Charley 6/15 Mr P makes a drive by

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charley

Member Since 2012
Recap
Amps 275 gave .25
+8 205
Pmps +12 133

This is the 5th time since we opened the new vial that Mr. P has been in the neighborhood. Wish he'd pack more than an overnight bag. We have a guest room, plenty of space. Would love to have him stay a while.
 
Others have found he is rather picky about how long he will stay in one place. Any chance you can chase this number (monitor) until it is over 200 and shoot a mini dose? It would be better than skipping, if possible.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Others have found he is rather picky about how long he will stay in one place. Any chance you can chase this number (monitor) until it is over 200 and shoot a mini dose? It would be better than skipping, if possible.
Unfortunately no. We are on our way out for the evening. We won't be home until 11. If I give a mini dose then, what would tomorrow look like? Would it be the same? Just testing him until we see his Bg on the rise and over 200?
 
Yes, that's how it is supposed to work. If it works for your weekend, this might be a good time to try it? And I would drop the dose since the cycles are running longer.
 
Sue, he was only at 180 when we got home last night. I had left food out, so I didn't know if that number was food elevated. I decided to wait until his 5am schedule. He was only 251 @ +24. I shot .2. Going on a hunt for the u100's on Monday. I marked the u40's with a sharpie for this morning. That was not fun.
 
If his pancreas is starting to work, food should lower the number, not raise it. It is one of the ways to figure out if there is pancreatic action. If lower after food, yes. If higher after food, not likely. That's why small frequent meals can help during this mini dosing time - the food lowers the bg levels as well as the insulin.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
If his pancreas is starting to work, food should lower the number, not raise it. It is one of the ways to figure out if there is pancreatic action. If lower after food, yes. If higher after food, not likely. That's why small frequent meals can help during this mini dosing time - the food lowers the bg levels as well as the insulin.
I didn't know that! I have so much to learn!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top