Cat has been vomiting for 2 hours after shot :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Rizzo

Member Since 2017
Hi all! This is my very first time posting on the message boards and I look forward to becoming a more active member of this site! I am currently fostering a female, spayed, 10-12 year old senior diabetic named Rizzo. She has been receiving Lantus insulin and is also on the final days of a course of Clavamox.

This is the link to her insulin chart:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XyDNilqHohjqbKMQTzC21N1aK05IIoMokYYccHMe1L8/edit?usp=sharing

Rizzo ate happily as I gave her a shot, and then I gave her the dreaded syringe full of clavamox. Within minutes, this poor thing started to vomit. She has vomited 3-4 times since then over the past 2 hours. It has been over 30 minutes since she last vomited. Her BG has dropped from a 155 to a 112 in 3 hours. Unfortunately, I do not have anything in my home that I can use as a remedy for her upset stomach, but I will be testing her hourly and beginning to feed her a spoonful of higher carb food every 20-30 minutes. Does anyone happen to have any suggestions for some other things I can do to help her stomach settle?

Thank you in advance :)
 
What was Rizzo vomiting? Food or foam? One of the side effects of clavamox can be an upset stomach.

Is she drinking water?

Do you have Pepcid AC (it has to be this particular one) in the cupboard?

She may not want the same food that she just threw up. You do not need to feed MC unless her numbers are dropping considerably (below 90 on a human metre to be on the safe side since she/you are new to this).

You could try a different flavour of low carb or plain baby food (make sure there are no onions). You could also try raising her food bowl about 4-6 inches. Some books or an upside-down cookie tin will do the job. Some people have success feeding by hand (hand raised so the cat doesn't have to bend its head down). No creature who has just thrown up or is nauseous wants to put their head down.

What is Rizzo taking clavamox for?

It is fantastic that you are home testing. And thank you for taking in a foster.
 
@Red & Rover (GA) & "Cat" thank you for your reply! Unfortunately I do not have Pepcid AC in the house, but I will definitely be picking some up for future instances! My private vet put Rizzo on Clavamox right after she left the shelter just in case she might have a UTI or URI. I can't recall exactly what gave him the suspicion (my boyfriend was the one who brought her for the visit) but thankfully she only has to take it for 3 more days. I had her eat small amounts of her LC Fancy Feast off of a spoon every 30 minutes, and her BG was starting to climb back up (slowly) sometime between +6 (BG: 86) and +10 (BG: 99) after her PM shot. I was incredibly sleepy last night and didn't want to pass out if her BG started to drop significantly, so I fed her some gravy from a can of Nutro Max and a couple chunks and she slurped it right up. My boyfriend noticed she was heaving this morning but did not appear to have vomited. When she was vomiting while I was with her, she was throwing up food, not foam.

This is my very first diabetic cat foster, and I've already fallen so in love with her that my boyfriend is allowing me to keep her as a Valentine's day "gift" haha! We absolutely adore her. This makes her our second senior, and she now has a sister (a dilute calico) who is estimated to be about the same age as her. I also have 2 kittens, one is 7 months (another dilute calico) and the other is about 9 months (brown tabby.) Rizzo is a brown tabby. I call my house a Noah's Ark now because I have 2 of everything lol - even my pits are all white with black noses, 1 has brown spots and 1 has black ones. It's fun, haha.
 
Some comments:
  • What insulin are you using?
  • Do your syringes have half unit marks? If so you can eyeball 0.25 u on them. I think that 0.5 u is approaching too high a dose.
  • I see a couple of missing preshot tests. Those are important to know if the dose is going to be too high for the BG level.
  • If you can get some tests in the +3 to +7 range that would be helpful.
 
I'm about to leave for work so my boyfriend will be testing her again in about 4-5 hours when he gets home from work. I'm really nervous about leaving her that long but I'm hoping she gets some carbs in if i leave her a little food. She is on Lantus. I'm not going to give her a shot this morning and we will see how the rest of the day goes. If my boyfriend notices that her BG is still going down, he's going to rush her to my emergency vet right down the street
 
I'm about to leave for work so my boyfriend will be testing her again in about 4-5 hours when he gets home from work. I'm really nervous about leaving her that long but I'm hoping she gets some carbs in if i leave her a little food. She is on Lantus. I'm not going to give her a shot this morning and we will see how the rest of the day goes. If my boyfriend notices that her BG is still going down, he's going to rush her to my emergency vet right down the street
Please post on the Lantus/Levemir forum for advice from the very knowledgeable people there.
 
@Kris & Teasel Thank you so much! We're already on the brink of foster failing ;)

Here's an update: Rizzo is still vomiting, but not as frequently it seems. She did not receive a shot this morning since she was well below 100, but by her PMPS, she was up to 311. Our vet has advised us to skip her dose of Clavamox tonight to keep her tummy settled, but then he wants us to restart it which I fear will only make another instance like this happen again! We asked if we could just get her in tonight for some Cerenia, but he advised us that she likely wouldn't need it. I've been home from work for about 2 hours now and she has not vomited yet, so I'm getting hopeful that she's starting to feel better! If she does happen to continue feeling yucky, I'll make a cross post in the Lantus group!
 
Did she keep any food down at all? Is there any possibility she ate something and it got stuck in her intestine? If that is a possibility then a vet visit is a must.
 
RE Clavamox: it can make them feel ill. If she was put on it "just in case" of a UTI you might try adding enough warm water to her wet food to make a sort of stew. The extra water will do wonders in flushing out her bladder and keeping her well hydrated. My guy was plagued with repeated bouts of cystitis before his diagnosis a year ago. No evidence of infection for most of them. At diagnosis, all dry food was removed from his diet and I began the extra water routine - haven't had a problem since. The extra water also helps kitties who tend to get constipated easily.
 
She has skipped 3 doses of Clavamox now, and I gave her the usual shot this morning, and she took a few bites of her food. When I came home from work, a large majority of food remained in her bowl so I don't think she ate much :( She has not vomited today, but she is looking a little dull or lethargic and her lack of appetite has me extremely concerned now. Her BG at PMPS was 85 so we're holding off on the shot for a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top