Changing from Alpha Trak to Reli-On Prime meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jakesmama

Member Since 2014
Thanks to a generous donation, I now have the Reli-On meter!

Can someone supply me with the BG numbers I will need to see on the meter to ensure my Jake is in a safe range? What do I code the meter to?

Thanks!
 
No code needed. If it does, read the instructions online if not provided.

Just in case you haven't seen this, glucose reference numbers by meter reading types.

[false assumption removed by moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Jake tested at 175. Here's the deal. I ran out of alpha trk strips and can food, so yesterday I fed jake some dry diabetic royal Canin and some regular cooked chicken. I got my new meter and strips today, and was able to test 2 days after not testing. So this reading is his first one today, after he ate. I'm going to give 2.5 u and retest in 2hrs. I also got him some fancy feast.
 
Tested at 400+ this morning Amps!!!! Gave him 2.25u about 10 min after eating breakfast. Will test again in a few hrs.
 
Test some tike between +5 to +7 hours after the shot. That is when the probable nadir, or lowest glucose, happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top