Checkers & Dental. Long, sorry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi LL
I haven't updated Checkers in a while, because I can't do Google SS, and there would be no way for an advisor to see his over-all picture.
However, since Kathy's Kitty is having a dental today, it seemed appropriate to tell Check's story of late.

I told how in Sept, he saw the nasty doc. It was because Checks wasn't feeling well, and his bg was rising, after being in remission for 3 months.
His renal values were not bad, but not good, at that time. After much research, I decided to keep him on the FancyFeast he liked, instead of low phos foods that he refused.

I knew in my heart at that time, he had a dental problem, but his regular vet, was reluctant to do anesthesia, because of the effect it would have on his smooshed disk, when it wore off.

Checks had to go back on insulin. He required only .25, or less. Tricky yes, but with no insilin, he stayed in high 200's
I started a SS on 9/28, but gave up, when it kept freezing my puter.

Last couple weeks I noticed Checks breath smelled like a sewer. Took him back to Dr Dave, and insisted on a dental!
Told him I accept the risks. He listened to me this time, only because he's known me for years and trusts my judgement with Checkers.

My baby had 3 abscesses. One canine tooth was draining pus, from under the gum. So 3 extractions.

I came home with Bupe.....(we don't do Metacam). I used it the day after surgery, and he was sedated all day.
Second day, I saw from Checks body language that he was in pain in his back, just as doc Dave said he would.
Gave bupe....was sedated
For the four days after surgery, his bg soared into the 300's . Terrifying for a cat that was OTJ only 3 months ago.

So getting a preshot of 400, 4 days after surgery, I was suspicious of the antibiotic..Clindamycin.

My DD did some research and found out that Clindamycin is 10% sucrose. It doesn't tell you that on the bottle.

I have raised Checks dose a bit to compensate, because he needs the antibiotic....can't stop that.
I raised his lantus dose a bit to compensate.

I keep a detailed journal for Checkers, but wish with all my heart, that I could use the Google SS.
I still can't sit for very long at a time, so don't respond often to condos, so don't feel that I should be expecting others to look at mine.

I wanted to get this up, in case Kitty comes home with AB, Kathy wouldn't be shocked if Kitty's numbers go up.
 
Barb:

You can get the AB compounded as a liquid without sucrose. You just have to go through a compounding pharmacy.

If you need to, set up a SS on Excel. It's not perfect because not everyone may have Excel but it will give you a means of getting your SS into people's hands. Alternatively, there are other ways to handle a Google doc. I'll PM you a suggestion.

Has Checkers seen a veterinary orthopedist? One of my friend's cats had back surgery for a disk problem.
 
((((((((Barb)))))))) I'm so sorry to hear about Checker's problems. How long ago was his dental? Is he getting any better? Very interesting on the Clindamycin, thanks for the info. I hope this takes care of his BGs and he is feeling better soon.
 
Thank you Ann. His dental was on Wed. He's feeling very well. Eating like a little piggy.
His back hurt the day after surgery, but he is back to running and jumping.
His bg is coming down to nice blues, which I'm pleased with for now.
 
Sienne, I honestly don't remember what doc Dave said about surgery, at the time of diagnosis. He gave me a copy of the disk, and it looks hideous to me, but I'm not medically trained, so it's probbly not as bad as it looks to me.

He is very active and playful, so it doesn't hurt constantly.
Dr Dave explained about anestesia relaxing the body so completely, that when he woke and things went back to normal, it could cause him pain. How's that for medical details? :lol:
That's what did happen, but thankfully, it was for only one day.
He is back to jumping in tub and up on sink for water. He is very active.

I made an excel spreadsheet, but didn't know how I could share it.
Gonna go look at PM.
 
You can try sharing the SS by uploading it. If when you start a new post, below the text box, there is a blue box with 2 tabs -- one tab says "Options" and the other says "Upload attachment." You can then click on the Browse button, find your Excel SS, and then click on the "Add the file" button. You'll then want to click on the "insert inline" button and it will include the SS in your post. The hassle with this is that the SS isn't attached to your signature. You have to re-post the SS every day.

The other option I sent you a PM about is much easier.
 
Easier, indeed. :lol:
I think I'll just start updating the Google SS. It'll take all day, but I really thought when his numbers started rising it would be a temporary thing, and wouldn't need it.
Yikes, I started it on Sept 28. That's a lot of updating.
Dr Dave even told me to buy the vial, and not the pens, because Checks wouldnt' be on it long. That was in Sept
when I first asked for the dental.
 
Hi barb,

So glad to hear that checkers went through the dental just fine and got rid of those nasty teeth that were bothering him! Also happy to hear his back problems only lasted that first day, and now he is back to being happy and active ..

I hope that with those bad teeth gone his insulin needs will become even smaller and eventually he'll be back in his condo at the falls!
 
Me too Devon. It's a shock to wake up to find him on the nasty red floor, after being in remission. Once a diabetic, always a diabetic. It seems it doesn't take much to get those numbers back up.
 
Barb Hope this is just a blip in the road & your baby will be back in good numbers again--So gald Checkers i well again!!!
We still Lubs you here!! Hugs from us!!
 
Hi Barb - I am so sorry for all the problems checkers has had, but am very glad that he is on the mend - with his dental, and his back. I expect he'll be back in remission soon. But I know too: once a diabetic always a diabetic. It doesn't take much to need a little assistance again. I have no doubt that he will be back at the falls soon. I am glad that you insisted upon a dental - poor Checkers! I am sure that his mouth feels so much better. It is good to read that he is his old self again.

I hope you are doing OK too. We think of you guys often, hope that all i well.

Happy Holidays to you and your family!
 
Hi, Barb,

Thanks for taking the time to update us. So sorry you've had this tough road. I appreciate the warning about the sucrose in Clindamyacin. I will be sure to check that out (no pun intended!).

I, for one, would love to see updates on Checkers, whether or not you can visit other condos! We like to know how you and Checkers are doing.

I also wanted to mention about the SS... if you can download the Google Chrome browser, you might find that the Google Docs works better. I had the same problem with Google Docs while using Explorer, but it's much easier with Chrome.

Vines to Checkers! Maybe he'll get back to the Falls now that his teeth have been fixed up.
 
Nice update - glad Checkers is getting better. He will be back on track soon. Just a bump in the road. As for the Google SS, I gave up a long time ago. Sometimes I can post, sometimes I can't. Oh well. Hope your back is doing better. Have a gret holiday.
 
Iz ma Barbie-Doll an' Chexman!!!!!!!
I SO es-cited to seez u...eben if cuz not fun newz!!!

Hi, guyz!
Binks


Hello, Hello, Hello!!

Good to see you...I've missed you guys so much :-D

Poor handsome devil and his toofers...but it sounds like he is feeling pretty spunky :-D
Boy, wait until Binks gets over his thrill at seeing you and realizes that not all kitties who return
from the falls can blame it on their bean's bad behavior :shock: :? :oops: .

Binks' revisitation of the "Needle days" was due to access to the Bad Foodies.

How is your back feeling, Barb? Are the holidays treating you well?

Seems to me like once he gets on a sugarless AB, he'll be back OTJ quickly. (anti-jinx)

Is the effect on his disc from the anesthesia temporary?
(Bet you didn't think you'd post a condo just to have to deal with 20 Questions from Celi) :lol:

Sending you a big hug from me, and big sloppy kisses to Chex from the Grey Brat Boy!

cat-hug-missed-you-M.jpg
 
(((Barb)))

I'm so glad you posted to let us know what was going on and I'm sorry Checks is back on the juice but I hope it will only be for a very short time. Good catch on the clindamycin!!!

I'm sure he will feel so much better to have those teeth out of his mouth and I hope his numbers will come back down.

Please PM me if I can help you with your SS. I've been helping newbies and will call you and try to help if I can.

I also hope you are doing much better and are not having so much back pain.
 
Thanks for the support, Ladies. I always feel odd, posting occasionally, even tho I lurk every day. It takes me too long to respond, because of the slow dialup.
Thank you Marje. My problem with the SS is just 'cause of the slow 'puter. I have the SS all set up.
I'll start working on it again.

My back feels great most of the time....as long as I stay on my feet. Sitting squooshes it, that's all. When I told that to the neuro doc, he said "Dont sit". DUH!

Hey Binksy, Checkers said to give you a holler. He was really happy that you got back to the Falls. He was jealous and didn't want to talk about it. Shame, what a friend, he is. *grin*
 
Miz Barbie-
Tellz Chexter De B HATED goin' bak ona jooce...
I knowz jus' how he feelz!
Mebbe him an' me canz jus' talkz about makeup or hairdooz
Or dem Turdie-gurlz :evil: :-D :-D
Binks
 
BTW...that temp agency quandary I told you about in email...

I went in this morning and told them about my job interview coming up Thursday
and they sent me home! :shock: :shock:
I felt like i always used to in grade school-
I got sent home A LOT back then...
(I know...I know...hard to believe) :lol: :lol:
 
Hi Barb & Checkers,

Wow, what a story! I'm very glad that Checkers got rid of those bad teeth and is feeling better. Hey Checks--now you've got to get those bgs back down, OK? I think it's good for all of us to be reminded that our kitties, even if they are in remission, are still diabetics.
Good luck with your spreadsheet, Barb. I know how difficult it must be dealing with dial-up. Would satellite be a solution? I know a number of people who use HughesNet. Also, Google docs. has a mobile version (intended for phones and tablets) that doesn't take as much of whatever it is that is needed for the regular computer version. I don't know if you can use this on a dial-up connection, but it's worth a try. Also, you might ask the Google support site for a workaround.

It is so nice to hear from you. Thank you for your visits to Rusty's condo and for sending encouragement. We miss your daily condos, but we want to see Checkers back in his condo at the Falls very soon.

Wishing you all the best for the Holidays,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top