thanks for the profile. A spreadsheet will be the next thing you'll want to figure out. That will really help people review the dosing/BG history so that they can give you advice. See
viewforum.php?f=6 for spreadsheet setup info.
RECAP
-----------------------
9/23: pmps-555. 1u
9/24: amps-465. 1u
Pmps-456. 1u
9/25: amps-436. 1u
9/25- pmps:436. 1u
9/26- amps: 386. 1u
+6: 445 ( this was 1.5 hours after a meal of kibbles, still working on a switch to low-carb kibbles, and gradually adding in wet food, especially for his food that's given between shots)
9/26: pmps-497. 1.5 u
9/27: amps-549. 1.5 u
+5: 374...this was 40 minutes after a small meal (1/3 can) of wheat-free fancy feast.
My thoughts
------------------
Caveat: I haven't used PZI in several years; I use Levemir. My experience with PZI was that it just didn't last the full 12 hours for my cat even when he was at a good dose. Your cat may or may not get 12 hour duration. If not, a longer acting insulin should be considered. There is a PZI group here that obviously has much more recent experience than me. Check out the
PZI Stickyif you haven't yet.
1. you're just starting out. This isn't a race. It is going to take some time. Frustrating and scary -- I know. You want to fix things now, but you don't want to increase the insulin too quickly because you can miss the right dose, and get into a rebound situation. Or worse, a sudden hypo! Your cat's body hasn't had a chance to really get used to insulin yet. Also, the body's tissues are still thoroughly saturated with sugar, due to the protracted time that Charlie's had hyperglycemia (high BG). This high BG can actually lead to some insulin resistance -- this is called
glucose toxicity. I'd recommend the method of gradual increase of insulin, supported by testing data.
2. mid cycle testing, and a curve (say on the weekend) will provide you more info. If you are working, maybe drink a big glass of water before bed. You'll wake up in the night and you could test the cat then. :lol:
3. can you expedite the transition to wet food? I broke Danny's resistance to dry food by feeding people tuna (in water) for a week or so. You can't do it long term (not nutritionally balanced) but feeding meat will give your cat a diet that is pretty much zero carbs, and this will bring down the BG. Chicken breast simmered in water is also a good option, and is great for hydrating the cat. Not to mention, feeding the tuna or chicken as treats/snacks while testing will definitely get your cat in the mindset that testing means yummy treats.
4. The +5 drop on 9/27 was something like 175 points. That shows the insulin is having a good effect. If the dose goes much higher, my concern is that the drop rate will be steep, and that alone can cause rebound. The body feels the BG dropping rapidly and dumps glucose to try to protect itself. That makes the BG higher, and if the response is to add more and more insulin, you can set yourself up for a sudden hypo.
5. Ketostix are really important during this time to keep an eye out for ketones. Best to catch it early as possible -- less dangerous for the cat, and much cheaper to treat. Ketones can develop in hours. Keeping the cat hydrated is really important. Simmering chicken breast in enough water to cover will make a great no-salt chicken broth. Served warm (like what you'd give a baby), cats just love it.
6. did the vet check to see if the cat has a urinary infection or dental problems? The saturation of glucose in the body also means very sugary saliva and urine, and that is very conducive to infection and to dental plaque. Germs just love sugar. Infection and/or pain can definitely elevate the BG.
hope this helps,
laur