Charlie’s Numbers (cont’d)

This is my opinion You had a green preshot this morning. You also had a nadir of 66 yesterday. I would hold his current dose for a couple more cycles to see if his preshots continue to be green or lowering. With a nadir of 66, you don't have a lot of wiggle room for an increase. And we don't even know where he was at +4 so it could have been a little lower. So I would like to see if this is an outlier or if this is a trend for Charlie. Okay?
 
Can you get a +2 today or will you be gone at the appointment? Also, tell me you are giving him a +2 snack still? What are his regular snack times now? I know we've talked about this a lot, but I just want to confirm the current feeding/snack schedule.
 
Can you get a +2 today or will you be gone at the appointment? Also, tell me you are giving him a +2 snack still? What are his regular snack times now? I know we've talked about this a lot, but I just want to confirm the current feeding/snack schedule.
Oh it is more than fine with me to wait and see. Yes, still snacks. I have been giving him a snack every time I test him up to +6. His appetite is still very good and he quickly learned to expect those snacks. We will keep up those pep talks too.

Yes, I will do the +2 @ 9:30 just before I leave.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Realized I didn’t answer your question about the +2 snack correctly. Since I went on the +3, +6, +9 testing, I have not given him a snack at +2. He will get one today since I am testing him at +2. Should I regularly be giving him one at +2?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Realized I didn’t answer your question about the +2 snack correctly. Since I went on the +3, +6, +9 testing, I have not given him a snack at +2. He will get one today since I am testing him at +2. Should I regularly be giving him one at +2?
I think it would be a great idea to give a small snack at +2. He tends to nadir a little early sometimes.
 
And it would be a good idea to sometimes vary your testing times and do a +2, +4 and +6 on some days so we can get more of the checkerboard filled in.
 
Well Charlie tends to do things a little differently. You can vary it on different days as to when you test. Just see how it goes. Talk to you later.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy , @Marje and Gracie - we are still plugging away. Charlie is being consistent. I am going to try for the next few nights to get some readings in past +2 but just to let you know, there is the possibility there might not be any. Had a shot on Tuesday @ doctor which didn’t help a weird rash I have on my arm so I now have to take meds which likely are going to make me very sleepy. Hoping not to have to take them but for a few nights (like 2-3). Just wanted to give a heads up just in case I am a little lax at night with his readings. If his +2 is low, then I will make sure I test even if it means ditching my meds for a night.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy , @Marje and Gracie - we are still plugging away. Charlie is being consistent. I am going to try for the next few nights to get some readings in past +2 but just to let you know, there is the possibility there might not be any. Had a shot on Tuesday @ doctor which didn’t help a weird rash I have on my arm so I now have to take meds which likely are going to make me very sleepy. Hoping not to have to take them but for a few nights (like 2-3). Just wanted to give a heads up just in case I am a little lax at night with his readings. If his +2 is low, then I will make sure I test even if it means ditching my meds for a night.
Charlie is doing great and I don’t want you to worry a bit about him right now — he is very stable and consistent in his numbers. He is having amazingly good cycles. If you need to take some medication for a while then you should take it. You have to take care of yourself or you cannot take care of Charlie. Thanks for letting us know!
 
And I am so sorry about your rash. It sounds like it is an odd thing that does not respond to treatment? I hope it heals!

Thanks! Yes, so grateful for how well he is doing. The rash is odd. First was in 3 totally different places and did not look exactly alike - now only on one arm but drives me crazy. Dermatologist told me that they have had an unusually large amount of people coming in with rashes and they don’t know why or what is causing them.
 
Thanks! Yes, so grateful for how well he is doing. The rash is odd. First was in 3 totally different places and did not look exactly alike - now only on one arm but drives me crazy. Dermatologist told me that they have had an unusually large amount of people coming in with rashes and they don’t know why or what is causing them.
COVID vaccine?
 
I only asked because my husband had a very bad reaction to one and it caused a very strange rash that lasted a long time — all over his body though. Maybe there’s something viral causing these things? Anyway, I hope yours will clear up very quickly!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy , @Marje and Gracie - we are still plugging away. Charlie is being consistent. I am going to try for the next few nights to get some readings in past +2 but just to let you know, there is the possibility there might not be any. Had a shot on Tuesday @ doctor which didn’t help a weird rash I have on my arm so I now have to take meds which likely are going to make me very sleepy. Hoping not to have to take them but for a few nights (like 2-3). Just wanted to give a heads up just in case I am a little lax at night with his readings. If his +2 is low, then I will make sure I test even if it means ditching my meds for a night.
Thank you for letting us know. Charlie is doing outstanding!

I’m sorry about the rash and hope you feel better soon.
 
I only asked because my husband had a very bad reaction to one and it caused a very strange rash that lasted a long time — all over his body though. Maybe there’s something viral causing these things? Anyway, I hope yours will clear up very quickly!

your poor husband. So many weird things from the vax. Cannot imagine it being everywhere! Thanks for well wishes. I am ready for it to go away. :)
 
No rush for a reply at all. Back in the saddle again. Finally found something to make my rash not itch - Biofreeze-like product with CBD oil in it of all things. So now I can start testing Charlie again at night although he just seems to be a mirror image for the most part of the day. Do we need more current data - was wondering if I stay the course at .25 with him or try barely over but not quite .5.

P.S. So at his +6 test today, I see he is trying to show off @ 78 which probably makes my earlier question moot.
 
Last edited:
He is seeing very good greens on this dose. Not just today but on many other days. I would hold the dose longer because of the lowish greens in some areas of the spreadsheet. . If you do increase, then you may find yourself working very hard to keep him above 50. It is a strategy that can be employed, but for now I think I would like to see him continue this dose for a while longer.
 
Sounds good. It is so nice that ya’ll take the time, compassion and energy to give us guidance, confidence and security in our cats’ care. Thx as always.
 
Back
Top