Cassie 9/9-10 -- trial tid

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
Yesterday everything was completely off schedule. The late cycle Wed. night and my complicated schedule got everything off track. But, here's where we stand now:

PMPS 436, .4u (+10.5)
+5 276
AMPS 435, .4u (+10)

Should be back on track with the 8-hour cycles today. I won't be able to get a +5 in the morning but probably can for MD.
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

I'm wondering if he's still having bladder problems. He's still drinking (& peeing) a lot. I did finally manage a (negative) ketone test. We go back to the.vet Tues. so I hope things settle this weekend; I'll ask them to check for another uti.

+5 288

I was wondering before the wonkiness startef if I need to increase the dose.
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

It's always good to have him checked for a UTI while you are going to be at the vet anyway if you suspect something.

Great on the neg ketone test!

I wouldn't increase the dose just yet, you are going to want to get some more mid cycle tests in to see how he's doing on this dose first and let him settle into it.
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

You are not going to get good numbers while you are shooting an inconsistent schedule. pzi is a very easy insulin but the shots need to be timed the same every day whether they are every 12 hours or every 8 hours. The times when moved should be moved in 15 minute increments. It is not fair to t.i.d. to try it but not do it as it is suppose to be done.
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

If you are home and monitoring, if it were me I would experiment with raising the dose a hair, and get in an early/mid cycle spot check every cycle.

To my eye, all the data you have mid-cycle on the early shots points to the dose being too low.

I would do something like a +4 and a +6 one cycle, and if the pattern was a u-curve, then I would raise to 0.5 or 0.6 on the next shot and see how that does for a couple days, getting in a spot test every cycle if possible. At the moment you are no where close to low numbers, so I think you have room for more insulin.

It's a bit of a puzzle the 160 at a +8, but then clearly rising again by +10 so I'm not sure what to make of that. If you start seeing inverse curves or high numbers that drop to a late nadir I'd say the dose is too high, but a +8 nadir looks more like just a ray of good news to me. I'd certainly keep an eye out for wonky patterns, but I'd still be inclined to try a dose increase and see what happens, especially if you are home for the weekend to monitor, and are ready to deal with a breakthrough should you get one. The doses are low and the numbers are high, so I wouldn't be terribly worried about hypo (if you are).
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

I think it's ok if the shot times vary, but I might vary the dose a little too. So fatten it up for a later shot and skinny it down for an early shot. For the sake of being able to interpret the data I think it's easier to stick to a schedule so I wouldn't generally advise someone to intentionally vary shot times, but unless it's a ProZinc thing, there's nothing I know of with PZI that is magic about sticking with shot times. You just need to be aware that the results will vary due to the shifts in overlap, so you can't judge a dose the same way as you would with consistent shot times. The same dose on a later shot may lose ground, and could gain ground on a earlier shot.
 
Re: Cassie 9/9 -- trial tid

I'm sorry but I disagree about the times .... and I think one of the reasons that the L's seemingly have a better track record than pzi, is the L's assumption that the shot times cannot be varied more.

Whether you shoot pzi every 12 hours 2x a day or every 8 hours 3x a day, you should stay on that schedule unless you move the time slowly, it makes no sense otherwise. If you are shooting t.i.d. for duration and better numbers but shoot at 10 hrs. or 9.5 hrs. or? you are not shooting t.i.d. the way it is suppose to be done to achieve what you are going for.

It is consistency that gets the better numbers but when you bounce the times .... you bounce the #'s. Then one invariably says when t.i.d. doesn't work that it is the t.i.d. but not the way it was applied.
 
I am trying to keep as close to an 8 hour cycle as I can, and until the late nadir I did fairly well. The day after was.getting back on.track as best I could due to work. The plan is to take a day or two to settle back in, with some mid cycle readings and then possibly try and increase if numbers indicate. I fully intend to give tid a chance; it appeared to work.well. That said, there does appear to be signs the dose is too low and I don't want to wait too long at too low a dose.

Amps 346, .4u (+8)
 
+5 256
Mdps 319, .4u (+8)

At least his ps #s are.dropping again. Tomorrow I may try a .1 increase. His best cycle is usually the am. I'll see what happens the rest of the day first.
 
+5 299

Either a flat cycle or a late drop coming...

Benny now regularly comes looking for chicken when I test Cassie. Sometimes he's a little too much help. :lol:
 
Pmps 426, .4u (+8)

We'll see what his +5 is tonight but I think I'll go up to .5 or .6 tomorrow.
 
So it was flat rather than a late drop. :sad:
I think I'm with you on the increase. I want to see Cass sing some blues, so I can imagine how bad you want to see it happen.
I'd probably vote for .5 unless you can watch him close to see what .6 does.
Carl
 
+5 336

He tends to run flat in the pm & md cycles. I'll be around tomorrow to watch; that's a big reason why I want to try an increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top