Charlie Amps 490 :( then got a fur shot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Morning friends. So this am Charlie's amps was 490. I gave 2 u r sc then the 4 u lantus but his fur was wet after the lantus so I don't think he got any of that one. He's at work with me now to monitor. I'm feeling discouraged due to the high amps plus the fur shot. Can he get humulin r to get him to pm lantus? Advice? Thanks as always!
 
There could have been some insulin on the syringe vs. having given a fur shot. I'd wait to see what the next test looks like before giving any additional R.

Is there any way you can routinely get a before bed test?
 
Will get a bedtime bg tonight. We ended up giving him another lantus at +3. Thanks for the advice :)
 
so your next Lantus shot is due 12 hrs after the shot at +3. Don't shoot at the regular time - you have to account for that 3 hrs.

for the future, if you have a fur shot (which everyone does sometimes), don't reshoot, just let it go for that cycle or use R to address the HI, for example. the concern is that if some got in, and then you reshoot, you could overdose him.

I just told someone else - i promise that we really don't get a commission for getting people to do night cycle tests. :lol: we're all volunteers! they're just so critical to being able to know what to do with the dose. If you can get 4 cycles in a row with a mid-cycle test in all the cycles, we could increase him every 4 cycles if the numbers tell us to. Maybe you can skip some of those daytime tests and do one or two in the evening or early morning instead?

How's the ketone situation today? How is Charlie acting? eating?
 
Hi there :cool:

Glad to see Julie popped in with Lantus timing info.

Because of it's cumulative nature, shooting early can cause an increase to insulin in circulation.
If you shoot for example daily 7am and 7pm and you shot 3 hours late in the AM (10am) the next shot should be 12 hours later at 10pm.
If you shot at your usual time of 7pm you create a 3 hour overlap (the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect) that could result in unexpected lows.

So if you need to return to a specific shot time, it must be done incrementally for safety sake. Either 15min at each PS or 30 mins once per 24hour period.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top