Barb & Checkers (GA)
Member Since 2009
Hi LL
I haven't updated Checkers in a while, because I can't do Google SS, and there would be no way for an advisor to see his over-all picture.
However, since Kathy's Kitty is having a dental today, it seemed appropriate to tell Check's story of late.
I told how in Sept, he saw the nasty doc. It was because Checks wasn't feeling well, and his bg was rising, after being in remission for 3 months.
His renal values were not bad, but not good, at that time. After much research, I decided to keep him on the FancyFeast he liked, instead of low phos foods that he refused.
I knew in my heart at that time, he had a dental problem, but his regular vet, was reluctant to do anesthesia, because of the effect it would have on his smooshed disk, when it wore off.
Checks had to go back on insulin. He required only .25, or less. Tricky yes, but with no insilin, he stayed in high 200's
I started a SS on 9/28, but gave up, when it kept freezing my puter.
Last couple weeks I noticed Checks breath smelled like a sewer. Took him back to Dr Dave, and insisted on a dental!
Told him I accept the risks. He listened to me this time, only because he's known me for years and trusts my judgement with Checkers.
My baby had 3 abscesses. One canine tooth was draining pus, from under the gum. So 3 extractions.
I came home with Bupe.....(we don't do Metacam). I used it the day after surgery, and he was sedated all day.
Second day, I saw from Checks body language that he was in pain in his back, just as doc Dave said he would.
Gave bupe....was sedated
For the four days after surgery, his bg soared into the 300's . Terrifying for a cat that was OTJ only 3 months ago.
So getting a preshot of 400, 4 days after surgery, I was suspicious of the antibiotic..Clindamycin.
My DD did some research and found out that Clindamycin is 10% sucrose. It doesn't tell you that on the bottle.
I have raised Checks dose a bit to compensate, because he needs the antibiotic....can't stop that.
I raised his lantus dose a bit to compensate.
I keep a detailed journal for Checkers, but wish with all my heart, that I could use the Google SS.
I still can't sit for very long at a time, so don't respond often to condos, so don't feel that I should be expecting others to look at mine.
I wanted to get this up, in case Kitty comes home with AB, Kathy wouldn't be shocked if Kitty's numbers go up.
I haven't updated Checkers in a while, because I can't do Google SS, and there would be no way for an advisor to see his over-all picture.
However, since Kathy's Kitty is having a dental today, it seemed appropriate to tell Check's story of late.
I told how in Sept, he saw the nasty doc. It was because Checks wasn't feeling well, and his bg was rising, after being in remission for 3 months.
His renal values were not bad, but not good, at that time. After much research, I decided to keep him on the FancyFeast he liked, instead of low phos foods that he refused.
I knew in my heart at that time, he had a dental problem, but his regular vet, was reluctant to do anesthesia, because of the effect it would have on his smooshed disk, when it wore off.
Checks had to go back on insulin. He required only .25, or less. Tricky yes, but with no insilin, he stayed in high 200's
I started a SS on 9/28, but gave up, when it kept freezing my puter.
Last couple weeks I noticed Checks breath smelled like a sewer. Took him back to Dr Dave, and insisted on a dental!
Told him I accept the risks. He listened to me this time, only because he's known me for years and trusts my judgement with Checkers.
My baby had 3 abscesses. One canine tooth was draining pus, from under the gum. So 3 extractions.
I came home with Bupe.....(we don't do Metacam). I used it the day after surgery, and he was sedated all day.
Second day, I saw from Checks body language that he was in pain in his back, just as doc Dave said he would.
Gave bupe....was sedated
For the four days after surgery, his bg soared into the 300's . Terrifying for a cat that was OTJ only 3 months ago.
So getting a preshot of 400, 4 days after surgery, I was suspicious of the antibiotic..Clindamycin.
My DD did some research and found out that Clindamycin is 10% sucrose. It doesn't tell you that on the bottle.
I have raised Checks dose a bit to compensate, because he needs the antibiotic....can't stop that.
I raised his lantus dose a bit to compensate.
I keep a detailed journal for Checkers, but wish with all my heart, that I could use the Google SS.
I still can't sit for very long at a time, so don't respond often to condos, so don't feel that I should be expecting others to look at mine.
I wanted to get this up, in case Kitty comes home with AB, Kathy wouldn't be shocked if Kitty's numbers go up.