Roberta and Chloe
Member Since 2020
vet says no insulin under 200. should I give .25?
Thank you for your response. Before September, I wasn't using the chart to monitor her levels. My vet said it was okay to look at her pre-shot and dose according to that. I've been doing that for quite a while. She just ate and her pre-shot is due in 75 min.How long has Chloe been on Lantus now? If over a few months, and I know she's been diabetic over 3 years, you should have more than enough data to shoot under 200. As long as you can monitor tonight, and you have the supplies (test strips and high carb food), you should be able to shoot a little lower. We suggest the no shot below 200 to start if people are new to SLGS, but that you gradually lower than number as you gain experience and data. Plus, she could still climb over 200 by PMPS time. If you look at the subject lines of other posts on this forum, you'll see lots shooting under 200.
I guess I'll have to gradually move my shot time because all the cats are in the kitchen at 5 pm waiting to be fed.withhold food for a couple hours before shot time
Yes, she ate before the PMPS. The cats won't leave me along when it's their dinnertime (5 pm). I guess I'll have to move my PMPS and shot time.Hi Roberta, nice to see you made it over to the group here, welcome! I'm not quite sure about your times, did you feed with +9 or sometime afterward, since you mentioned PMPS is in 75 minutes? I think 0.25u is fine, provided you can continue to monitor tonight and have your supplies ready, as Wendy said, but let's see the PMPS and go from there.
I'm sorry, I did a +2 but forgot to write it in. It was 193. I'm going to do a +4 soon.@Roberta and Chloe If you get a +2 or +3, please post an update here. I’m very interested to see where this cycle is heading...