charly | mpzm

Just checking in on Charly this evening. So far so good. We will see what tomorrow brings. What is your new shot time now? I think you have moved it a bit?
 
Just checking in on Charly this evening. So far so good. We will see what tomorrow brings. What is your new shot time now? I think you have moved it a bit?
I'm moving it back 15 minutes a cycle / 30 minutes a day. until we get to 7:30. I've moved some commitments around to get a better shot time and hopefully more sleep.

and yes so far so good. the behavioural signs are continuing to look positive too. i think she definitely is more comfortable than she has been. plus her weight has been creeping up the last few days.

we are feeling positive at the moment:)
 
Last edited:
I’m so impatient to see better numbers on her spreadsheet. I probably shouldn’t say that, but I keep anxiously checking. Hoping today is going to be the day!
 
I’m so impatient to see better numbers on her spreadsheet. I probably shouldn’t say that, but I keep anxiously checking. Hoping today is going to be the day!
i feel like they are coming soon. i hope you are not getting to anxious - it is tough enough with one diabetic cat I dont know how you cope with so many that you are watching out for!
 
no blue yet. i'm getting anxious again too!

i think she is due for the next increase this evening?
 
I see slight improvement. Yes, she’s ready for the increase tonight. I feel like I am holding my breath for a blue number. It’s coming.
 
Oh boy. She must be feeling better. Poor mouse. It’s good she didn’t eat it though because she could get parasites. I hope she doesn’t wander far out of doors.
 
I saw this message and got really excited. She did very well with a nice long run in yellow. And she came very close to blue. It’s going to happen. She’s making us work for it! I think you need sleep!
 
yes - so close! I'm not going to be able to get any mid cycle tests done on this mornings cycle unfortunately.

And then this evening it is time to increase again?
 
Would it be better for you to increase tomorrow morning instead of tonight?
Probably tonight is easier. I will definitely be around for the midcycle tonight - tomorrow I may have to work.

its good to see yellow late in the cycle this morning. its a shame i couldn't get earlier readings today. I wonder if I missed the blue.
 
Last edited:
We made it! How good that looks on her spreadsheet! Is she feeling okay? I am so glad you were able to put that on her chart! I feel so relieved and excited. And to think that you almost lost her. I feel grateful to be a part of her recovery even though we are an ocean away.
 
yes its great to see isn't it! charly looks to be feeling pretty happy this morning too. she just ran up the stairs for a first time in a long time!

thanks so much for your help in getting her this far. i don't think we would be making such good progress if it were just me and the vet planning her recovery. thank you:)
 
do you think she is safe to leave now for a few hours? I have things I really should be going out to do!
 
How long until +6? I do think she will not dop into any dangerous territory… she would have to drop more than 100 points from her last test. If you must go out, then just feed her a small amount of her regular food and that should help stabilize her.
 
still an hour til +6. i'll test her again in half an hour and if she is around the same I will give her a little extra food and head out.
 
i'm a bit short on testing strips so less testing than usual at the moment. more arriving tomorrow. plus its nice to be able to give her ears a little break!

i think the few tests we do have since the blue numbers look quite encouraging? she doesn't seem to be bouncing too high or too long.

i will get a +5 and +6 today. then we are ready to increase again tonight?
 
She’s doing really well. :) If her nadir is about the same as yesterday then I would go ahead with the increase tonight. When the blues come down into the little bit lower range, we will slow down on the increases a bit and see how things settle. She’s already had an almost mid-blue number (7 February 166 @+5) How is her walking/jumping?
 
ok sounds good.

she's definitely less wobbly on her feet. and showing the occasional burst of (relative) speed around the house.

shes actually jumping less than she has been but I think thats possibly because shes less hungry. most of her jumping lately has been on to tables and worktops in search of food. i'm glad she seems to be over that phase. barely walking but still jumping was a nerve wracking to watch!

she can still jump up and down to the chair she likes to sleep on no problems. i'm waitng for her to jump back onto the radiators she used to love sitting on.
 
That will definitely be a good indicator of her feeling well — if the radiators were a favorite spot. She likes the warmth.
 
we are going to check in with the vet again this week. i'm thinking to ask her for fructosamine test and also for her to take a look at her teeth and gums as i have noticed she is chewing on one side occassionally. vet is also keen to do a urine test. i'm not sure if this gives us any additional info above the blood tests we've been doing?

I think a few week or two back when I mentioned her wobbly back legs you said you take a look at her blood results? did you get a chance to take a look? is there anything else there that we should be thinking about? thank you!!
 
A urine test can tell if she’s spilling glucose into her urine or not. You could do this with a dipstick yourself at home if you have the glucose strips. Also the vet can check the usual stuff like…. is there any bacteria in there or protein in the urine, but from a diabetes standpoint it would be glucose they’d be looking for. I don’t know that it’s necessary?

It’s a good idea to have her teeth checked. Hopefully she doesn’t need a dental.
Did you get the +5 or +6 today?

Labs are on her spreadsheet labs tab? I will look today.
 
thanks. yes, I got the +5 and +6. yes the blood test from 4th Jan is on the labs tab. this was when she was diagnosed and 4 days after the steroid jab.

no i'm not sure the tests are necessary. i'm thinking we will get them done more to reassure the vet than anything. so she is onside and not working just from my home test results.
 
Last edited:
Very similar to yesterday’s cycle. Almost blue at +6. Good luck with the increase to 2.25. I am optimistic.
Do your ketone strips also test for glucose in the urine?
 
Very similar to yesterday’s cycle. Almost blue at +6. Good luck with the increase to 2.25. I am optimistic.
Do your ketone strips also test for glucose in the urine?
no. looks like they only test for ketones. but i can get some glucose one to add to our collection.
 
Oh. I remember now. I looked at those labs briefly, but there’s no reference interval so I wasn’t able to determine too much. If those were in U.S. numbers I could I would have a better idea, but each lab has their own reference intervals anyway, so it’s best to have those listed. I remember at the time I was going to ask you about it, but I was probably trying to not task you with a whole bunch of other things to do when you were just getting started. If the ones in bold are high then I can see that her glucose (naturally) was high, her liver enzymes (ALT) was high, phosphorus was high, bilirubin was high and alkaline phosphatase was high. Hopefully those high values have come down. A lot of times when they’re newly diagnosed, their electrolytes will be out of whack and some of the other values will be wonky as well. She also had a near fatal experience from the steroid shot, so who knows how that may have affected her blood values overall? If the vet does think that she needs a dental cleaning/tooth extraction, I would get bloodwork done prior to the procedure so that you know if it’s safe for her to undergo general anesthesia.

Does she turn her head to one side when she eats?
 
She was 226 this morning at amps. If I was home all day I think I would have shot as normal and monitored closely but I am going out and leaving her with caregiver who is new to all this. So we stalled for an hour and shot the full dose later when she was at 301

I hope we did ok!
 
She was 226 this morning at amps. If I was home all day I think I would have shot as normal and monitored closely but I am going out and leaving her with caregiver who is new to all this. So we stalled for an hour and shot the full dose later when she was at 301

I hope we did ok!
It’s all right. I understand your hesitation. Now you can see that she was at the end of the action of the previous night’s injection and her numbers were going up. Remember when you are stalling to see if her numbers are going up, don’t feed her (or that middies the waters.) With that AMPS (the first one) she is showing such good progress!
 
Be sure to put the 226 in the AMPS cell and then under it put +60 and the 301 so it’s evident that you stalled for 60 min. When you put extra information in the cells, you then have to manually color code the cell background color and sometimes the text color (depending upon the color.) Then write something in the remarks about how you stalled for one hour. You could also put an asterisk next to the 301 and then put the note in the remarks. Some people will just put 226/301 in the cell with an asterisk.

Have a good day.
 
ok will do. yes she seems to be making really good progress these last few days. she was acting much more like her old self last night and this morning. the best she has been since diagnosis.

she is looking a little less comfortable this afternoon. perhaps she is bouncing a little from lows last night.

fully stocked with testing strips again now!
 
Oh. I remember now. I looked at those labs briefly, but there’s no reference interval so I wasn’t able to determine too much. If those were in U.S. numbers I could I would have a better idea, but each lab has their own reference intervals anyway, so it’s best to have those listed. I remember at the time I was going to ask you about it, but I was probably trying to not task you with a whole bunch of other things to do when you were just getting started. If the ones in bold are high then I can see that her glucose (naturally) was high, her liver enzymes (ALT) was high, phosphorus was high, bilirubin was high and alkaline phosphatase was high. Hopefully those high values have come down. A lot of times when they’re newly diagnosed, their electrolytes will be out of whack and some of the other values will be wonky as well. She also had a near fatal experience from the steroid shot, so who knows how that may have affected her blood values overall? If the vet does think that she needs a dental cleaning/tooth extraction, I would get bloodwork done prior to the procedure so that you know if it’s safe for her to undergo general anesthesia.

Does she turn her head to one side when she eats?
yes she chews to one side occasionally when she eats. its something shes started doing the last couple of days now she is eating a bit more slowly and less ravenously.

thank you - yes the bold numbers are out of range. i guess best would be to get more bloods done at some point and see if they have come down. if she does need a dental we can presumably do that then.

oh. and she is asthmatic. diagnosed about 8 years ago and uses a flixotide inhaler. I forgot to mention that with everything else going on!
 
Last edited:
I have an asthmatic cat who also uses a Flixotide inhaler!

Just add asthma to your signature and put Flixotide inhaler on there since the signature is the place to list medical conditions/medications.

Was she ever on oral steroids for the asthma? Before being diagnosed with FD?
 
is yours good with the inhaler? I thought it might be difficult getting charly to use it but she has always been great with it! no she never was on oral steroids. always the inhaler.
 
do we increase again this evening?

Her numbers haven't returned to blue the last few days but behaviourally she's doing well

Drinking and urination seem pretty normal now.
She's still hungry but not 24x7 obsessed by food any more. And showing an increasing range or normal behaviours, scratching, stretching, cleaning herself etc.

And she's more difficult to test and jab!
 
is yours good with the inhaler? I thought it might be difficult getting charly to use it but she has always been great with it! no she never was on oral steroids. always the inhaler.
I did a little bit of training with my cat on the Aerokat inhaler and she tolerates it pretty well. She sometimes gets impatient and moves her head around while I am counting her breaths. She comes to sit down next to me whenever she hears me shaking the Flixotide actuator. She knows she will get treats.
 
Back
Top