pre shots.
When you decide on which dosing method you want to follow please add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top.
Please read all the yellow sticky's here
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
Oh do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time and these syringes make it easier to do
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
- Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
- Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
- Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
- How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
Be sure you have a hypo kit
Have a hypo kit ready if needed
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.
16- 24 is high carb.