This is my first post. My cat is 12 years old and was returned to the humane society by his owners when he was found to have diabetes. I am special needs myself and I adopted him a year and a half ago.
The humane society had him on 2 units of vetsulin 2 x Day after food. He was somewhat regulated when I adopted him and his numbers were generally between 100 and 300 for highs and lows. I test him every now and then but not everyday and not every time before a shot as I know some people do. He is not compliant for getting blood glucose readings so I generally do my own curve on a weekend when I'm home and it's not so stressful trying to get blood out of him before I'm trying to get dressed and ready to work all day.
Friday night he started to vomit and vomited through to 7:00 a.m. I called the vet as soon as they opened and got an appointment for 9:00. I brought him in and they said he was having a pancreatitis episode and he was dehydrated and needed $1,000 worth of tests and an x-ray.
They gave him fluids and anti-vomit meds and an appetite accelerant gel for his ears. They said to only give him chicken fancy feast and nothing else. No dry.... Which is what he loves most and I was giving him a half a cup of Dr. Elsie's chicken a day in addition to his fancy feast.
His BG numbers during the vomiting episodes was 90 BG at midnight ,122 BG at 3:00 a.m. , 161 at 7:00 a.m. And then the vet did his BG around 3:00 p.m. And it was 260. They did not give him insulin and said to give him his insulin 30 minutes after meal at 6:00 p.m. after
I admit I was exhausted and did not test him in the morning this morning he ate this morning but no dry. I gave him a little bit lower dose ... 2 units instead of 2.5. at noon his BG was 121. He got no snacks or anything in between. At 5:00 p.m. his BG was 65. These are numbers that were on a human meter, not a pet meter. So I've been told those numbers are higher than what would be on a pet meter so that scared me. I don't think I've ever seen a number on him of 65.
Now I'm freaking out. Fed him and put some chicken broth on it to get him to want to eat it. Which he did. I did not give any insulin. I'm going to test him again at 6:30. Are his numbers so low because I stopped giving him dry like he normally gets,? Maybe he shouldn't have been having dry all along. But until I adopted him all he ate was dry and he was on hills prescription dry. I changed him to Dr. Elsie's dry over 2 weeks ago.
He seemed to really like it up until Friday when he started vomiting everything. Not just the dry. He vomited up all his wet food as well. Does anyone have any information they can share. At what point do you take a cat to the emergency vet? He seems like his normal self except for that he isn't as active as normal... But not extremely inactive.
The humane society had him on 2 units of vetsulin 2 x Day after food. He was somewhat regulated when I adopted him and his numbers were generally between 100 and 300 for highs and lows. I test him every now and then but not everyday and not every time before a shot as I know some people do. He is not compliant for getting blood glucose readings so I generally do my own curve on a weekend when I'm home and it's not so stressful trying to get blood out of him before I'm trying to get dressed and ready to work all day.
Friday night he started to vomit and vomited through to 7:00 a.m. I called the vet as soon as they opened and got an appointment for 9:00. I brought him in and they said he was having a pancreatitis episode and he was dehydrated and needed $1,000 worth of tests and an x-ray.
They gave him fluids and anti-vomit meds and an appetite accelerant gel for his ears. They said to only give him chicken fancy feast and nothing else. No dry.... Which is what he loves most and I was giving him a half a cup of Dr. Elsie's chicken a day in addition to his fancy feast.
His BG numbers during the vomiting episodes was 90 BG at midnight ,122 BG at 3:00 a.m. , 161 at 7:00 a.m. And then the vet did his BG around 3:00 p.m. And it was 260. They did not give him insulin and said to give him his insulin 30 minutes after meal at 6:00 p.m. after
I admit I was exhausted and did not test him in the morning this morning he ate this morning but no dry. I gave him a little bit lower dose ... 2 units instead of 2.5. at noon his BG was 121. He got no snacks or anything in between. At 5:00 p.m. his BG was 65. These are numbers that were on a human meter, not a pet meter. So I've been told those numbers are higher than what would be on a pet meter so that scared me. I don't think I've ever seen a number on him of 65.
Now I'm freaking out. Fed him and put some chicken broth on it to get him to want to eat it. Which he did. I did not give any insulin. I'm going to test him again at 6:30. Are his numbers so low because I stopped giving him dry like he normally gets,? Maybe he shouldn't have been having dry all along. But until I adopted him all he ate was dry and he was on hills prescription dry. I changed him to Dr. Elsie's dry over 2 weeks ago.
He seemed to really like it up until Friday when he started vomiting everything. Not just the dry. He vomited up all his wet food as well. Does anyone have any information they can share. At what point do you take a cat to the emergency vet? He seems like his normal self except for that he isn't as active as normal... But not extremely inactive.
Last edited: