Cat Diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

OVLuipold

Member Since 2012
Hi,

I don't know anything about diabetes- and my cat smokey has diabetes. Is it safe to give cats the same stuff as humans? Is it possible to use test strips and make sure that they're healthy?

thanks
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB!

Would love to know more about Smokey. When was he diagnosed? What insulin and what dose?

Yes, some cats use the same insulins that human diabetics use...

And yes, yes, yes!...it is absolutely possible to use test strips to make sure that all is well... In fact we recommend it! Most people here test their cats' blood glucose (with 'human' glucometers).

There are other things that can be done too to reduce blood glucose, ie appropriate diet. You can learn a lot on this forum, and get a lot of support too!
 
Welcome WELCOME! Take some time to read, read, read, and then read some more. There's a ton of information here and the community knowledge is plentiful! Tell us some more about Smokey so we can get to know you.

What kind of food are you currently feeding? We recommend canned food only with a carb content less than 7%. Dr. Lisa has just updated a food chart for easy reference (see link below). Many people simply feed Fancy Feast Classic varieties, so it doesn't have to be an expensive food if that is a concern for you. The prescription foods are too high in carbs for diabetic kitties, despite what the vets would have you believe.

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/Food Chart Public 9-22-12.pdf

If you are currently feeding dry food, find a way to transition Smokey to canned. BUT if you are already giving insulin do not switch to canned until you have mastered home testing. The reduction in carbs can cause a significant drop in sugar levels so you would most likely need a reduction in your insulin dose as well.

Does Smokey have any other health issues we should be aware of?

Glad you found us! Feel free to ask as many questions as you need. It can be a little overwhelming at first, but everyone on this board has been there. I think you will find the community to be responsive and very caring :YMHUG:
 
Wow thanks for the responses!
Basically, I have one friend who's a vet and another friend who works in health care and can get me a good deal on diabetes supplies like insulin. I suspected Smokey was diabetic, and sure enough he was just officially 'diagnosed' by my vet friend when I was finally able to take him in. I'm feeding him fancy feast, so I guess that is o-k? Also, if i get a glucometer and test strips, what numbers am I looking for? There's no way it's the same for humans and cats, right?

This is his only health problem so far, before this he was very healthy.
 
You are lucky to have so much help! Fancy Feast pates are great; the gravy ones have too many carbs. (We try to stay under 8%)

The protocol for insulin varies so it would help us give you info if we knew what kind of insulin you are using. There are forums with specific information for the various kinds of insulin.

Just general info: We suggest new diabetics not shoot when the preshot number is 200 or under, but wait 20 minutes and retest, without feeding. If the number is rising and over 200, then a reduced dose is probably best. A well regulated cat is in the 200 range at preshot and in double digits at midcycle, but over 40. 40 and under is getting dangerously low and you might need to intervene with higher carb food or honey. A cat is in remission if they range from 40-120 (off insulin) with the majority of the time in double digits.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top