change for BeeGee

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat

Member Since 2013
Whats going on? The nadir figure is good but BG seems to be rising. Possibly too high a dose of insulin? She eats good and regular, seems to feel well, no exceptional stress. Your thoughts please.
 
Two possiblities:

As Larry noted, your dose may be too high. The way to test this is to reduce your dose back to where it looked better. While you do that, be testing for urine ketones.

Or

He could be developing a resistance to the insulin. This is rather rare, so check the former idea first.
 
That answers your question! So maybe he was lower on either side of the nadir yesterday and bounced last night.

So since you are skipping this am, be aware he may be higher than usual tonight (as it will have been 24 hours since his last shot.) You might give the one unit and get back on track tomorrow am, maybe reducing the dose a tiny bit then.

The next time you get a lower than 200 amps, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is sure rising and close to 200, you can shoot a reduced dose and not have to skip completely.

Looking good, Pat! Encouraging numbers!
 
Tip: the nadir for ProZinc is often at 5 to 5.5 hours after the shot.
If you can snag a test at these times - +5, +5.5, and +6 - you may determine where BeeGee nadirs.
 
I suspect he is dropping low and you are missing it. Don't assume he nadirs at +6- cats do vary. Try and get spot checks at different times- night too because often they drop lower at night than during the day. there is a good chance he is dropping under 50 and that would mean he needs another dose decrease.

I would get a +2 test when you can. If its lower than AMPS then test in an hour or two depending on how low it is. Once it goes green, start testing hourly until he goes back up. Otherwise try and spot check tests around +3 to +5 at different times.

And at night get a PMPS+2 for sure.
 
Thanks, as you can see going up will test again in three hours, cat not a happy camper with all the testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top