Catching up with Tommy's numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Active Member
Once again it has been awhile since I've been able to post. Work has been crazy as well as well as a dear friend has been sick and may not be around for long. My work load has almost doubled for a while but should go back to normal (?) in a month or so. Tommy has been doing well, no ketones when I can check him, and he terrorizes his brothers on a regular basis. ohmygod_smile By this I know he is his old self. The major limping has been eliminated and he runs and jumps like he use to. My husband has finally decided on learning how to test Tommy. :-D I am so proud of him that he is now willing to help me out. He has gotten some numbers for me and a few times he forgot. He is understanding the question of "is the insulin too much or too little when he stays higher?"
I know more midday numbers are needed, but based on his numbers, and the progress notes, am I on track or should I change some things? I would dearly appreciated all of your input as I am sometimes very frustrated at his numbers. Right now I seem to feel that he may not go OTJ, but I'd like to keep him in the blues and yellow's to keep him healthier. Thanks to all of you wonderful people here at the FDMB. Someday I hope to help out more. I've been telling everyone I know about this wonderful place, and am working on an acquaintance who suspects that her cat has diabetes.
Sandy
 
I have a thought that might be helpful. You might adjust the formatting for the insulin dose so that it is color coded to cue you when you've given different levels of insulin.

What is your sliding scale?
if between ___ and ___ then 1.0 units
if between ___ and ___ then 0.8 units
if between ___ and ___ then 0.6 units
if between ___ and ___ then 0.4 units
if between ___ and ___ then 0.2 units
 
The scale I'm using right now is
when in red 1.0
Pink .8
Yellow .6
Blue .4
Sometimes I fatten or skinny the dose depending on how close to the next color.

Both of are working tomorrow so it will be an early test and gone for at least 8 hours. I will test when I get home.
Thanks!
 
Hi Sandy and Tommy!

Good to see you guys!

It's really nice to hear that your DH is willing to help start testing. :smile: Mine does as well, and it's so nice if he's home from work early, he can grab a test. If I'm up late at night with Eddie, DH will handle the testing and shooting in the morning, too.

I'm still a little suspicious that Tommy may need to go down in dose a smidge for some of your sliding scale, but it's tough to see for sure. You had a comment on Tommy's SS about the 1u I think on the pre-shots in the 400's which are usually followed by a pre-shot in the 100's next cycle maybe being a little much, and you could be right.

I think it was about a month ago that you were able to do a mini cycle on a weekend day and caught Tommy dipping early in the cycle. It seems like some of the "divers" sometimes dip early and then shoot back up fairly early in the cycle. Next time you get a chance to do a mini-curve, be sure to post, and we'll watch and see what he's up to. :-D Even if you can't be around to get those mid-cycle numbers like +6 and such, I'm thinking some early cycle numbers might give us some insight into Tommy's patterns, like +2 or +3.

I know for Eddie, if he's going down by +2, I can usually expect a big drop that I have to keep a close eye on.
 
Thanks Jen. I just updated Tommy's SS. I couldn't shoot that 89 we both had to leave right after the feeding for work. It was a huge shock to see him spike to 579 until DH came and showed me that bread bag, grrr cat(2)_steam Now we will work at getting him back on track. I'll be testing in a couple of hours and will try to post. (Have a cold and am already in bed.) I agree that once he gets over that sugar high, I will reduce slightly. Should I skinny the doses or reduce the next .2?
 
Hmmm...that 500 might be due to a combination of things...if Tommy was at 89 for your AM pre-shot, chances are he went lower overnight, so some bouncing might be contributing, plus some possible contraband, plus a skipped shot.

I'm wondering if you scale things back by 0.2 and maybe see if you can snag the occasional tests around +2 or +3, like maybe a before bed test to see if the higher pre-shots are bounces? If it doesn't look a little better after a few cycles, you can always take it back up. What do you think about that?
 
I can see what you are saying. If I'm still awake at +2 then I'll test or see if hubby would do it. He "forgot" today to get a mid cycle number. I'll try again in the morning for a +2 or +3 with the reduced dose. It's worth a try to shoot less. The worst would be that he doesn't go low enough. Thanks!
 
It looks like Tommy is doing well with generally good numbers, except when he gets into dogfood and bread! Any numbers you can get in addition to preshots will really help you figure out a really good dose, Sandy. I know it's hard with your work schedule, but anything helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top