Changing to ProZinc today! Dose advice needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker&Me

Member Since 2015
Hello all.
I am expecting the ProZinc in the afternoon post. Very excited, but a bit anxious too. I need some advice regarding making the switch from Novolin. As you can see from Tucker's SS, he's been on it since 6/23/15. ( I came here and began testing 6/27/15).
I plan on using up the U100 syringes I already have, and although I see there is a conversion chart, I'm anxious about that too.
Thank you all so much for just being here. I know I can do it!
 
Hi Brenda,

I think I'd start low, probably one unit and get some data. Within a few cycles, you should be able to see how the dose is working and increase if needed. So, using the conversion chart, one unit of ProZinc would be 2.5 on your U100 needles. (I can't think that your ProZinc would be anything other than U40 insulin, but check the box for sure.)

You should find less of a fast onset and a longer cycle. Fingers crossed.

I know you have seen the protocol. You might also visit the ProZinc forum and check out other people's threads and spreadsheets.
 
THANK YOU SUE. THANK YOU LARRY.
This is our big day.
Can I start with his 10 PM dose? Or do I wait until tomorrow AM ?
 
Up to you. You will probably feel better if you can get a test around +2 and before bed. If you want, you can wait till tomorrow and get a little more data. Whatever you are comfortable doing?
 
I only use the U100 syringes for ProZinc. It is much easier to read the 1/2 unit markings and makes it much safer to increase or decrease doses by a small amount. The conversion chart is easy to use. I agree that you should post in the ProZinc forum. Very helpful people there who have a lot of experience.
 
Good luck with your change. I used the Prozinc with the U100 syringes and was very happy with the outcome. I really wish I had kept better records to help you out more. The best advise I have for you is remember every cat is truly different.
 
Thank you Carol and Spike's Mom! I haven't EVER drawn up THAT much insulin since we started. Just a little unnerving.. can't help it.:oops:
Okay Sue, my decision is to start tonight. The ProZinc is indeed U40, so I will draw 2.5 on my U100 syringe.
Thank you so much EVERYONE, for your support. It's incredible how much I have needed reinforcement. I'm generally the "go to" guy around here, and this has been remarkable, to say the least, how inept I have felt.
I appreciate every little thing, so Thank You again.
Wish us luck!
 
Sue, I may try to curve tonight, I probably won't be able to rest much anyway.
I will save my questions for morning though, since I've figured out that you have a reasonable bedtime schedule, unlike myself.o_O :bighug:
 
Well I only got 2 readings so far. Grrrr...! Tech issues with this tablet on top of it all.
Plus, both readings were in the reds! 400's
Sue, what readings should I continue to get before AMPS ?(which will be near 10AM)
He's pretty hungry, and licking his plate post MM's.
I did not give a fur shot.
 
I know it's hard, but I'd be patient. Feed him more if he is hungry. Give it a few cycles to work. You could wait till te amps and see what it looks like.
 
Okay Sue. You're right. I know this. I can't believe how irrational I've become. I guess it's because my World has become so circumscribed, that now every detail is magnified to the 10th power.
I need to ground myself. :banghead:
 
You want your kitty well. And you're trying so hard. I would expect that you'll see some downward movement in the next cycle or two. I am not sure of the biology of the process but I'd guess he was used to the fast onset of N and ProZinc is working slower.

If he doesn't drop today after a second cycle, then we can raise the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top