Looking good!Good news: Chloe's got the blues! Bad news: Chico is sick, same as Cheddar.
Cheddar's Clavamox cost me $36 from the vet. I'm thinking of calling her to ask for another prescription, but I doubt that a vet would prescribe for a cat he or she hasn't seen. Chico is overdue for his shots, so I thought of taking him to a less expensive clinic. Vets won't give shots to sick cats though. Cheddar needs to get his 2nd round, too. Should I call Cheddar's vet and say I dropped the bottle and don't think I'll have enough for 8 days?Looking good!you should try to get a mid cycle just to see how low she's getting. I don't think it's too low but it's good info to have if her preshots start creeping back up or start getting lower.
I would get the others to the vet. It's common for a kitty to have a respiratory infection coming from a shelter. Whatever it is must be contagious if Chico has it now. Could be worth asking for an extra treatment for the others just in case they start showing symptoms too.
Chico has the symptoms: sneezing and runny eyes. I just went ahead and ordered it online, I said it was for Cheddar, which is partly true since it's only a 15 ml bottle and I was told to give him 3 ml, twice a day for 10 days. 15 ml would only last for 4-5 days unless my math is wrong.I wouldn't treat without symptoms unless the vet suggests it.
I don't know. Somewhere I read that on the internet, but the vet tech didn't mention it. She showed me 3 ml on the syringe. I just gave Chico a dose, too. He's sneezing a lot. I'm going to call the vet tomorrow morning and ask and request that she fax a prescription to the online pharmacy. It saves me $10 to order it online, including shipping.Yeah that doesn't seem like enough.
Is it like children's medicine that is mixed to be a certain amount of medicine per ml?
LOLShe pooped on the fridge the other day, making sure I saw her.
brat! It appears that I ignored the decimal point, which is funny because that's what I'm working on with my 5th graders.I don't know. Somewhere I read that on the internet, but the vet tech didn't mention it. She showed me 3 ml on the syringe. I just gave Chico a dose, too. He's sneezing a lot. I'm going to call the vet tomorrow morning and ask and request that she fax a prescription to the online pharmacy. It saves me $10 to order it online, including shipping.
I try to time the shots between 6 and 7. The territories are so in flux since I got Cheddar. Past couple mornings I woke up with no kitties on the bed. So far, I don't hear Chloe complaining.LOLbrat!
Glad they got to the vet and you got a deal on the medicine.
Was 6pm @ +11? I think I remember that you give shots at 7? A lower dose might be needed tonight if that's the case. So your idea sounds good.
A little isolation is worth keeping Chloe healthy. Just tell her "it's because I love you!"![]()

lol. No, the syringe had the decimal points before the numbers, but I just didn't notice. They were concerned about how much water I had added. They must be feeling better because they are playing now. Just heard a sneeze.Oops! So you were supposed to give 0.3ml?
Now you have a story to share showing how important decimal points can be!
My civvie was constipated once and they gave me lactulose (I think that's what it was... The green stuff) and I thought it was an enema! I called asking how the heck I was suppose to do this at home. They had a good belly laugh over it.![]()
Aww. Have you tried holding one of them so they can smell each other? Maybe if she sees he's not mean she will come down.
Fuzma had a traumatic experience with one of my former cats and almost died. I can understand why she's afraid of other cats.Aww. Have you tried holding one of them so they can smell each other? Maybe if she sees he's not mean she will come down.
I had to keep mine separated when Chuck had trouble walking from disc space narrowing. That lasted about 3 hours. It was impossible with mine. They don't like being locked in a room and will pee on everything.
Hopefully the antibiotics have kicked in and it won't spread.
What a bounce! 555! I'll give her 1.25 as you suggested. I feel like I should have given her a .5 this morning/Sorry, I'm on vacation and didn't check in this morning.
Good call on the no shot. She will probably bounce from the low number.
Maybe try 1.25 for the blues again?
Yeah, it's hard to tell how much but without absolute proof that she was coming up (like 200+) after I would have never shot that low. I think you made the right decision. The bounce is big but she responds well to prozinc so hopefully she'll be back down soon.What a bounce! 555! I'll give her 1.25 as you suggested. I feel like I should have given her a .5 this morning/
I think you're right. Chloe is a little complicated because she's developed ketones in the 200s so her bean is trying to find the best way to keep her in good numbers. She reacts really well to ProZinc which is good but can be a bit tricky at the same time.Just wondering, if Chloe's AMPS was 45, what were her numbers during the PM cycle? Could have been very low.
I'm not worried about her much. Her behavior is normal and she eats a lot. In fact, last night I was wakened by a sound which I think was a tail thumping on an empty cat food can (in my bed). There was also a cat toy. When I came home from work today, they had knocked over all the cat food tins in the kitchen and scattered them about. I suspect that her bounce has something to do with food and treats. I will try to get a midcycle this weekend. This time of year is one of the few times that the temperature is just right to be outside and there are a lot of festivals and things going on.I think you're right. Chloe is a little complicated because she's developed ketones in the 200s so her bean is trying to find the best way to keep her in good numbers. She reacts really well to ProZinc which is good but can be a bit tricky at the same time.
Roberta, do you plan on trying to get a curve done this weekend? I would since you got the low reading. Hopefully it will show if she needs an overall reduction or just the slight reduction for anything under 200...
Yes, I believe the 1.5 probably took her too low with the blue preshot last night.@StephG Good morning, Steph. Am I right in presuming that This latest bounce is because I missed a shot a couple days ago? She was at 493 this morning and very hungry. I tried to give her insulin immediately after she ate something, but I'm afraid I pricked myself instead because she wouldn't hold still. I have to take Chico and Cheddar for their vaccinations this morning, but I will do another BG test when we get back home. Have a nice weekend.
I did get a ketone test today and it was negative. Full moons always make me a bit nervous.Yes, I believe the 1.5 probably took her too low with the blue preshot last night.
She will stay higher with the fur shot this morning but it's hard to say how much she got so I wouldn't give any more until her next shot is due. Give plenty of water and get a ketone test in.
I wonder if it's the Moon?! We had a fur shot yesterday morning. Chuck was "HI" for most of the cycle. He's finally come back down with a blue preshot this evening.