CEDRIC NEEDS SOME HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
Cedric went back on Lantus in February. He had some issues with pancreatitis laste last summer but the medication didn't seem to resolve the issue.
Starting 2/12/13, his numbers have been outside the normal range and he went back on Lantus on 2/22/13 after a dental.
Most days he receives his shot at 6am followed by food (friskies pate or wellness grain free or werva cats in the kitchen, all canned food). A snack is given via the auto feeder between 10-11am and again between 3 and 4. He receives his pm shot at 6 followed by dinner. He will receive a small snack between 9and 10pm (most nights he gets the werva for dinner which is slightly smaller than if I gave him food out of the bigger cans of the other brands as the werva can is 6oz and I have another cat who is also fed at these times).

It has been extremely frustrating and stressful couple of months. The last few days have been the worst for me. I had increased his doe last week to 1.25 and he seemed to start reacting better on Saturday (new does began Tuesday) with:
amps 201
+2 193
+4 178 (note his amps was at 5am shifted due to my work schedule yesterday)
pmps at 4:40pm 262
+3 259
Sunday started with amps at 4am and 181. Loved it. Then I got home at 3pm from work and his +11 was 344!
pmps 4:40 was 368
+4.5ish at 9pm was 317

i do not understand what happened yesterday. No there is nothing he can get into. Only canned food is in the house and Cedric doesn't like people food.
this morning at 5:30am he was 282. Tonight he will go back to his regular 6am/6pm schedule. My pet sitter came to give him his shot late saturday afternoon and she gives the shot in the scruff - could this be an effect of the 344#?

I plan on staying home from work probably Wednesday or thursday this week to curve him. But I can't seem to get an handle on him! the last go around he was only on lantus for a month, and he went thru some other life changes - we moved to a 2 story house so he got more exercise, his food was completly changed and he went from 2 meals to 4 meal, and dry was removed. But this time, I just don't know what I am doing and don't know what to do! At my wits end and extremely stressed! grumpy_cat HELP!
 
I have no advice. I just wanted you to know I am sending my support and crossing my fingers you are able to get a handle on this.
 
Morning! No dosing advice (((hugs))) Some more experienced eyes should be on a little later this morning. Maybe Cedric is experiencing a bounce from Saturdays lower numbers? Have a good day.....breath deeply & relax, help will be on the way :smile: Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
There are two things that immediately come to mind. First, it looks like you tried to gradually shift your shot time due to the change in your work schedule. It may be that Cedric is one of those cats who needs to have time changes made in 15 min. increments. He may just be sensitive to any change in routine and the outcome is numbers that will need some time to settle back into that usual routine.

The other thought I have is that you may be holding on to a dose for too long. It looks like Cedric was at 1.0u for about 3 weeks and most of the numbers are in the 200 range. My concern would be that his body has adjusted to that range as being normal (i.e., glucose toxicity may have developed). I'm not sure if you're following TR or SLGS. You may want to think about evaluating Cedric's dose at least on a weekly basis and considering raising the dose on a Friday so you'll have the weekend to monitor more closely -- if that works for your schedule.
 
A day off? next day off is memorial day....(well, technically that isn't correct, I took off next Monday to go to the parks with a friend, but won't be home all day with Cedric). I do tend to adjust his schedule on the sundays when I work the 5am shift at Disney (P/T job on weekends). At the new f/t job I have he can't come in with me as boss is alergic.

I think I understand what you are saying, Sienne, that I should re-evaluate his current 1.25 dose later this week. I have had to adjust his dose time over the past 3 or so weeks, but I am not always scheduled for 5am every Sunday; this last weekend was not the first time he was adjusted, but I have not gotten such a low number then such a much higher number on any of the other occasions. you get what I am trying to say? Doc would like to get him regulated before we do a full blood panel again. I would also consider switching him to lev.
 
I kinda thought you had a challenging schedule.

If this week was the one time that the numbers were atypical, then it's likely a "hiccup." I do think holding the dose for so long when you're not seeing numbers that are below 200 can be complicating getting the numbers into lower ranges. If it's feasible, I'd suggest you evaluate the dose as often as your schedule and comfort level allow. I think you'll run into similar issues with Lev. That's not to say that Cedric may not do better on Lev. The dosing issues are the same, though as with Lantus.
 
OK, looking at his book I see that he has spent the better part of this month on 1 unit. Twice this month i reduced his dose because I thought his number was too low, but was "yelled at" for doing what I shouldn't have done. It's tough since I am not home for at least 8 hours each and every day. :sad:

So I will hang in with 1.25 for the rest of the week and try a curve on Wed or Thursday. He probably needs to go up to 1.5 (which would be easier to measure in the syringe!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top