Chi Chi dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
So I am thinking a dose increase is in order and someone on the relaxed lantus forum suggested a .5 increase. I will do that tonight as Im off Tues. to monitor. Is .5 ok or .25 better?
 
If nadirs are above 300 and you've held the dose at least 2 full days, you may increase by 0.5 units.

If nadirs are lower and you've held the dose at least 3 full days, 0.25 units is an acceptable amount to increase.

Your pre-shots suggest a 0.5 unit increase might be safe. Try to get more mid-cycle tests whenever you can. Dose adjustments for insulin are based on how low the cat goes for the most part.
 
Thanks, and I know I need mid cycles but I work 6 days and its 40 min. away. Im stuck at work for a good 10 hours and in a management/director position that is just non stop! I need to figure out how to do the right thing by her if it means setting alarm at night for post pm test. I just am so hesitant waking up to do that while still half asleep, I don't function without coffee very well after I wake up. Im going to go with .25 for a few days and go from there. Seems when her amps is high, then her pmps is low and vice versa. I just feel better going up slowly since Im not here all day to check her. The nadirs I do have are not normally above 300 anyway, so hopefully .25 is enough to start the increase at.
 
Maybe see if there is a pet sitter you could hire to that once a week? Might need to train the person.

Or a. High school or college student interested in veterinary sciences might be possible. Again, you might need to train the person.

Or a vet tech who'd like to earn a bit helping you out.

Building a small cadre of trustable folks with the needed skill means you'd be prepared for an emergency if one come up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top