Changed diet - is insulin dosage fine?

Valentina

Member Since 2021
Hey hey,

My kitty Lilli was diagnosed with diabetes 3 months ago and she has been getting 1 unit of Lantus every 12 hours. After trying out several diets, I am now feeding her Animonda wet food, which seems to be very low in carbs. I have changed it recently and have noticed her numbers being quite lower than usual, always below 200 and sometimes in the low 100s (121 is the lowest number I have caught). I don't manage to get AMPS and PMPS often due to my work schedule and my parents usually give her injections (they don't know how to home test). I usually test her throughout her cycles or when I work from home.

One thing I noticed is that when I feed her, her BG isn't really affected, which concerns me as when I give her 1 dose of insulin, I would expect her BG to rise a bit to make sure the insulin is safe to be administered.

I also wanted to add that I feed her small meals whenever she's hungry, so she is not on a fixed feeding schedule. However, everytime I feed, I check her BG after an hour or so and it doesn't really increase much.

SHould I stick to this new diet and keep her on insulin as it is?

Thank you!!
 
Hi Valentina, it's great that you found a low carb food that Lilli likes! :-)

She is looking good on this dose. It's possible she went lower that 121 last night. With Lantus the onset is usually around +2 and the nadir usually between +4 and +6.
When you get a lower number at +2, it's advisable to get another test later in the cycle to see how low she is going. That might mean setting an alarm for the test!

Looks like the diet is working well. I would hold the dose but get more tests to see how low she is going. I don't suppose you can teach your parents to test her?

Btw, you need to change your Signature to reflect the new food.
 
Hi Bhooma, thank you so much, I will amend my signature accordingly :)

So the new diet not causing her any food spikes or reasonable rises in BG is normal? I should not be concerned right?

Yesterday her PMPS was 160, I never know what to do in these cases.

Also, do you feed Bandit any complementary/supplementary wet food? I struggle to stay within the recommended 3 cans a day of Animonda as she is often hungry.

thanks again :)
 
So the new diet not causing her any food spikes or reasonable rises in BG is normal? I should not be concerned right?
On the contrary, she is seeing beautifully flat Lantus cycles since the food change. It is working well!


Yesterday her PMPS was 160, I never know what to do in these cases.
Are you entering her numbers correctly in the SS? I don't see a PMPS in the SS but 160 @+9.
+1, +2 etc are nor 1am/pm, 2am/pm etc. +1 is 1 hour after the shot, +2 is 2 hours after the shot etc.


I struggle to stay within the recommended 3 cans a day of Animonda as she is often hungry.
Do you break up the food into smaller meals? That helps. Feed her a little more if she wants. Is she overweight?
Once she begins to see lower numbers consistently, that ravenous hunger will reduce.
 
On the contrary, she is seeing beautifully flat Lantus cycles since the food change. It is working well!



Are you entering her numbers correctly in the SS? I don't see a PMPS in the SS but 160 @+9.
+1, +2 etc are nor 1am/pm, 2am/pm etc. +1 is 1 hour after the shot, +2 is 2 hours after the shot etc.



Do you break up the food into smaller meals? That helps. Feed her a little more if she wants. Is she overweight?
Once she begins to see lower numbers consistently, that ravenous hunger will reduce.

You are right sorry, I forgot to put the PMPS. +9 was 160, and +12 she was still at 159. So I stalled, gave her food and gave her a slightly smaller dose (around 0.75).

I am very happy about these lower numbers but also concerned when her PMPS is not as high

indeed, I am breaking up food in smaller meals. I am looking to giver her something as a treat if she asks me for food..
 
You are right sorry, I forgot to put the PMPS. +9 was 160, and +12 she was still at 159. So I stalled, gave her food and gave her a slightly smaller dose (around 0.75).
Lantus is not dosed on the basis of preshots but on the basis of how low the does takes the cat. She will hopefully see beautiful flat cycles with the food change. On days that you ae home, you can try to do a curve - get tests every 2 hours to see how low she is going so you can evaluate her dose.
 
Lantus is not dosed on the basis of preshots but on the basis of how low the does takes the cat. She will hopefully see beautiful flat cycles with the food change. On days that you ae home, you can try to do a curve - get tests every 2 hours to see how low she is going so you can evaluate her dose.

Thank you Bhooma, I will do a curve tomorrow! She's currently at 131 at +7!! Very happy to see some blue numbers :)
 
Thank you Bhooma, I will do a curve tomorrow! She's currently at 131 at +7!! Very happy to see some blue numbers :)
She is responding well to the food change. And seeing the flat cycles that Lantus is well-known for. We like to say "shoot low to stay low"! :-)
 
She is responding well to the food change. And seeing the flat cycles that Lantus is well-known for. We like to say "shoot low to stay low"! :)

Bhooma she is again at 160 PMPS. Should I feed, shoot 1 dose and test her to see how low she goes ?
 
Hi Valantina. Is you SS up to date? I can’t see any Preshot numbers or the 102 at +3?

I would feed a snack now and test again at +4 and post the result
 
Hi Valantina. Is you SS up to date? I can’t see any Preshot numbers or the 102 at +3?

I would feed a snack now and test again at +4 and post the result

Hey! Thank you for replying - no, my SS is not up to date as I do not have my laptop with me and am using my phone.

These were her values today:
AM + 5 150
AM + 7 130
PMPS 160
PM + 3 102 (feeding)
PM + 4 111

I am leaving her some higher carb food out and will go to sleep and set some alarms throughout the cycle to feed her if needed.
 
Hey! Thank you for replying - no, my SS is not up to date as I do not have my laptop with me and am using my phone.

These were her values today:
AM + 5 150
AM + 7 130
PMPS 160
PM + 3 102 (feeding)
PM + 4 111

I would give her another snack now and test again at +5 and post please. Are you feeding low carb snacks.?
When you are able, try and get your SS up to date as we rely on it to help you with all dosing and other help to do with the BG numbers.
 
I gave her some Royal Canin Diabetic Wet which is a bit higher in carbs. Is it fine?

Thanks!
I can’t remember the carbs in that food. Do you know?
Anyway, it is fine. Next time, just give ordinary low carb food, unless there is a very large drop or it is early in the cycle when you could give some higher carb food. Best to ask though at this stage until you are a bit more experienced.:)
 
I can’t remember the carbs in that food. Do you know?
Anyway, it is fine. Next time, just give ordinary low carb food, unless there is a very large drop or it is early in the cycle when you could give some higher carb food. Best to ask though at this stage until you are a bit more experienced.:)

thank you :) Everything was fine yesterday! She was at 230 AMPS this morning so all good!
 
Back
Top