Checking blood sugar at home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Milo's mom

Member Since 2011
Well, I got a meter. Checked his sugar first night with it. Milo did great and it was an easy process. Glad I have this to monitor him myself!
 
Fantastic! Welcome to the Vampire Club party_cat party_cat

And what was the magic number?

Next thing for us to nag about is setting up a spreadsheet so we and you and your vet can help with trends, patterns. Sign on to Google and search Templates for FDMB spreadsheet. Then follow these directions to get it set up: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 EXCEPT, when you get to the part about sharing, go over to File under the title and choose Publish to the Web. It is complicated so if you need help, just ask.
 
Thanks, I will check that out. His number last night was pretty high 379. I gave in 1.5 units and food. I checked it this morning prior to food and shot and it was at 117, much better. I am planning to check it here again in a little bit to see if he his trending up as the insulin is getting to 6 hours out from his last dose. I want to thank everyone for the support. I really wish I had gotten on here sooner, because it feels like the vets leave you running blind on this.
 
Until we can get you set with a spreadsheet, it helps to note glucose values like this:

AMPS = morning pre-shot glucose
PMPS = evening pre-shot glucose
+1 = 1 hour after insulin
+2 = 2 hours after insulin, etc.

AMPS - 117 <- it looked like this is what you meant - we recommend no shot under 200
+6 - 359
 
Bj- you have it right. Amps 117. +6 354, now it is PMPS 313. I guess I wonder how much to actually give him when the number is high. They started him at 1.5 twice a day when first diagnosis in Jan '11. It has been left to us mostly to decide to increase or not. Any help would be greatly apprieciated.
 
You really need some guidance based on how your insulin works. What kind are you using?

Generally, we advise new diabetics not to shoot under 200 but to wait 20 minutes without feeding, test again and if the number is rising over 200 to then consider a shot. With some insulins like ProZinc, we would suggest lowering the dose. With Lantus or Levemir, the advice might be different - those insulins have doses based on midcycle numbers.

It may be that your numbers are higher now because he is bouncing from a low number before that preshot of 176. When they go lower than usual, their body can release extra glucose that artifically brings the number up.

We would be glad to guide you with dosing. We have insulin support groups and specific info based on how that insulin works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top