Chloe is 173 at +9

How long has Chloe been on Lantus now? If over a few months, and I know she's been diabetic over 3 years, you should have more than enough data to shoot under 200. As long as you can monitor tonight, and you have the supplies (test strips and high carb food), you should be able to shoot a little lower. We suggest the no shot below 200 to start if people are new to SLGS, but that you gradually lower than number as you gain experience and data. Plus, she could still climb over 200 by PMPS time. If you look at the subject lines of other posts on this forum, you'll see lots shooting under 200.
 
How long has Chloe been on Lantus now? If over a few months, and I know she's been diabetic over 3 years, you should have more than enough data to shoot under 200. As long as you can monitor tonight, and you have the supplies (test strips and high carb food), you should be able to shoot a little lower. We suggest the no shot below 200 to start if people are new to SLGS, but that you gradually lower than number as you gain experience and data. Plus, she could still climb over 200 by PMPS time. If you look at the subject lines of other posts on this forum, you'll see lots shooting under 200.
Thank you for your response. Before September, I wasn't using the chart to monitor her levels. My vet said it was okay to look at her pre-shot and dose according to that. I've been doing that for quite a while. She just ate and her pre-shot is due in 75 min.
 
When you are still learning your cat's response to food, it's good to withhold food for a couple hours before shot time. Otherwise the food will influence the preshot numbers. I think in this case Chloe will still be in safe numbers, but if she's ever much lower later in the cycle, you do want to be careful. Once you have enough +1 data to know how much of a number bump she gets from dinner, you can figure out if she's safe to shoot. Your original question asked about 0.25 and that's what I would go with if her numbers are OK to shoot tonight.
 
Hi Roberta, nice to see you made it over to the group here, welcome! I'm not quite sure about your times, did you feed with +9 or sometime afterward, since you mentioned PMPS is in 75 minutes? I think 0.25u is fine, provided you can continue to monitor tonight and have your supplies ready, as Wendy said, but let's see the PMPS and go from there.
 
Hi Roberta, nice to see you made it over to the group here, welcome! I'm not quite sure about your times, did you feed with +9 or sometime afterward, since you mentioned PMPS is in 75 minutes? I think 0.25u is fine, provided you can continue to monitor tonight and have your supplies ready, as Wendy said, but let's see the PMPS and go from there.
Yes, she ate before the PMPS. The cats won't leave me along when it's their dinnertime (5 pm). I guess I'll have to move my PMPS and shot time.
 
Back
Top