Roberta and Chloe
Member Since 2020
sigh
I made sure she is eating her dinner and will test again very soon. I also gave her a few treats.I'd test again, to be sure it isn't a wonky strip, but 30s deserve immediate attention. I'd be giving some syrup now, if that number is correct. You can give a couple of drops on her gums. Up you go Chloe.
She's acting fine and ate all her dinner. This happens rather frequently, actually.and no insulin since this morning. whoa how is she acting?
Well, there are several factors. One, I was using an old, but not expired, vial of Lantus when she was staying in the blues and greens. I bought a pen for the first time and found it difficult to get the correct dose with it because it kept sucking the insulin back in. (see my posts re the pen) Also, my vet has given me guidelines about dosages depending on BG numbers. I never give insulin if her BG is under 150. I'm going to test her again now.Roberta, I hope everything is ok. I'd like to offer some suggestions:
1) The TR protocol would call for a reduction anytime you get a number under 40. Period, full stop, even with long term diabetic kitties. You held 0.5u a number of times, and then actually increased to 1u on am Sept 21st, when the dose should have been 0.25u.
2) we dose based on nadirs, not preshots. Chloe has been telling you 0.5u was too much.
3) Lantus loves consistency, you've been changing the dose too much (in the wrong direction) and not following the protocol when reductions are earned. You need to give a dose 6 cycles to see what it can do.
4) we have a lot of experienced Lantus members, who don't come to health forum often. We'd love to help you get a handle on things, please consider posting there regularly so we can help you.
I'll end by how I started, I really hope everything is ok with Chloe, we worry when people stop responding.
Thank you. She's at 36 now.@Roberta and Chloe I see you are on, but in community /off topic at the moment? I'll be signing off now, I hope everything is fine, please do consider what I posted, and please don't be complacent with low numbers such as you have been seeing.
Okay, she ate a lot, but I'll give her a drop of honey. When I was using the old vial, I was giving only one injection per day for awhile and we thought she might be going into remission. The vet did a urine test a couple weeks ago and she was negative. Maybe she got a bacteria when they expressed the urine. I'll check her for ketones next time I see her peeing.Where is that in relation to your test @ +10 please? It is still too low, you'll be skipping again tonight, which is not ideal with past history or DKA. Are you able to check for ketones at home, either via meter or Ketostix? She needs additional higher carb, what you gave appears to have done nothing. Let's get her up to safe numbers, then we can chat more about what you might want to consider doing going forward, okay?
done, and she ate a bit more, too.Roberta, give Chloe some karo or honey immediately. A few treats are not going to do the trick and they take longer to have an effect.
She's at 40 now.Test again, another 20 Minutes, please. The syrup can wear off quickly. Keep the food down to a minimum now, she needs to be hungry if you need to continue to intervene. You need to keep checking until we are sure she is safe, please keep your SS and thread title updated, so we can help you, if necessary okay? Stay with me, and I'll stay with you, I'm here to help Chloe.
I always put the time in the comments.All good hon, we are here to help you, please don't take my short responses personally, I want to get Chloe back to safe numbers. Lantus doesn't really do well once a day dosing, as you have likely seen. Last test of 36 is then +11?
More honey. Chloe needs to be above 50 and then stay above 50 without benefit of honey and carbs.She's at 40 now.
There are no comments visible to me, nor any comments about intervention at lower numbers. That would be useful info.I always put the time in the comments.
You have to hover the cursor over the number. Do you see the yellow corners?There are no comments visible to me, nor any comments about intervention at lower numbers. That would be useful info.
No, sorry, comments are best put in the column, since I have found our own "personal" comments in the way you are applying to SS don't come through.You have to hover the cursor over the number. Do you see the yellow corners?
I've mentioned this a few times already but Roberta, please stop increasing the dose when she's in yellows. You won't give insulin over 150 but you're fine overdosing her when she's bouncing. Please keep her safe and lower the dose and DONT increase anymore.
I don't see where you put the times on Mav's SS. Also, how can I rename the SS link that shows in my signature?No, sorry, comments are best put in the column, since I have found our own "personal" comments in the way you are applying to SS don't come through.
Don't need to, times are standard as they relate to the preshot, ie. +1, +2, etc. We have many members in different time zones, so the standardization of +1 etc from preshot makes us all on the same page, if that makes sense?I don't see where you put the times on Mav's SS.
Yes, so does that mean you always do the preshot at the same time every day?Don't need to, times are standard as they relate to the preshot, ie. +1, +2, etc. We have many members in different time zones, so the standardization of +1 etc from preshot makes us all on the same page, if that makes sense?
The SS is gone nowWe can help you with that later, test again please![]()
The C in "Chloe's SS" still works as a hyperlink, I can barely see it even with my reading glassesThe SS is gone now
Now I see it barely, like you said she can fix it later,not important right nowThe C in "Chloe's SS" still works as a hyperlink, I can barely see it even with my reading glasses![]()

She went back down to 38. I don't understand this. Should I give her another drop of honey?We can help you with that later, test again please![]()
Yes more honey, make it more like three or four drops now, and test again in 20 Minutes. I'm sorry the frequency of tests is required, since she isn't really getting back up.She went back down to 38. I don't understand this. Should I give her another drop of honey?
Roberta do you have any high carb food anything in gravy?
Such as
You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring his BG up and get some honey also
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Roberta do you have any high carb food anything in gravy?
Such as
You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Roberta do you have any high carb food anything in gravy?
Such as
You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
I thought it also took longer to hit the bloodstream compared to wet?If you don't have any high carb canned, time to also grab some high carb dry food, it goes into the blood stream just as quickly as canned, just takes longer to come out.
Can anyone run to a supermarket and pick up some food in GravyShe doesn't have any symptoms. She never does when she goes low. I'll give her more honey and test again in a few minutes.