Charlie 9/21 amps 506, +1/392, +6/346, +8 324, +10 362 R?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Well I am afraid our friend is doing his bouncy trick again :(
I had to give 2 u of r to level things out this am. I hope the bouncing starts to resolve soon it's so nerve wracking! He's acting great though!
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R

looks like both our boys are having fun on the trampoline !!!
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R

Ellie:

Just a thought... Since Charlie is finding his way to better numbers, you may need to re-think your use of R. The strategy may need to change. One of the things you want to avoid is R creating more bounciness. I would get a test at +2 so you can see what R is doing with Charlie's numbers. If it yanks the numbers down, you may want to consider being more conservative with respect to your dose of R.
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R

I see your +1.5/392 - so it pulled him down 112 points in 1.5hrs. That's fast enough to likely cause another bounce.

One thing you can try, if you can monitor him a lot today, is to let things play out as they are going to now (i'd get a +3 as well to see how low the R action takes him), continue to test and after his nadir, if you test every hour and begin to catch him zooming up, give just a small amount of R at that point, perhaps 0.25-0.5u R. You want to do it at the moment he passes 300, just to flatten him out and stop the zoom upward.

One of the things I observed was that giving R on the way UP is like loading a heavy backpack on as he's climbing up the mountain. It may slow him down enough that he's starting at a lower point at the next shot. You're going to want to start with a small amount - the goal of giving it at that point isn't to bring him down as much as it is just to stop the climb upward. You also have to be very careful to give it AFTER the nadir. Just like when you have gave it initially, start small, observe the response, make notes about it on the ss and use those to help you in the future decision-making.

I'm not sure if today is the day to try that - I say that because I can't commit to staying with you today and am not sure if another experienced R user is available to help you. We don't know yet how Charlie will respond to this particular strategy. But i wanted to give you the idea to consider if you want to try it at some point. I actually preferred using R in that way over giving it with the shot. Giving it with the shot when the preshot is very high, like Charlie's is this morning, can sometimes cause the "jump off the cliff" effect, which is what you've just seen. The trouble with jumping off the cliff is there is a trampoline at the bottom.

I agree with Sienne - since you don't have ketones in the picture at the moment, you'll want to change your use of R and reduce the size of the dose to prevent causing subsequent bounces.

There's so much to learn in all of this! you're doing great - i'm so glad to hear that Charlie is feeling better. How he acts is very significant, so hearing he's acting great is important! go charlie!
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Was it 2u or 3u of R this morning? (ss has 2u but condo header has 3u)
I'll add my voice to the "easy does it with the R" chorus.
So easy to get caught in a continual 'R/bounce/R/bounce' loop.

Glad to hear he is acting fine :-D
What's the ketone situation today?
Litter box action normal?
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506 gave 5 L 3 R

Hi everyone. It was 2 u of r this am. Sorry about the mix up. I had a bridal shower I had to go to this am. Just got home and his +6 is 346. I like yesterday's numbers better. I am home for the rest of the day/night so any suggestions on how to proceed and help stop this vicious bouncing cycle I'd love it. I know I should have gotten a +3 today but I got back from the shower as soon as I could. He's acting great and no ketones. Thanks guys!
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506, +1/392, +6/346, +8 324, +10 362

Hi! His +10 is 362. Would someone advise if I should give any r? Thanks
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506, +1/392, +6/346, +8 324, +10 362

If you're ever in doubt, just skip the R. Looks like that was a quick trip high and he's already starting to clear the bounce. I'm looking at the pm+3/243. I'd get another test still tonight, just in case he's dropping quickly.

my eldest daughter is getting married in 3 weeks, so today she came home to try on her dress with her shoes, and figure out the wedding veil and stuff like that. she has a bridal shower in 2 weeks. Kinda exciting time! Did you have fun at your shower this morning? Family or friend getting married?
 
Re: Charlie 9/21 amps 506, +1/392, +6/346, +8 324, +10 362

Just got a +4 at 265. Fed him a littke LC and his auto feeders are set to go off at 230 and 5 am. Tomorrow he goes for the acro and other recommended tests. Hoping the ruined culture results are back tomorrow. Still responding well to the zeniquin. The shower was lovely. It was held at a butterfly conservatory. Beautiful! Congrats on your daughters upcoming wedding Julie! How exciting!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top