Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R
I see your +1.5/392 - so it pulled him down 112 points in 1.5hrs. That's fast enough to likely cause another bounce.
One thing you can try, if you can monitor him a lot today, is to let things play out as they are going to now (i'd get a +3 as well to see how low the R action takes him), continue to test and after his nadir, if you test every hour and begin to catch him zooming up, give just a small amount of R at that point, perhaps 0.25-0.5u R. You want to do it at the moment he passes 300, just to flatten him out and stop the zoom upward.
One of the things I observed was that giving R on the way UP is like loading a heavy backpack on as he's climbing up the mountain. It may slow him down enough that he's starting at a lower point at the next shot. You're going to want to start with a small amount - the goal of giving it at that point isn't to bring him down as much as it is just to stop the climb upward. You also have to be very careful to give it AFTER the nadir. Just like when you have gave it initially, start small, observe the response, make notes about it on the ss and use those to help you in the future decision-making.
I'm not sure if today is the day to try that - I say that because I can't commit to staying with you today and am not sure if another experienced R user is available to help you. We don't know yet how Charlie will respond to this particular strategy. But i wanted to give you the idea to consider if you want to try it at some point. I actually preferred using R in that way over giving it with the shot. Giving it with the shot when the preshot is very high, like Charlie's is this morning, can sometimes cause the "jump off the cliff" effect, which is what you've just seen. The trouble with jumping off the cliff is there is a trampoline at the bottom.
I agree with Sienne - since you don't have ketones in the picture at the moment, you'll want to change your use of R and reduce the size of the dose to prevent causing subsequent bounces.
There's so much to learn in all of this! you're doing great - i'm so glad to hear that Charlie is feeling better. How he acts is very significant, so hearing he's acting great is important! go charlie!