? Chewy Do I shoot? AMPS 73 +2 57 +8 129 PMP 136

Shannon & Chewy

Member Since 2022
Hello,
Chewy was at the vet on 10/25 for a routine check-up. He's had a few low readings but vet wanted to keep him on 3.5U. On 10/26 I learned that Chewy's BG was 64 in the blood panel and his creatinine & BUN doubled (3.4 & 60 respectively). Vet was unable to get urine from Chewy at visit and attempts at home collection were unsuccessful. We started Chewy on Baytril in case he had a UTI. He had been acting/eating normal. Vet initially thought BG was wrong (said blood may not have spun out) since his AMPS was 220 and he ate his normal breakfast 1.5 hours before the test.

His spreadsheet is up-to-date. After I learned of low BG at vet I dropped dose to 3U. I work 2 jobs and care for elderly parents so I test when I can. My mother is home all day to watch Chewy. She can give him shots but is not able to test his BG.

Today Chewy tested 73 AMPS (symptoms - extreme hunger) then 57 before I had to leave the house. He did not get AM shot. I called the vet before I left and he said to just watch Chewy and give him food. My mom fed him small meals throughout the day and said his behavior was totally normal. I tested him +8 and he was 129 and again PMPS he was 136.

Vet wanted to cut his dose to 2.5 if PMP was >200 and 1.25U if 100-199. I was thinking of giving him 1U. He ate a little less than normal this evening because he ate more during the day.

He was playful and happy today. I plan on taking him to vet on Monday and leaving him there so they can give fluids and get a urine sample.

I know I'm not testing enough but it's hard with working 16+ hours a day and helping to care for father with stage IV cancer.

I really appreciate all the help you can provide. I tried to find my earlier thread but I did not see it in my profile.
 
Thank you. Just to note the earlier thread referring to the 34 BG reading was inaccurate. The meter reading was actually 341 but my bad eyes missed the one. I found out my issue the next day. I have been more careful when looking at the meter. I think I panicked the first time and even today when I got a low reading. When does it get easier?
 
Chewy has dropped below 90 three times already and you didn't reduce by 0.25 units
With SLGS you hold a dose a week and then evaluate after doing a curve - unless he earns a reduction before that. A drop below 90 is a reduction.
 
Vet wanted to cut his dose to 2.5 if PMP was >200 and 1.25U if 100-199. I was thinking of giving him 1
I don't agree with your vet, Doses are based on how low the insulin is taking them.
We don't base doses on pre shots.
Lantus likes consistency
I'm going to tag a few members about the dose you should be giving going forward.
Maybe reduce to 2.75 or even 2.5 units or lower. I'm not an expert on giving advise on the dose
If you can get some more tests at night that would be very helpful
You are only seeing half the picture. We need to see how the insulin is working for him at night
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
After the 89 I did drop by .25 but I know I did not hold it long enough and do the curve. Vet said the numbers in black were too high and I should increase dose again. The 34 noted in earlier thread was not an accurate reading. The 64 on 10/25 was not known until after I talked with vet on 10/26 about bloodwork results. I did drop him down by .5 for the next shot even though vet said to keep dose the same. Can someone recommend what I should do moving forward? What BG is too low to shoot? Do I move to the 2.5 my vet recommended or something else? At the moment I can only do curves on weekends.
 
I know I'm not testing enough but it's hard with working 16+ hours a day and helping to care for father with stage IV cancer.
I'm sorry about your father and you have to be working 16+ hours a day, you have a lot on your plate.
If you can get a test in after PMPS say @+3 it would help, cats usually drop lower at night
Do you have a hypo kit set up med and high carb wet foods to bring his BG up
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
Take a look at the food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
I gave him some Hertz gravy packets today before I left the house. My mother offered him his Blue Buffalo kibble for most of today. I just ordered some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers to have something that I know is on the high-carb list. I do have Karo Syrup and honey.
 
I gave him some Hertz gravy packets today before I left the house. My mother offered him his Blue Buffalo kibble for most of today. I just ordered some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers to have something that I know is on the high-carb list. I do have Karo Syrup and honey.
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
After the 89 I did drop by .25 but I know I did not hold it long enough and do the curve. Vet said the numbers in black were too high and I should increase dose again. The 34 noted in earlier thread was not an accurate reading. The 64 on 10/25 was not known until after I talked with vet on 10/26 about bloodwork results. I did drop him down by .5 for the next shot even though vet said to keep dose the same. Can someone recommend what I should do moving forward? What BG is too low to shoot? Do I move to the 2.5 my vet recommended or something else? At the moment I can only do curves on weekends.
With newbies we recommend not shooting if BG is under 200
On thing can you add Alpha Trak to your signature also

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
I'm glad I decided to skip dose tonight when he was at 136. I wonder what is causing his numbers to be so low with no insulin on board. My vet is absolutely no help and he initially wanted me to jump from 3U to 4U and thankfully I found this forum before doing that. I have a question about the glucose meter. I currently use Alpha Trak 2 but want to also have a human meter since it's hard to get glucose strips in a pinch. I ran out when he hit the 89 during a curve and thankfully my brother has a diabetic cat & he gave me some strips. If I switch to Relion will it be similar to the pet meter or will I see lower/higher numbers?

I just searched on Freestyle Libre and realize I need a prescription from my vet. I will ask for that on Monday when I call to make appt for Chewie to spend the day to get urine test.
 
I'm glad I decided to skip dose tonight when he was at 136. I wonder what is causing his numbers to be so low with no insulin on board. My vet is absolutely no help and he initially wanted me to jump from 3U to 4U and thankfully I found this forum before doing that. I have a question about the glucose meter. I currently use Alpha Trak 2 but want to also have a human meter since it's hard to get glucose strips in a pinch. I ran out when he hit the 89 during a curve and thankfully my brother has a diabetic cat & he gave me some strips. If I switch to Relion will it be similar to the pet meter or will I see lower/higher numbers?

I just searched on Freestyle Libre and realize I need a prescription from my vet. I will ask for that on Monday when I call to make appt for Chewie to spend the day to get urine test.


A human meter reads much lower than a pet meter.
The normal range on a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl. On a pet meter it is a little higher 68-120 mg/dl

I'll be back with more info
 
Here is a meter from Walmart most members use , it's a human meter that's what our numbers are based on anyway. It's 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

Test strips. 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least you can run in there if you need more test strips
I have even ordered online and got everything really quick

take action" number (time to feed HC) on a human meter is 50, on an AT2 it is 68

Try and stay with one meter , if members need to look at your spreadsheet in case you need advice .

Also it's a good idea to do a new post everyday on the Lantus Board
You need to post like this
Date Chewy. AMPS # and any additional tests after that and continue with PMPS #
Link your previous days post to it
 
Last edited:
@Shannon & Chewy
Since no one was around who I tagged to suggest a dose for tomorrow morning if his BG number is high enough to give insulin I would suggest giving 2.5 units and hold that for 7 days unless he drops under 90 ,then you would need to reduce again
Doing a curve this weekend would be good

I see you mentioned CKD do you have any recent blood work you can copy and paste it here. You said you put then in your spreadsheet but I don't see them anywhere
 
@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bandit's Mom


@Bron and Sheba (GA)



@Wendy&Neko


Morning Ladies I tagged some of you last night about what does should Shannon should give Chewy this morning. If you read her posts and see what her vet has been suggesting and take a look at her SS I suggested 2.5 units, I see she gave 2 units this morning. Shannon works 2 jobs 16 hours a day plus and also takes care of her dad who has stage IV cancer so she tests as often as she can, she said she will do a curve soon. I asked her to try and get some tests after PMPS if she can.
I hope the dose I suggested was ok.
Chewy dropped into neon greens twice
Can you add anything else to help her out
She may ask her vet about the Libre. Her mom is home but can't test Chewy
Thank you ladies

Here is her new post for today 10-29
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-10-28-for-low-readings.270193/#post-3012273
 
Last edited:
Back
Top