Changing from Lantus back to Vetsulin

Status
Not open for further replies.
I haven't seen anyone do the switch back to Vetsulin. Once Neko switched to Lantus from Caninsulin (same thing but what it is called in the rest of the world), there was no going back.

A couple things have gone wrong with the switch to Lantus. First of all, you started back at 1 units Lantus when you were on 4 units of Vetsulin. Typically we'll switch to the same dose number, with maybe a bit lower for safety. So he should have started at around 3.5 units of Lantus. You still haven't even gotten up to the Vetsulin dose he was on before the switch.

I honestly think he just needs more Lantus. You also haven't really been following SLGS. With SLGS, you keep increasing every week of you aren't seeing nadirs in the 90-149 range. If you stick with a dose that is keeping him in high numbers for too long, glucose toxicity develops. That basically means his body gets used to those high numbers, and you have to go to an even higher dose to get over it.
 
I can't even tell you how much I appreciate your help. To be honest because of the shedding period I was always nervous to up his dose because I've heard some cats take a while to adjust. I'm new to Lantus, we started in October 2023, he was on vetsulin for years before the switch. and I've always been nervous for him to have a hypo event :( So I should up his dose? and is glucose toxicity hard to get over? I've heard about that too. I feel so bad that I have been keeping him at a bad dose for so long :(
 
You can increase to 3.25 units anytime now. Keeping on top of increases every 7 days will get you to a good dose sooner where you can get over the glucose toxicity.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top