Chase 4/2 AMPS:97, +4:114, +12:50, PMPS:62, +3:68

Status
Not open for further replies.
I disagree. He might be telling us that is exactly what he's ready for. This has the look of a bit of an inverted curve to me and since we know he doesn't need more insulin because of all the green, it might be his way of telling us he's done.

Let's see what the rest of the cycle looks like.
 
Wow! So are you thinking of shooting?

Here is what I am thinking: if he stays in normal numbers tonight, he will have been in normal numbers, almost all below 100, for 7 days which means he would be ready to go off the insulin and start a trial tomorrow morning.

So...options:
  • you could shoot the 50 and monitor closely tonight
  • you could skip and see what he does
  • you could stall 30 minutes and see if he makes the decision for you. If he rises, shoot; if he drops below 50, it’s time for a trial.
I’m not surprised by this. I was pretty certain that was an inverted curve today.
 
Chase is looking great. I imagine Marje will be along before too long with the OTJ trial directions. For now, just skip your morning shot and as long as he's green in the morning, go have a nice day without poking!
 
Here you go! How exciting!!!!!!!

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

WOOOOOOOT! Go Chase go! You got this!
 
Thank you, Marje. His PS numbers today are barely in the green, but they ARE in the green. I guess tomorrow will be the real judge because the depot will have drained... right?
 
Thank you, Marje. His PS numbers today are barely in the green, but they ARE in the green. I guess tomorrow will be the real judge because the depot will have drained... right?
Think about it like this: he's in normal numbers and his body does not know the difference between 60 and 100. Sometimes we actually see numbers improve during a trial.

So be happy today!!!!
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top