Chloe 16

Status
Not open for further replies.

srk4cats

Member Since 2017
Cheddar has worn out Chico. I don't know where Chico is, but Cheddar is having a great time entertaining himself with a toy mouse.
 
Good news: Chloe's got the blues! Bad news: Chico is sick, same as Cheddar.
Looking good! :cool: you should try to get a mid cycle just to see how low she's getting. I don't think it's too low but it's good info to have if her preshots start creeping back up or start getting lower.
I would get the others to the vet. It's common for a kitty to have a respiratory infection coming from a shelter. Whatever it is must be contagious if Chico has it now. Could be worth asking for an extra treatment for the others just in case they start showing symptoms too.
 
Looking good! :cool: you should try to get a mid cycle just to see how low she's getting. I don't think it's too low but it's good info to have if her preshots start creeping back up or start getting lower.
I would get the others to the vet. It's common for a kitty to have a respiratory infection coming from a shelter. Whatever it is must be contagious if Chico has it now. Could be worth asking for an extra treatment for the others just in case they start showing symptoms too.
Cheddar's Clavamox cost me $36 from the vet. I'm thinking of calling her to ask for another prescription, but I doubt that a vet would prescribe for a cat he or she hasn't seen. Chico is overdue for his shots, so I thought of taking him to a less expensive clinic. Vets won't give shots to sick cats though. Cheddar needs to get his 2nd round, too. Should I call Cheddar's vet and say I dropped the bottle and don't think I'll have enough for 8 days?
 
Hmm. I'm not sure. My small town vet will give a refill. They know when something is contagious it's hard to keep them from getting it. You could try the smaller vet to see if they would see both or one and give extra for the other.
They might go by the book and make them be seen. Can't hurt to ask though.
 
I wouldn't treat without symptoms unless the vet suggests it.
Chico has the symptoms: sneezing and runny eyes. I just went ahead and ordered it online, I said it was for Cheddar, which is partly true since it's only a 15 ml bottle and I was told to give him 3 ml, twice a day for 10 days. 15 ml would only last for 4-5 days unless my math is wrong.
 
Yeah that doesn't seem like enough.
Is it like children's medicine that is mixed to be a certain amount of medicine per ml?
 
Yeah that doesn't seem like enough.
Is it like children's medicine that is mixed to be a certain amount of medicine per ml?
I don't know. Somewhere I read that on the internet, but the vet tech didn't mention it. She showed me 3 ml on the syringe. I just gave Chico a dose, too. He's sneezing a lot. I'm going to call the vet tomorrow morning and ask and request that she fax a prescription to the online pharmacy. It saves me $10 to order it online, including shipping.
 
I took both Chico and Cheddar to the vet today. She wouldn't send the prescription to the online pharmacy. Instead, she sent me to a compounding pharmacy nearby, that I never knew was there. She took away the Clavamox I had diluted. Turns out they dilute it at the vet's office. So she said it was no good anymore. When I told her I could have saved $10 by ordering online, she got me a deal at the compounding pharmacy. They also offer a choice of flavors. Still, another $100 for vet stuff today.
Chloe's BG at 6 pm was only 94, so I might only give her 1 unit, depending on how much she eats. She won't like it, but I'm going to keep her isolated. Fuzma doesn't go near any of the other cats. She's on top of the kitchen cabinets right now. None of the others can jump up there, so she feels safe. She pooped on the fridge the other day, making sure I saw her.
Medication time.
 
She pooped on the fridge the other day, making sure I saw her.
LOL:eek::joyful: brat!
Glad they got to the vet and you got a deal on the medicine.
Was 6pm @ +11? I think I remember that you give shots at 7? A lower dose might be needed tonight if that's the case. So your idea sounds good.
A little isolation is worth keeping Chloe healthy. Just tell her "it's because I love you!":p
 
I don't know. Somewhere I read that on the internet, but the vet tech didn't mention it. She showed me 3 ml on the syringe. I just gave Chico a dose, too. He's sneezing a lot. I'm going to call the vet tomorrow morning and ask and request that she fax a prescription to the online pharmacy. It saves me $10 to order it online, including shipping.
It appears that I ignored the decimal point, which is funny because that's what I'm working on with my 5th graders.
 
LOL:eek::joyful: brat!
Glad they got to the vet and you got a deal on the medicine.
Was 6pm @ +11? I think I remember that you give shots at 7? A lower dose might be needed tonight if that's the case. So your idea sounds good.
A little isolation is worth keeping Chloe healthy. Just tell her "it's because I love you!":p
I try to time the shots between 6 and 7. The territories are so in flux since I got Cheddar. Past couple mornings I woke up with no kitties on the bed. So far, I don't hear Chloe complaining.
 
Oops! So you were supposed to give 0.3ml?
Now you have a story to share showing how important decimal points can be!:smuggrin:

My civvie was constipated once and they gave me lactulose (I think that's what it was... The green stuff) and I thought it was an enema! I called asking how the heck I was suppose to do this at home. They had a good belly laugh over it.:oops:
 
Oops! So you were supposed to give 0.3ml?
Now you have a story to share showing how important decimal points can be!:smuggrin:

My civvie was constipated once and they gave me lactulose (I think that's what it was... The green stuff) and I thought it was an enema! I called asking how the heck I was suppose to do this at home. They had a good belly laugh over it.:oops:
lol. No, the syringe had the decimal points before the numbers, but I just didn't notice. They were concerned about how much water I had added. They must be feeling better because they are playing now. Just heard a sneeze.
 
Ooh! Well that's good that he still got the right dose before it was watered down.
It's good that they're playing.
 
omg, it took me an hour to administer all the medications. I'm back at work this next week, so I'll have to get up while it's still dark! Fuzma hasn't come down from the kitchen cabinets yet. I think I'd better put a kitty litter and water up there.
Now it's 9:30 here and I had to let Chloe out of my room because she was wailing. Fuzma is still on the top of the cabinets, but I put a litter box where she pooped the other day.
 
Last edited:
DSC05262.JPG
 
Aww. Have you tried holding one of them so they can smell each other? Maybe if she sees he's not mean she will come down.
I had to keep mine separated when Chuck had trouble walking from disc space narrowing. That lasted about 3 hours. It was impossible with mine. They don't like being locked in a room and will pee on everything.
Hopefully the antibiotics have kicked in and it won't spread.
 
Aww. Have you tried holding one of them so they can smell each other? Maybe if she sees he's not mean she will come down.
I had to keep mine separated when Chuck had trouble walking from disc space narrowing. That lasted about 3 hours. It was impossible with mine. They don't like being locked in a room and will pee on everything.
Hopefully the antibiotics have kicked in and it won't spread.
Fuzma had a traumatic experience with one of my former cats and almost died. I can understand why she's afraid of other cats.
 
@StephG , last night, in the middle of the night, Fuzma was sleeping next to my pillow. She must have snuck past the other cats. I hadn't had much interaction with her the past few days, so I guess she missed me. Of course, Chico tried to attack her and I got a few more scratches on my hands until I locked all the other cats out. When I woke up, she was hiding under the bed in the boxspring lining. I'm still medicating Chico and Cheddar. I ran out of Cheddar's medicine less than a week in and had to go to the pharmacy to get more. I'm supposed to give them the medicine for 10 days. Chloe seems to be doing well. She had a little bounce, but I think she's back to 'normal' now. Cheddar goes after her tail, so now poor Chloe has 2 cats jumping on her. She takes it in stride. Chico and Cheddar have become quite a pair. Cheddar is like the Energizer bunny. non-stop.
 
45 this am, but otherwise normal. I will test again in an hour and decide if I should give her any insulin.
 
Sorry, I'm on vacation and didn't check in this morning.
Good call on the no shot. She will probably bounce from the low number.
Maybe try 1.25 for the blues again?
 
Just wondering, if Chloe's AMPS was 45, what were her numbers during the PM cycle? Could have been very low.
 
Sorry, I'm on vacation and didn't check in this morning.
Good call on the no shot. She will probably bounce from the low number.
Maybe try 1.25 for the blues again?
What a bounce! 555! I'll give her 1.25 as you suggested. I feel like I should have given her a .5 this morning/
 
What a bounce! 555! I'll give her 1.25 as you suggested. I feel like I should have given her a .5 this morning/
Yeah, it's hard to tell how much but without absolute proof that she was coming up (like 200+) after I would have never shot that low. I think you made the right decision. The bounce is big but she responds well to prozinc so hopefully she'll be back down soon.
Chuck has been playing games with me while I'm on vacation! He had an 82 PS and then today he was 170 this morning and 120 tonight on a dose that is 2.5 units less than he was getting when I was home! He's making my head spin! :confused:
 
Just wondering, if Chloe's AMPS was 45, what were her numbers during the PM cycle? Could have been very low.
I think you're right. Chloe is a little complicated because she's developed ketones in the 200s so her bean is trying to find the best way to keep her in good numbers. She reacts really well to ProZinc which is good but can be a bit tricky at the same time.

Roberta, do you plan on trying to get a curve done this weekend? I would since you got the low reading. Hopefully it will show if she needs an overall reduction or just the slight reduction for anything under 200...
 
I think you're right. Chloe is a little complicated because she's developed ketones in the 200s so her bean is trying to find the best way to keep her in good numbers. She reacts really well to ProZinc which is good but can be a bit tricky at the same time.

Roberta, do you plan on trying to get a curve done this weekend? I would since you got the low reading. Hopefully it will show if she needs an overall reduction or just the slight reduction for anything under 200...
I'm not worried about her much. Her behavior is normal and she eats a lot. In fact, last night I was wakened by a sound which I think was a tail thumping on an empty cat food can (in my bed). There was also a cat toy. When I came home from work today, they had knocked over all the cat food tins in the kitchen and scattered them about. I suspect that her bounce has something to do with food and treats. I will try to get a midcycle this weekend. This time of year is one of the few times that the temperature is just right to be outside and there are a lot of festivals and things going on.
 
I see she started to come down a bit. Sorry, I didn't get the notification in my email. I was on vacation and without my phone more than usual.
Keep testing for ketones, especially when she's so high.
I think you're close to the right dose for her but it seems like she might be one of the cats that needs a tiny change in dose every now and then. A curve really should be done to see what is going on during the cycle. She had a whole day of blues and probably green mid cycles then it looks like she bounced after that.
When she's that high it's important to keep her hydrated and test for ketones.
 
So I gave her a little dry food last night. It was RC Glycobalance. Sure didn't balance her glyco.
 
@StephG Good morning, Steph. Am I right in presuming that This latest bounce is because I missed a shot a couple days ago? She was at 493 this morning and very hungry. I tried to give her insulin immediately after she ate something, but I'm afraid I pricked myself instead because she wouldn't hold still. I have to take Chico and Cheddar for their vaccinations this morning, but I will do another BG test when we get back home. Have a nice weekend.
 
@StephG Good morning, Steph. Am I right in presuming that This latest bounce is because I missed a shot a couple days ago? She was at 493 this morning and very hungry. I tried to give her insulin immediately after she ate something, but I'm afraid I pricked myself instead because she wouldn't hold still. I have to take Chico and Cheddar for their vaccinations this morning, but I will do another BG test when we get back home. Have a nice weekend.
Yes, I believe the 1.5 probably took her too low with the blue preshot last night.
She will stay higher with the fur shot this morning but it's hard to say how much she got so I wouldn't give any more until her next shot is due. Give plenty of water and get a ketone test in.
I wonder if it's the Moon?! We had a fur shot yesterday morning. Chuck was "HI" for most of the cycle. He's finally come back down with a blue preshot this evening.
 
Yes, I believe the 1.5 probably took her too low with the blue preshot last night.
She will stay higher with the fur shot this morning but it's hard to say how much she got so I wouldn't give any more until her next shot is due. Give plenty of water and get a ketone test in.
I wonder if it's the Moon?! We had a fur shot yesterday morning. Chuck was "HI" for most of the cycle. He's finally come back down with a blue preshot this evening.
I did get a ketone test today and it was negative. Full moons always make me a bit nervous.
 
@StephG Good morning. How is your sugar baby? I think Chloe's been gaining weight. I can't lift her with just one hand anymore. I will try to get a midcycle today, probably at +7. After I missed a shot, I thought I would try her at 1 unit again.
 
Chuck is keeping me on my toes. His dose is slowly decreasing.
Good to hear she's gaining weight. The +7 will help see if 1 unit is working. I think it's probably a good dose for blue numbers.
I'll check back to see your +7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top