Re: Charlie amps 226 +2 272 + 3.5 127 +5 76
WOW! Thrilling to see Charlie having another great day - and GREEN! It's his first green numbers since June!
I agree with everything Wendy suggested. As long as you have the option of taking him with you, I'd stick with the 5.0u tonight. Reducing in advance can backfire sometimes. Not always, and i understand your worry about keeping him safe.
A kitty can get to 5u without having a high dose condition, so i wouldn't rule out remission as a possibility for Charlie. None of us knows, of course, but obviously he had some sort of major infection that has had a large impact on his blood sugar and now the infection is resolving.
It's also pretty likely he may bounce from hitting green numbers today and be high tonight and tomorrow. hard to say, but it wouldn't be a surprise.
if he were mine, i'd hold his dose for now and continue like you've been doing.
The post you're talking about is a discussion we had on Darin/Charlie's condo
here. Shooting that full dose into normal numbers will often cause the blood sugar to just go flat - it's an amazing thing. Look at some of the spreadsheets i've linked in that post and see where that happens for those kitties. But, you can't do it and leave until you have the data to show that Charlie will stay predictably flat when you do it, and you aren't quite there yet. When you shoot him in the 68-160ish range (50-120 human glucometer) and can monitor him to see how he responds, then you'll learn what he does and after a couple of times of monitoring him through the shooting low process, then you may be able to leave him with more confidence, just with having plenty of food out. You want to work up to that, however.
Does that make sense?